American Red Cross Administrative Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

American Red Cross Administrative Assistant Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
95%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
American Red Cross President and CEO Gail McGovern
Gail McGovern
11 Ratings
  1. "Nice work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Freelancer - Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at American Red Cross

    Pros

    -good coworkers, very helpful and easy going

    Cons

    -direction is not given sometime

    American Red Cross2019-12-01
  2. "Good supervisors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - Administrative Assistant in Phila, PA

    I worked at American Red Cross for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice people around here! Flexible hours and lots of events.

    Cons

    Not a lot of challenges.

    American Red Cross2019-12-11
  3. "You Can Make a Difference!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant III in Stockton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with who are motivated and driven to help save lives and alleviate human suffering throughout the world.

    Cons

    Work/Life balance is sometimes difficult. There can be a lot of travel depending on your job assignment.

    Advice to Management

    Always keep striving to improve!

    American Red Cross2019-09-04
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at American Red Cross part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible environment to work in

    Cons

    i have no complaints about this company

    American Red Cross2019-05-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Administrative Assistant - Biomedical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in West Henrietta, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As of 2016 - Not sure there are any pros. Might be for someone just starting out in the biomedical field for lab work.

    Cons

    Financial Unstable, Management in position by default with product knowledge or any sort of degree and not having management background. Does not appreciate employees.

    Advice to Management

    Be Proactive Highest Level - Learn to be honest

    American Red Cross2017-12-04
  6. "Great Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice people and mission to get behind.

    Cons

    Restructuring, loss of benefits and pension.

    American Red Cross2017-04-18
  7. "customers services, sometimes helping students in how to use Microsoft office."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is charitable organization. It try to fitting poverty status. Trying to keep community safety.

    Cons

    I do not hear something about it. But maybe people who looking for making more money, they do not find that in it.

    Advice to Management

    The advice to management is staying on what we do. It is really humanity.

    American Red Cross2017-03-28
  8. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Arkadelphia, AR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helping clients and customers resolve issues.

    Cons

    For me not getting to move up full-time

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge employees who do good.

    American Red Cross2016-11-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Overworked Underpaid Unappreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The American Red Cross is respected for it's mission.

    Cons

    Poor Salary, Minimal Health Benefits, No Room for Advancement, No Work/Life Balance - Staff is either bored or burned out. I have noticed that many are looking for their next role within 3 years of working here.

    American Red Cross2016-06-08
  10. "COO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in Harlingen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross

    Pros

    The Staff and Volunteers go above and beyond to help people in the community

    Cons

    Due to the storms that are going ... needing several Volunteers and staff is being pulled from Chapter to assist

    Advice to Management

    None

    American Red Cross2016-05-18
Found 27 reviews