American Red Cross Account Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Account Manager

American Red Cross Account Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.8
5%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
American Red Cross President and CEO Gail McGovern
Gail McGovern
28 Ratings
  1. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Novi, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross for more than a year

    Pros

    community vibe, helping others, volunteer aspects

    Cons

    I would not consider any part of this experience a negative

    American Red Cross2015-06-18
  2. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Saint Louis, MO

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great mission. Great coworkers

    Cons

    At that time, the Health & Safety sales .org was in constant state of flux. Leadership didn’t understand our markets and customers. Pricing was not sustainable

    American Red Cross2019-09-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "less than pleasant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Account Manager in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    helping others get the help they so desperately needed

    Cons

    all of leadership - brand identity crass

    American Red Cross2019-06-05
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Mission Good Vacation Benefits Decent Pay

    Cons

    Poor Management Poor Communication Poor work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    Listen to and seek out advice and suggestions from those in the field. Many in upper management have no concepts of the jobs of their subordinates, because many have never held those jobs. Stop treating employees like they are nothing but a number taken from a report or spreadsheet and set realistic expectations. Stop playing the blame game and being so reactionary. Understand the change in our society from years ago and learn to change with it. Stop sitting behind computers and in board rooms and on calls all day and making sure all “lists” are checked. Look to the future and pay better attention to your cuts and what you are cutting and who you are hurting in the process. It may be more than your employees.

    Show More
    American Red Cross2019-04-12
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Grow your career elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Wichita, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home office, Great Co-Workers

    Cons

    Punished for weather cancellations and staff call-outs, Inexperienced management, Low car stipend, Unequal workload among fellow account managers

    Advice to Management

    Even the workload throughout your team- Some account managers host 200 or less blood drives/year while others are hosting 300 drives per year yet travel more and some are paid less. Some account managers have 13 drives/month while others have over 30 drives per a month. Keep the goals attainable. Account managers are often set up for failure. Engage Survey results sent in by employees, show that employee morale is at an all time low. Focus on employee morale and quit punishing the account manager for things out of their control. Encourage your employees and allow growth within the organization.

    Show More
    American Red Cross2019-03-07
  6. "Lots of hours little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Canoga Park, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training, awesome brand recognition, lots of established accounts, tons of tools, and wonderful benefits.

    Cons

    Many of my co-workers were dealing with major health issues and management was not very compassionate, many issues were due to stress, high pressure and poor work environment. I was surprised by the terrible software, time consuming reports and volume of meetings. Many demands to meet and you work 40+ hours most weeks.

    Advice to Management

    Team structure is poorly organized and the work/life balance is highly compromised. Management does not value employee time. Commission is based of 7 measures and it is very difficult to meet all 7 measures in one month.

    American Red Cross2018-07-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Non Profit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The Mission and Volunteers we work with.

    Cons

    Work life balance is important. If a company publicly states that it is important, then you should have it built into the culture with support for employees so they don't come back to a complete mess. There is nothing more important than "REAL" time away. It is terrible for a company to promote work life balance, however does nothing to support it.

    Advice to Management

    Prioritize what's important and find out what's achievable. Not everything is or can be a top priority.

    American Red Cross2018-04-27
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Saving lives, good benefits

    Cons

    No work/life balance, micro-management, unreasonable expectations, extremely stressful environment

    Advice to Management

    Respect employees' after hours, weekend and PTO time

    American Red Cross2018-04-18
  9. "Regional Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Account Manager in Paterson, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great cause, proud to work there.

    Cons

    Low, low pay, systemic organizational issues

    Advice to Management

    Come into the 21st century

    American Red Cross2017-11-13
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people that does good work for our society.

    Cons

    Salary, organization, training. Management wasn't helpful.

    American Red Cross2017-07-05
Found 47 reviews