American Thoracic Society Reviews | Glassdoor

American Thoracic Society Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Patricia W. Finn, MD
3 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at American Thoracic Society

      Pros

      Staff is friendly. Managers are respecting of your time and schedule

      Cons

      I can't think of any.

      American Thoracic Society2014-01-29
    • Helpful (5)

      "Coordinator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Coordinator in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at American Thoracic Society full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Good benefits Good hours Time off is good

      Cons

      Stop “rewarding” people who have been at the company for many, many years yet are still TERRIBLE at their job. You are only hurting the company and your employees.

      Advice to Management

      - Put more effort into the hardworking, ambitious folk who are eager to make waves at the company and GIVE PROMOTIONS when it’s due instead of ignoring/bypassing their du diligence, otherwise this company will eventually die if you continue to close your eyes and ears...

      American Thoracic Society2018-11-01
    • "Good place to retire but too much politics"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at American Thoracic Society full-time

      Pros

      - relaxed and chill environment - many old timers b/c it's an easy place to retire

      Cons

      -it's non profit so you don't make money and annual raise is only 4% max if you don't get a promotion - pretty much one or two people that aren't the CEO runs the company - too much politics

      Advice to Management

      get rid of dirty politics

      American Thoracic Society2018-09-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Treats its employees right"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at American Thoracic Society full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      - Very good compensation for a nonprofit, regular cost of living raises, and great benefits, including tuition reimbursement - Mission-driven work - Executive director is supportive of staff's career goals and extends mentorship

      Cons

      - Gossipy work environment - Limited room for advancement - Lack of enthusiasm among staff about organization's mission

      Advice to Management

      - Hire more people with a public health/medical background, or who feel a personal connection to the mission -Otherwise, keep up the great work!

      American Thoracic Society2017-08-13
    • "ATS Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at American Thoracic Society for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Benefits are pretty good. Hours are very reasonable. Workload is not bad. There is a lot of traveling which can be a good or bad thing.

      Cons

      Growth in the company is very limited. Compensation is decent at best considering it is a non-profit organization.

      American Thoracic Society2015-10-02
    • "Inconsistent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at American Thoracic Society full-time

      Pros

      Everyone is generally friendly and it is a calm environment considering it's located in the Financial District of Manhattan.

      Cons

      It can get very political due to the relationships between hierarchy of employees, which can be played into your favor if you use it properly. Some genuinely care about their jobs and others really only care about the money.

      American Thoracic Society2015-08-18
    • Helpful (2)

      "Stable, but odd atmosphere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at American Thoracic Society full-time

      Pros

      The job was reasonably well paid for the field, with good benefits and a sense that things were pretty stable.

      Cons

      The company culture wasn't unfriendly, exactly, but in my department, at least, there was a sense that we weren't fully open and collaborating with other departments or with the physician members. There were a lot of office politics, and that could make for some tension.

      American Thoracic Society2015-07-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Run don't walk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at American Thoracic Society

      Pros

      Clean bathrooms, free water from the fountain, bright and sunny office

      Cons

      Mean people, bad managers, favoritism, discrimination, gossipy HR department

      Advice to Management

      Treat people like professionals not like assembly line workers

      American Thoracic Society2015-02-25
    • "Good place to start your career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Junior Web Developer in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at American Thoracic Society full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      I met a lot of good people while working at ATS, a lot of whom I still talk to on occasion. My managers and upper management were friendly and easy to talk to. It was a good place to work straight out of college. I was given a lot of autonomy on my projects, so I was able to try a lot of new technologies. I was exposed to a lot of different types of projects.

      Cons

      Committees had a little too much influence over project details. At review points, committees would be exceedingly slow to respond, but would expect project deadlines to not change. Things at ATS can occasionally get a little political. I was shielded from a lot of it, but I was aware of it.

      American Thoracic Society2014-07-12
    • Helpful (2)

      "New management reorganizing and making cuts and layoffs"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at American Thoracic Society full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      The Thoracic Society members are wonderful. The doctors are very pleasant and great to interact with. They support the staff and try to protect them from the poor management. The work is interesting and rewarding because the members appreciate it.

      Cons

      New management has cut most of the staff and hired new less qualified for no reason. Pensions were frozen, company is struggling with the budget yet CEO and other management exceed travel budgets with exotic trips with their secretaries. The management ignores the staff except for the security cameras and monitoring of employee hours and emails and comings and goings in the morning, at lunch and what time you leave the...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Have better ethics and have a no fraternizing policy, especially for Senior Management. Include the staff in meetings and ask for their input since they are the ones who work with the members.

      American Thoracic Society2014-03-04
    Found 15 reviews