American Society for Quality Reviews | Glassdoor

American Society for Quality Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
William Troy
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    ""Meh""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at American Society for Quality full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Awesome benefits, good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Very silo-ed atmosphere--don't dare try to expand your role without someone feeling put out. Also, I have never been as bored as I was working there.

    Advice to Management

    When employees ask for more work or challenges, deliver!

    American Society for Quality2017-06-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "adf"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at American Society for Quality full-time

      Pros

      Nice people. great experience and tool access

      Cons

      not well managed. poor succession planning

      Advice to Management

      Hire better leaders

      American Society for Quality2017-05-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "In the midst of change"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at American Society for Quality full-time

      Pros

      Opportunity to get a lot of valuable experience and take on challenging assignments; Noble mission

      Cons

      Hard to focus given the amount of work if you are at a certain level or above; too much change going on; leadership not on the same page

      American Society for Quality2017-01-12
    • Helpful (3)

      "Learned a Lot"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Marketing in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at American Society for Quality full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      I got a lot of experience and worked with really nice people. Loved the community I worked with. I got to try a lot of new initiatives. I learned a lot and they have a big client base so I was able to do more than if I worked for another non-profit.

      Cons

      Meetings were insane. You spent most of your time going to them. Men were often promoted over women to the highest level positions.

      Advice to Management

      hire more people of color, women for upper level positions.

      American Society for Quality2016-11-04
    • Helpful (7)

      "Worst. Gig. Ever."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at American Society for Quality full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Most of the people are genuinely nice and pleasant to deal with, save for a few weirdos and unprofessional managers.

      Cons

      Lying, backstabbing, and unprofessional management. Worthless HR who sides with said management. Preaches a culture of accountability, but really promotes a culture of fingerpointing and throwing people under the bus. As a whole, the organization is deathly afraid of change. Hands down, the worst experience of my career. Stay far away.

      Advice to Management

      PROTIP: Reorgs for an organization with a sick culture and declining membership is rearranging the chairs on the Titanic.

      American Society for Quality2016-09-04
    • Helpful (2)

      "IT"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at American Society for Quality full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Good Benefits and employee feedback is encouraged. The mission of ASQ is easy to represent and get behind - good palceto work

      Cons

      There has been a veey high turnover rate in the time I have been there. Positions are not well defined and seems to be in constant state of change and re-org.

      Advice to Management

      My advice would be to focus n create a stable and well defined organizational chart. Define the positions and responsibilities and give people a good idea of where they fit in the organization.

      American Society for Quality2016-07-04
    • "Professional Organization"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      Current Employee - Board Member, Editor News Letter in Niles, IL
      Recommends

      I have been working at American Society for Quality for more than a year

      Pros

      A great professional organization for those interested in Quality Management, to learn new skills, validate existing skills as well as brush up on them. Excellent networking opportunities. Great place to learn and get formal recognition for existing skills.

      Cons

      No downsides that I can think. This is a professional organization which is helping its members in various ways.

      Advice to Management

      Keep the momentum of Change Going!

      American Society for Quality2016-01-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "ITEA Lead Judge"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at American Society for Quality part-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        ITEA is an awesome experience. You'll learn a lot, meet new people and be exposed to some awesome company projects.

        Cons

        No real downsides. ASQ in the last year is trying some new things with the criteria and the judging process and that was upsetting to some people. The Criteria will change and ASQ is just trying to make things better.

        American Society for Quality2015-11-01
      • Helpful (2)

        "Customer Service Rep"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at American Society for Quality

        Pros

        Friendly and helpful co-workers, open door style of management

        Cons

        Compensation on low side for your effort; minimal training

        American Society for Quality2015-10-14
      • Helpful (2)

        "Solid first job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at American Society for Quality full-time for more than 9 years

        Pros

        good first job learn some business skills at a recognized employer. good work/life balance. decent salary. not for 'fast paced' people.

        Cons

        not for fast paced people. kind of boring. slow management.

        Advice to Management

        this place is kind of stagnant and not as dynamic as other schools/providers doing the same thing. get into the 21st century with technology, tools, and markets.

        American Society for Quality2015-10-02
      Found 37 reviews