American Medical Association Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

American Medical Association Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 150 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
American Medical Association CEO Dr. James L. Madara
Dr. James L. Madara
65 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No ethnicity in senior management(in 8 reviews)

  • "The AMA is a sinking ship, from a membership standpoint and as a premiere non-profit(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Medical Association full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was a fine place to work. Good mission.

    Cons

    Nothing out of the ordinary - average amount of politics and back stabbing by management, other departments and team members.

    American Medical Association2019-05-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Departments work in silos and your experience at the company depends on your manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Medical Association full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, beautiful office, proud of their advocacy work.

    Cons

    Fragmented and passive aggressive communications, lack of access to leadership, lack of flexibility around working from home, extremely political & bureaucratic environment, trust no one

    American Medical Association2019-05-06
  3. "Positive Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Medical Association full-time

    Pros

    New Leadership in the past 5 years; not the old AMA

    Cons

    If you don't like change.....may be hard if you have been at the AMA a while.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate, communicate.

    American Medical Association2019-04-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Data Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Medical Association full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work Life Balance is very good

    Cons

    Some strong personalities in coworkers.

    American Medical Association2019-03-22
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Changing quickly and not always for the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Medical Association full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good people, willing to experiment, lots of resources.

    Cons

    Shifting priorities. In my unit understaffed, unrealistic lead times and expectations.

    Advice to Management

    If you cut lead times and double workload then things will fall through the cracks. Staff appropriately.

    American Medical Association2019-03-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Overall good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at American Medical Association full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people, for the most part, were great to work with.

    Cons

    Working remotely was frowned upon.

    American Medical Association2019-02-28
  7. "I love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manuscript Editor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Medical Association full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love this job. There is rigor, importance in what we do, a great amount of employment stability, a great benefits package, and wonderful people.

    Cons

    I have nothing to add as a con.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    American Medical Association2019-01-17
  8. Helpful (11)

    "It Is Unhealthy to Work at the AMA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Medical Association full-time

    Pros

    The name can be a good resume builder. The compensation and benefits are competitive.

    Cons

    It is a shame that the headquarters of this organization, with its scope and influence, is so grossly mismanaged. Do not be fooled by the AMA's mission. It is unhealthy to work for the AMA. During my time there both in an entry-level role and as a manager, I witnessed the following on a routine basis: - discrimination on the basis of sex (in the year following a new C-Suite executive's hiring, 15+ women in the... department quit, were let go or were demoted and several white men were promoted or hired in the same department); - discrimination on the basis of race (see the makeup of VP and C-Suite executives); - elitism; - bullying; - ignorance; and - cowardice from the top. The AMA membership base of physicians and medical students display the same behaviors. This makeup creates, without question, an adverse work environment for employees who do not accept this conduct. Should you accept a position here, do not stay long and expect an elementary Human Resources department, constant restructuring (I had 7 managers in 3 years), over-promising and back pedaling, and an old boy's club atmosphere. Folks who have been employed for 20+ years here are vilified yet rising stars are offered little opportunity to advance and no support when they do. This unusual combination creates a common, albeit backwards, managerial approach rooted in one's individual ego, not the needs of the organization. The ubiquitous distrust of the VP and C-Suite-level executives and the Board of Trustees existed since my first day. The AMA is a sinking ship, from a membership standpoint and as a premiere non-profit. Examine the job openings to understand where it is going awry: Chief Experience Officer, Talent Management Director, Tax Director... Take your talents to a specialty society or state medical society, not the AMA. Association work offers valuable experience for someone interested in management, business, finance, strategic marketing, and education. If you do work for the AMA, you will also learn to navigate the immoral realities of a desperate business. Expect to be disappointed.

    Show More
    American Medical Association2019-01-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Being a Student Intern/Paid Intern is overall an extremely positive experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at American Medical Association

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great team members, meaningful work, opportunities for input

    Cons

    Not many opportunities for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Advocate for more entry level positions for interns to fulfill after their internship

    American Medical Association2019-01-09
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Benefits good, work life balance bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Medical Association full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I enjoy doing the job I'm doing (its changed several times). The benefits are good and current with today's standards with a little extras (half days summer days 2x, day off or 1/2 day early release before major holidays. Your co-workers are a joy to work with and learn from. I've mentored some of them.

    Cons

    Management provides no guidance and are very "whishy washy". There is only a WFH for those who do not work at work. No compensation for hours worked passed your schedule or weekend. Company is still operating in the 20th century, using old tech and move teams like "sliding puzzles" in order to create room for those who work from home.

    Advice to Management

    Take a survey of your real employees once a year, not just the drones.

    American Medical Association2019-01-04
Found 150 reviews