American Queen Steamboat Company Reviews

Updated Feb 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
American Queen Steamboat Company President Ted Sykes
Ted Sykes
13 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant to the President in New Albany, IN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Queen Steamboat Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, courteous and helpful co-workers, they understand the need for work/home balance, great benefits

    Cons

    I don't really have any at this time.

    Continue reading
    American Queen Steamboat Company2019-12-16
  2. "Overall good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Waiter in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Queen Steamboat Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No cost of living, health benefits after just a couple of months, you get to see some great towns employer covers cost to fly you home for rotaions

    Cons

    As will any company there are growing pains. The company is growing quickly and have cut some benefits, you have to deal with lots of personalities with guets and the people you work with in tight corners with little free time

    American Queen Steamboat Company2020-02-11
  3. "Keeps You Busy"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Housekeeping 

    I have been working at American Queen Steamboat Company full-time

    Pros

    Great Pay with time to enjoy the ports

    Cons

    Very Exhausting at times and guest can be very difficult.

    American Queen Steamboat Company2020-02-06
  4. "Get in, Get Out"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deckhand Ouler in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Queen Steamboat Company full-time

    Pros

    They have a good system where anyone could learn a trade skill. A dishwasher could become a deckhand or engineer in 90 days if your transfer is accepted.

    Cons

    Very Bias company. Racial Profiling is covert. If they don’t like you they will get rid of you. African Americans in Engineering or Navigation will not see any kind of promotion. You will not see a African American Mate, Chief Engineer, Captain. Majority of the AA have been racially profiled and terminated. The culture of the boat speaks for itself. A lot of politics that goes ignored. If you are not with them you’re against them. A lot of corruption that has been going on for years. Never addressed and will not be addressed as long as certain people in a position of power.

    Continue reading
    American Queen Steamboat Company2020-01-19
  5. "Best Job EVER"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeping Attendant 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Queen Steamboat Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly team members, money is great along with the tips, beautiful workplace, loving putting smiles on guests faces

    Cons

    you are away from home but we get to save money

    American Queen Steamboat Company2019-12-03
  6. "Will drive you crazy"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Queen Steamboat Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good free food, good pay, travel

    Cons

    Favoritism, unfair, short breaks, always looking over shoulder

    Continue reading
    American Queen Steamboat Company2019-10-27
  7. "Regret going to that specific cruise line"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Albany, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at American Queen Steamboat Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay every 2 weeks. U don’t do much so it’s easy to save

    Cons

    Management is terrible!!!! They over work you terribly! The system is also janky. Anyone can lie on you at any moment and if HR believes it especially if your not liked by that person your easily expelled!! Also it’s a lot of racial division or as I can say segregation! Not a good company especially if your going to the dutches. They praise bad work and trash good people .. it’s like prision.

    Continue reading
    American Queen Steamboat Company2019-11-01
  8. "Best dishwasher"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Galley Porter 

    I worked at American Queen Steamboat Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good money and I got to travel .

    Cons

    Lack of workers ,everyone kept quitting

    Continue reading
    American Queen Steamboat Company2019-10-08
  9. "Great company to work for."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Purser 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Queen Steamboat Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Pay is great. - Company appreciates hard workers.

    Cons

    - Having a roommate. - Being away from home.

    Continue reading
    American Queen Steamboat Company2019-09-26
  10. "Choose wisely"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at American Queen Steamboat Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay in the right positions

    Cons

    Unendingly long hours and severely understaffed - either uninformed recruiters or dishonest about the actual hours employees are being asked to work vs time to rest and recoup between shifts

    American Queen Steamboat Company2019-10-29
Found 29 reviews