American Van Lines Reviews | Glassdoor

American Van Lines Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
American Van Lines CEO Anthony Disorbo
Anthony Disorbo
0 Ratings
  1. "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Van Lines full-time

    Pros

    Good coworkers to work with

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times

    Advice to Management

    More structure is needed within call center

    American Van Lines2018-06-06
  2. "Many problems... not many positives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Agent in Pompano Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Van Lines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not mant positives other than the lower level coworkers are all nice people for the most part.. the enviorment is laid back for the most part..

    Cons

    Many... management is terrible. The pay is well below the moving industry average.. they take advantage of customers... work with terrible agents.. many unethical practices. HR is awful... its almost like your a provlem if you ask to speak with them.. too many sales people and not enough quality leads. No structure to the company. The sales floor is ran by people who know nothing about sales, yet believes they know...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    They could care leas about advice, unfortunately. Conpany could be much better if it was ran properly. Owner is content with the money he makes and could care less about anyone else. Really need to get more structured and have checks and balances for upper management. Only two of the managers are level headed and understand what to dom the others just do whatever the owner says for job security.. puppets basically. There...

    Show More
    American Van Lines2018-03-17
  3. "Very Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at American Van Lines

    Pros

    Great Family Atmosphere. Communication was key during the busy season (Summer). Everyone was great and works together for a common goal.

    Cons

    I felt that my specific job duties were never given. During the busy season, it was not the most organized environment.

    Advice to Management

    In the future, I would suggest that interns be brought with more specific job information. I went to do one thing and ended up doing many others. Overall good experience though.

    American Van Lines2016-02-02
  4. "Working for America van line was a great experience, I learned a lot of job management skills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Formen in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at American Van Lines for more than a year

    Pros

    The money was ok , the office staff is great

    Cons

    The long hours and sometimes work with under trained crew members

    American Van Lines2015-01-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "American Van Lines is a Great place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pompano Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Van Lines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    American Van Lines has been very good to me. After I graduated from College I was determined to find a way to make a positive difference in peoples lives. I chose to attend Law School for this reason and realized that there would be better ways to positively impact peoples lives. After I decided to part ways with the legal profession I took a job with American Van Lines as an Outside Sales Representative. At first...

    Show More

    Cons

    It can be frustrating at times having to rely on components that are not always reliable. Our Equipment is well maintained but from time to time an unforeseeable Truck/Equipment Failures can lead to a negative impact on a customer.

    Advice to Management

    Never Lose Sight of our Core Values and continually find ways to incorporate them into our daily routine.

    American Van Lines2014-10-15
  6. "Hustle under duress."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at American Van Lines

    Pros

    Potential to make good money is high. The systems and leads are good. All customers are moving, so if you can sell, you can make good commissions.

    Cons

    Performance metrics are onerous and penal. Spiffs are a joke, $1 sometimes from off a wheel. The bonus structure is no better; only pays when you make quota. Weekly minimum deposit quota is $3,500; can only make quota if you get signed paperwork from customer via email/fax in the same week.

    Advice to Management

    Get highly rated carriers in your network; your customers deserve caring experts. Your company is only as good as your people. If you want to keep good people, reach in your pocket.

    American Van Lines2014-07-09
  7. "Its an ok job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Lauderdale, FL

    I have been working at American Van Lines

    Pros

    Good marketing, they know how to bring in business. Good sales training for people that have a basic understanding of the sales process.

    Cons

    Not much room for growth. Very strict guidelines, not the best work environment to be at if you care about that.

    Advice to Management

    Try smiling sometime, and its nice to be friendly to your employees, they will appreciate it.

    American Van Lines2011-04-12
Found 7 reviews