American Payroll Association Reviews | Glassdoor

American Payroll Association Reviews

Updated September 10, 2018
24 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Daniel Maddux
13 Ratings

24 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Payroll Association full-time

    Pros

    Feels like a family enviroment

    Cons

    Pretty much down town traffic

    American Payroll Association Response

    May 22, 2018 – Human Resources Manager

    We are glad to know that you feel like a part of our APA family, it is important to us that we foster a workplace that employees feel comfortable and welcome. We agree about the downtown traffic... More


  2. "No Upward Mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Payroll Association full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Christmas week off with pay and no effect on PTO, frequent office parties, very little OT, if any, free sodas in break room.

    Cons

    Very little training, if any, no upward mobility, less than average pay, slow time off accrual, boring stretches of time, small pay raises.

    Advice to Management

    There must be a standardized program to train new hires properly on company operating system, educational product offerings, and company website. To not have something, even semi formal, in place is asking for trouble for new hires. You cannot expect new hires to succeed without proper and adequate training coming from burned-out employees who show little interest in their own jobs.

    American Payroll Association Response

    Sep 13, 2018 – Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We would like to discuss and understand your experience. Please contact our HR Manager to share details to aid in our continuous improvement efforts.

  3. "Stay far away from this toxic environment filled with zombies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Payroll Association full-time

    Pros

    None that I can even think of.

    Cons

    Horrible micromanaging, very low pay, terrible health insurance, stultifying work.

    American Payroll Association Response

    May 14, 2018 – Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We would like to discuss and understand your experience. Please contact our HR Manager to share details to aid in our continuous improvement efforts.


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Enjoyed Every Day of it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Payroll Association full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Really felt like you were around family. Great work/life balance, they allowed me to take ownership of my work, without micromanaging me. The company really cares for its people, and upper management was great to me.

    Cons

    I can't really think of a downside worth mentioning. They try their best to make it a great place to work and actually care about feedback.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. Great place!

    American Payroll Association Response

    May 14, 2018 – Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your review! We really do try to maintain a friendly and inclusive workplace, this is what we feel has contributed to APA being named a top place to work in San Antonio 5 times!


  5. "Great company with lots of growth potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Payroll Association full-time

    Pros

    Great Company with lots of opportunities to improve your skills!

    Cons

    Working for a non-profit there is always the worry about the bottom line, so change can be slow with implementation of new technology.

    American Payroll Association Response

    May 14, 2018 – Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your review and for recognizing APA’s commitment to our employee's training and development! APA has heavily invested in new technologies and hire staff to support the new platforms... More


  6. "Work Hard, Have Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Support Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Marketing Support Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Payroll Association full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Paid leave for most holidays
    Lots of paid time off
    Quick sick time accrual
    Great atmosphere to work in
    Lots of free lunches
    Good benefits

    Cons

    Longevity of employees means little chance of advancement
    Pay less than average for higher skill positions
    Slow to change or innovate

    American Payroll Association Response

    May 14, 2018 – Human Resources Manager

    Yes! We work hard and play hard; in fact, fun is one of APA’s core values. Thank you so much for your review!


  7. Helpful (5)

    "Good work / bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Payroll Association full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    love the staff; good work environment; mostly rewarding work (but upper management will take credit for your hardwork)

    Cons

    worked multiple positions at the same time for many years but when inquired about an increase was told it was not in the budget. When I left, they gave the person that replaced me more money with only being with them for a very short amount of time.

    Advice to Management

    review your salaries. many employees do more than just their job - but do not get rewarded

    American Payroll Association Response

    May 14, 2018 – Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. Although we are very happy to know you had a great work environment and coworkers we would like to discuss and understand your experience better. Please contact the HR... More

  8. "Underrated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great People, Benefits, Very Family Friendly, I enjoy coming to work everyday. Best job I've ever had.

    Cons

    None really, this place is as good as you make it, Some of the negative reviews I notice are not about the San Antonio office, which is a solid place to work. Compensation could be higher, but money is not everything. Can't put a price on work/life balance.

    American Payroll Association Response

    May 14, 2018 – Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your review and for being on our team! We strive to provide our employees with work flexibility, work/life balance, along with affordable and rich benefits.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good place for Generation Xers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Payroll Association full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people at APA, it is like a family, the benefits are rely generous for a small company.

    Cons

    No work life balance. Management has little to know idea of day to day operations. Some senior directors run other business while working at APA.

    Values are not practiced and Mission is very vague.

    Advice to Management

    Evaluate your leadership and embrace Generation X employees.

    American Payroll Association Response

    May 22, 2018 – Human Resources Manager

    APA works hard to maintain a diverse group of employee’s and is proud to have dedicated people on our team who represent almost every age group and generation. We are also proud to say that over... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Payroll Association (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, location, supportive team; experiential learning

    Cons

    Poor Leadership; gossipy management that is overly concerned with the employees personal lives

    Advice to Management

    focus on what is important rather then who is the most popular

    American Payroll Association Response

    May 14, 2018 – Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We would like to discuss and understand your experience. Please contact the HR Department and ask to speak with the Human Resources Manager.


Showing 24 of 24 reviews
Reset Filters