American Red Cross Telerecruiter Reviews | Glassdoor

American Red Cross Telerecruiter Reviews

Updated Dec 23, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
26%
Recommend to a Friend
7%
Approve of CEO
American Red Cross President and CEO Gail McGovern
Gail McGovern
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "My experience at American Red Cross was awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Telerecruiter in Johnstown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They're benefits are great; it's an amazing company to work for!!

    Cons

    I honestly do not one.

    Advice to Management

    You should TRULY consider hiring former employees!! After all, you trained us well!!

    American Red Cross2017-10-22
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telerecruiter in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good group of coworkers, benefits not a poison to move up within the company. Team work and good communication are the key to being able to excel in this position.

    Cons

    Long hours, lots of computer usage Not much PTO. Not much work/life balance terrible work conditions and very poor management

    American Red Cross2017-12-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Telerecruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telerecruiter in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We help save lives daily

    Cons

    We can't always keep supplies up

    Advice to Management

    Always be compassionate with employees

    American Red Cross2017-08-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "The Mission is right But..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telerecruitment Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The mission the one positive i can say is the mission. What they do is amazing. The feeling you get when you know you helped save someone's life is indescribable. D

    Cons

    Burocecy is challenging. In order to get something done you have to jump through too many hoops in hopes it gets taken care of. Your metrics in some capacities are dependent on other departments and that will come to be frustrating. Its a numbers game and money grab for the sake of donors. Blood donors are the revenue and they drive this very hard. They say it is about the patients in the hospitals but at the end of the day its about revenue.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop restructuring and changing what was working for people. Stop spending money on staff traveling because they cover 5 or more states.

    American Red Cross2017-02-28
  5. "Telerecruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Telerecruiter in Douglasville, GA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Bonuses monthly, gift cards, interacting with people that love to donate.

    Cons

    Work with a lot of bitter older women stuck in their ways that make the environment hostile.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be so friendly with your staff to the point you can't use sound judgement

    American Red Cross2016-11-29
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great cause, terrible job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Telerecruiter in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great cause with competitive pay, but not much else.

    Cons

    Disconnect between the cause and daily work Upper Management does not lead or seem to care about staff Depending on the call list, can count on getting cursed at by potential blood donors daily

    Advice to Management

    Managers and Supervisors should lead by example.

    American Red Cross2016-09-01
  7. Helpful (4)

    "ARC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Telerecruiter in Fort Wayne, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    I loved the job itself an the people I worked with on the heart of ARC. I love interacting with the donor.

    Cons

    Upper management is bad. They worry about the money not what the ARC stands for. They dont care one thing about the patient's, the donor's, or their workers. All they seemed to worry about was number and dollar signs in there heads.

    Advice to Management

    Get you head out of your behinds and use your heart to make decisions not how big you can make your wallets.

    American Red Cross2016-06-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Recruitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telerecruiter in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The mission of saving lives

    Cons

    There is no work life balance. None what so ever. There is no down time only overtime. If not voulentary then mandatory. They work you until you are totally burned out or until the point of your body can't take any more.

    Advice to Management

    Please listen to your staff donors are over called, worn completely out, treating to leave the ARC. LISTEN before it's to late. Our donors are a rare and precious person why are we not listening to what they are telling us . Find new donors.

    American Red Cross2016-05-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Telerecruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telerecruiter in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get company to work for, PTO hours starting on your 91st day, great part-time schedule, decent pay. Very laid back call center environment.

    Cons

    Your only allowed to be off if you have PTO hours, no approved time off otherwise. So if you have to be off it will count against you.

    Advice to Management

    Allow your employees to take approved time off regardless of PTO hours and float days.

    American Red Cross2016-02-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "The mission is crucial, employee treatment is not."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telerecruiter in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    ARC'S mission is valid, fulfiiling, and crucial.

    Cons

    I have NEVER seen so much employee turnover, ever. The cost of training must be draining ARC'S finances, unless there is an unforseen benefit for executives. ARC'S finances are highly suspect,and they are, at present, operating on a provisional (extended) charter from the U. S. Federal Government to get their financial house in order. Employees bail out daily, a scarily demoralizing culture, so rigid in it's operative and punitive treatment of employees, one must wonder what exactly the CEO Gail McGovern is actually accomplishing for the organization. There are very grave concerns that must be addressed. ARC is spending untold millions of donation dollars on recruiting and training employees, because the culture is so demoralizing and policies so ridiculously punitive, the workplace is a revolving door. Serious questions need to be posed and answered satisfactorily by this leader, not dumped on her underlings. For instance, what is ARC paying to temporary employment services (at inflated wages) to staff the organization rather than retain seasoned, loyal staff? Something is wrong, very wrong. Do not let this woman blame policies on her underlings. Save what is left of ARC'S employer credibility. I care, still, as do others, but I have experienced 89% employee turnover in my department in the last 60 days alone. Help!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Accountability, fight for it. You know what is right.

    American Red Cross2015-08-09
Found 25 reviews