KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

American Systems

Is this your company?

American Systems

Add a Review

American Systems Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 156 of over 173 reviews

4.5
96%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
American Systems President and CEO Peter L. Smith (no image)
Peter L. Smith
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "American Systems is an employee-owned large company(in 13 reviews)

  • "It could be a great company to grow with in the right department(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "contract work so hard to plan for long term(in 7 reviews)

  • "no 401k match(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Veteran Status

    This rating reflects the overall rating of American Systems and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      Jul 8, 2021 - Human Resources Analyst in Chantilly, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collaborative team work Open to innovation Invested in their employees and the employee experience Great management/coaching from leadership

      Cons

      Short term project work, did not experience any downsides during that time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Company

      May 31, 2021 - Software Developer in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/ Life balance Employee Stock Option Program

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      May 3, 2021 - Senior Electrical Engineer in Edwards AFB, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The ESOP is on point. Quality of job and management is entirely dependent on which contract you're working. In my case, it's pretty great working at NASA.

      Cons

      No sick or comp time, but again, that depends on the contract.

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not sure yet

      Jun 22, 2021 - Senior Systems Engineer in Melbourne Shores, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'll let you know when I know

      Cons

      Body shop just like every gov contractor out there.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to work

      Apr 19, 2021 - Systems Analyst II in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My time at American Systems was great. I was brought in a one contract and they found work for me to stay.

      Cons

      Huge company that didn't always know what everyone was doing. Had so many contracts around the world they didn't know where everyone was.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Company

      Mar 16, 2021 - Management and Program Analyst in Arlington, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Management, open door policy, willingness to make changes

      Cons

      Small Company so there is a lot more oversight than I was used to. Luckily my manager were awesome. Always there with great advice and opinions. But always there : )

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Solid to start

      Apr 7, 2021 - Lead Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a great company to start in the industry with. But as far as a career path good luck. Might have been the manager I had was 50s old school so his idea of pay was not the greatest. Corporate seemed to have there act together with helping out with pay corrections. Like I said my direct manager could of been better but as a company they're all right.

      Cons

      Learn on your own, don't expect any feedback, and learn to contact customers without correct information.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best Company to Work For

      Apr 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      ESOP, Culture of Accountability, Customer Relationships, Leadership, Work Environment

      Cons

      There are no downsides to working at this company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to work!

      Mar 1, 2021 - Senior Manager, Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      AMERICAN SYSTEMS gives me the flexibility I need, especially during these times of COVID, to manage my work and life. Competitive benefits and a flexible leave benefit that allows me to take off when I need. You can't beat the ESOP; much better than a 401k match!

      Cons

      Nothing I can think of.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Very good place to work for

      Apr 2, 2021 - Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for. Great retirement plans

      Cons

      Only option for health insurance is between two high deductible plans

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 156 Reviews

    Popular Careers with American Systems Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at American Systems? Share Your Experiences

    or