American Red Cross Instructor Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Instructor

American Red Cross Instructor Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
38%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
American Red Cross President and CEO Gail McGovern
Gail McGovern
9 Ratings
  1. "Helping Others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Instructor 

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    Helping others, through assistance after disasters and providing a safe blood supply.

    Cons

    Better career opportunities for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Career opportunities.

    American Red Cross2019-11-17
  2. "Good people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    I really like my coworkers

    Cons

    The ceo and presidents are a little out of touch

    American Red Cross2019-09-10
  3. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CPR Instructor 

    I have been working at American Red Cross part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    giving back to community

    Cons

    poor management taking over. poor decision making

    American Red Cross2019-09-12
  4. "Be Use to Change!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Phlebotomy Instructor in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It is a great company to move up in. you can go many different routes.

    Cons

    Be used to change. Changes to your schedule, changes to procedures. be used to a lot of training and being watched. The Red Cross Blood Services is heavily regulated by the FDA so there are also a ton of changes that occur to procedures.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with fairness and respect

    American Red Cross2019-07-25
  5. "Good company if you can work without much supervision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor Trainer in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent services offered. I was an instructor and the training is thorough and very good. Once you are familiar with the material it is fairly easy. Able to add on additional certifications

    Cons

    Low compensation. As an instructor and instructor trainer, I had to keep my own equipment (either in my car which is often not suggested or in my house. Keep in mind this is not a small amount of equipment: tablet, projector, adult and infant manikins, class supplies, AED training equipment, etc). When I left the agency, it took me 3 trips to bring back all of my supplies. The hours are incredibly varied and it's based on your availability. Some weeks I worked 40 hours, and the next week I may work zero. There is often very little communication between departments. If you work as an instructor, expect to drive a ton - my commute varied greatly (it could be anything from 10 minutes to over an hour. It rarely made sense, but I was scheduled at least once a month to teach at a location over an hour away for a class that was only an hour).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Recognize your employees and pay them better. Help your employees.

    American Red Cross2019-07-10
  6. "Rewarding experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Health and Safety Instructor in Moline, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at American Red Cross for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with and in the community. Schedule is very flexible. Great training!

    Cons

    The pay is fair but could be better

    Advice to Management

    The employee portal needs to be more user-friendly.

    American Red Cross2019-05-30
  7. "overall a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - CPR Instructor 

    I worked at American Red Cross part-time

    Pros

    they let me choose where and when I taught, basically like a contract worker

    Cons

    not a ton of communication from supervisor, but that could be location-specific

    American Red Cross2019-05-23
  8. "Beware of Re-organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice people, good hours, good reputation

    Cons

    No job security - re-organization happens with no warning Upper management spread across country. No on-site support

    American Red Cross2019-06-04
  9. "Working for ARC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Amazing way to contribute to the health of our community.

    Cons

    None that are important to volunteers.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    American Red Cross2019-03-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Mission, Poor Employee Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health & Safety Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Teach Life Saving Skills - Service to the Community

    Cons

    - Inconsistent Hours - Not enough Pay for Bills - Management Doesn't Trust Instructors

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees, the survival of your organization doesn't matter if it is done at the expense of the well being of your instructors.

    American Red Cross2019-01-27
Found 31 reviews