KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

American National Insurance

Is this your company?

American National Insurance

Add a Review

American National Insurance Reviews

Updated Jan 12, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 484 of over 541 reviews

3.6
73%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
American National Insurance President and CEO James Pozzi (no image)
James Pozzi
142 Ratings
Pros
  • "good benefits, good work/life balance(in 41 reviews)

  • "Flexibility, Compensation, Great people to work with,(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Antiquated systems, upper management had no clue(in 17 reviews)

  • "low pay, benefits are expensive(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of American National Insurance and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Overall great company

      Sep 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits PTO and Holiday Pay Weekends off

      Cons

      Hardly any until the company sold

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Company is good overall, being an agent was not for me.

      Jan 12, 2022 - Life Insurance Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked in call center and as an agent. I LOVED the call center, felt like a scam artist selling the insurance.

      Cons

      I felt like a snake and like I was preying on people. I would have to track people down for $5 and then have to try and sell them more insurance.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good well intentioned company

      Jan 10, 2022 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good values They care about people.

      Cons

      Change direction a lot . Culturally, they are misaligned with society.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Place to work

      Jan 1, 2022 - Systems Analyst in Galveston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked for ANICO for 7 years and had 3 different positions throughout my time. Everyone I worked with our for directly was extremely friendly and made the work environment wonderful.

      Cons

      My biggest concern would be that in my last two positions, the training was extremely lacking.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good benefits

      Jan 9, 2022 - Staff Accountant in League City, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      3 weeks PTO from 0-4 years 4% 401k

      Cons

      Only one promotion/ rate per year and it's less than inflation rate

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Pretty good. Not going to lie

      Jan 5, 2022 - Risk Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of learning opportunities everyday.

      Cons

      Low pay, needs better management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Decent place to work

      Dec 18, 2021 - Inside Sales Representative in League City, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits. Decent pay. 401 k

      Cons

      Can’t make the big bucks here

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Sales

      Jan 5, 2022 - Insurance Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There’s really nothing positive to say.

      Cons

      Not competitive, the company will drop you as soon as you have a claim

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      It’s a job

      Dec 7, 2021 - Customer Service Representative II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They pay you every two weeks, and the pay is decent.

      Cons

      Few opportunities for growth outside of the customer service center. I have been retaliated against for applying for internal positions outside of my current department.

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Family atmosphere

      Nov 23, 2021 - Claims Specialist in Springfield, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loved the people I worked with, Very family like atmosphere. Excellent training department in claims

      Cons

      Behind the competition when it comes to pay and innovation.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 484 Reviews

    American National Insurance Reviews FAQs

    73% of American National Insurance employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated American National Insurance 4 out of 5 for work life balance, 4 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at American National Insurance to be culture, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, career development, management.

    Popular Careers with American National Insurance Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at American National Insurance? Share Your Experiences

    or