American Public University System Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
American Public University System President Dr. Wade Dyke
Dr. Wade Dyke
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "The ability to work from home and flex time throughout the week for occasional accommodation needs(in 31 reviews)

  • "Remote job; free schooling if take APUS courses(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Check all other schools’ reviews that are as large as APUS(in 33 reviews)

  • "low pay, ever-increasing workloads, weekly log-in requirements could be burdensome(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Wonderful Exeperience

      Mar 23, 2021 - Admissions Representative in Charles Town, WV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Rapport with staff. Pays well.

      Cons

      Really not many cons. Some students can be difficult to work with but that comes with any customer service job.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      APUS Review

      May 10, 2021 - Administrative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work in higher education

      Cons

      I really cannot think of any.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      You Might Make More at McDonald's

      May 5, 2021 - Professor in Charlestown, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home flexibility is about all.

      Cons

      I'm a FT faculty member in the School of Security and Global Studies. I teach 6 classes every month, which comes out to roughly 130 students, or 22 learners per class. I also manage 5 classes and must regularly update them. So you may be wondering what this workload translates to in human terms? The answer is 10 -12 hour days 6 days a week. On the 7th day, it's more like 4 hours. When you break down the hours worked with my compensation, which is less than 70k, my hourly pay is around $10.00 an hour. I can honestly tell you my daughter makes more working the drive through at MCD than I do, when you break it down hourly. Even doing a crappy job with minimum interactions/feedback, my reality is 12 hour days, 6 days a week and Sundays 4. How could it not be with such outrageously high teaching loads? I've already got a heart stint and am not interested in another. This will be my last year teaching here. My doctor is pretty much requiring it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good ‘Ole Boys/Girls Club

      Apr 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The very top tier, from former President Wallace Boston to current President Wade Dyke, to the Deans of Security Studies and the Business School, are all top notch. Ivy League level excellence mixed with a flexible, cost-effective business model, produce adaptable degree programs aligned to defense industry needs, e.g. similar to Booz Allen Hamilton or PwC.

      Cons

      The university has struggled historically with diversity issues, especially African American, Latino and LGBT. Cronyism and hiring of personnel friends is rampant at the middle management level, even up to the Provost. Essentially, the good ole boys/girls club who have been there for 20 years really run the university and will target for elimination anyone deemed a threat. For this reason alone, until the old guard is removed I would avoid working for or supporting this company. The top tier of the President (hired in 2020) and Board of Trustees are fully aware of this situation (Oxford University and U. Penn level), and so things will improve, especially as Equity/Diversity/Inclusion addresses issues of harassment and Title IX complaints, which as a gender-fluid non-cis female I always felt the bitter sting of by a white female leadership team who would target anyone expressing diversity issues and with the all male Provost level looking the other way.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 30, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      American Public University System (APUS) is a great place to work. I've been an adjunct instructor there since January 2021 and I couldn't ask for a better job. My supervisors are very supportive and the students are responsible. Adjunct instructors get paid by the number of students enrolled in the class.

      Cons

      Some classes are small and it hurts your paycheck, no benefits for adjuncts other than profit-sharing.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company and benefits

      Apr 27, 2021 - Transfer Credit Evaluator I in Manassas, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Telecommuting, flex times, and banked holidays.

      Cons

      Quarterly reviews, demanding in production quotas

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Avoid

      Apr 27, 2021 - Financial Aid Advisor in Charles Town, WV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary meets the area, some flexible work schedule

      Cons

      Management needs to go and remember people are capital

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing so far

      Jan 22, 2021 - Academic Advisor in Charles Town, WV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interview Process was smooth and enjoyable. Everything is online. Team is very friendly and down to earth. The mission holds the environment of the staff.

      Cons

      Everything is online. Nothing to really be concerned about if you know you will be working with people and with technology.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I love working here

      Jan 11, 2021 - Part-Time Faculty in Tucson, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Every day I have the opportunity to shape my students' lives and make better versions of themselves. My boss and the admin support professionals are amazing!

      Cons

      I have not experienced any negative experiences.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Bad place to work

      Mar 25, 2021 - Financial Aid Advisor in Charles Town, WV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay, that is it

      Cons

      Everything other then the pay

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 271 Reviews

    Popular Careers with American Public University System Job Seekers

    Full Time Faculty
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Admissions Representative - International
    Learn About the Job
    Director, Finance & Accounting
    Learn About the Job

    Work at American Public University System? Share Your Experiences

    American Public University System logo
    or