American Solar Direct Reviews | Glassdoor

American Solar Direct Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 119 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Kevin Bauer
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good training; great way to get started in the solar business(in 8 reviews)

  • "Positive work environment surrounded by encouragement for growth(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "you will still have to knock doors to get your own leads(in 12 reviews)

  • "Door to door canvassing is the ONLY way they market the company(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work and grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Installer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Solar Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots to travel, learn and gain in the field of renewable sources.

    Cons

    Lots and lots of travel.

    American Solar Direct2019-04-02
  2. "Nothing to complain about here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Solar Direct full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Upbeat atmosphere, makes you want to excel and grow as an employee.

    Cons

    Defunct, no longer an option.

    American Solar Direct2019-02-19
  3. "Headquarters Just Fired Everyone. I mean EVERYONE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales Representative in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Solar Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekly Paychecks, Sense of encouragement from management.

    Cons

    Upper management fired our boss, fired HR and cut every new employee (0-1 year) and most of the senior salesmen despite many of us, including myself, being on-track with set appointments and sales. This company filed for chapter 7 bankruptcy. It's sales. I experienced a particularly cold work environment where worrying about job security is a daily stressor. The Solar industry has thoroughly saturated San Diego...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Enjoy your Dubai spoils and please don't waste our time and careers over your games.

    American Solar Direct2018-04-17
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solar Lead in Anaheim, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Solar Direct full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with. Very competitive. Never boring . see different cities weekly. Made good friends. Never a dull momment

    Cons

    Their was none. People were alwYs nice. Managers were always listening many competitors. Always worked my forty and allot of over time

    American Solar Direct2017-09-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Regional Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Regional Project Managet in Anaheim, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Solar Direct full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Hands-on management provided necessary tools to facilitate installation of solar projects and empowered employees to be able to maintain exceptional customer service.

    Cons

    Some employees did not shoulder their fair share of the load. That extra work fell to other employees already dealing with other projects.

    American Solar Direct2017-08-22
  6. "Past History"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Solar Direct part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Had a good business model when we were all independent consultants. The atmosphere was professional and the training was exceptional. The product was great at that time and I sold myself a system.

    Cons

    The company changed the business model where all the consultants were transitioned to being an employee. NRG was brought into the picture to handle the lease part of the business. However, there was no hourly pay. And working 40 hours a week was mandatory. This didn't make sense as most homeowners are not at home during the day. Since I held another job my performance didn't live up to expectations so I was terminated....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When the company used independent sales consultants to build the business the atmosphere was electric and positive. It's too late now but ASD should have continued to use independent sales consultants. My ratings are based on my experience as an Independent Sales Consultant and not when I became an employee. Of course the 6 months business outlook is negative since the company doesn't exist now.

    American Solar Direct2017-06-12
  7. "The truth, let's be honest."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Consultant in Irvine, CA

      I worked at American Solar Direct full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I'm trying to find one that is worth putting down. Oh yeah, there's a great Conan OBrian commercial that's a must see. Please search for it on google. Then you'll have a clear view of this company.

      Cons

      The upper management spent more time trying to find reasons to NOT put the job on the roof instead of completing the installation. As a consultant for the company this cost me 50% of my deals that were signed, to crash instead. Commission only too.

      Advice to Management

      Put it where the sun doesn't shine, in the garage.

      American Solar Direct2017-06-14
    • "Sales Rep"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Representative in Concord, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at American Solar Direct full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Very energetic and committed to Solar electricity

      Cons

      This company had a great sales formula but was hiring anyone with a pulse

      Advice to Management

      They have corrected course, shutting down in the Bay Area and energizing another region. Best of luck to a very good company.

      American Solar Direct2017-04-24
    • "Great Opportunity although..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at American Solar Direct full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      -Good base -Competitive Commission -A lot of freedom

      Cons

      There was a lot of changes for the worse. ASD going through some tough financial difficulties right now. Closed down San Diego office. Massive lay offs.

      American Solar Direct2017-02-28
    • "C.I.T., sales and marketing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Consultant in San Jose, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at American Solar Direct full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great company, so I thought. Seemed well structured, well ran and organized. Great people and great environment. Until, they laid EVERYONE off and closed Northern California Territory!!

      Cons

      No warning closure of office and operations! had stuff in "pipeline", was really promoting company and company standing in the industry...BAMM! Done, closed down!

      Advice to Management

      we were doing pretty well, we were a team and achieving set goals? Should have been some warning or notice, kinda sketchy the way that went down.

      American Solar Direct2017-02-22
    Found 119 reviews