American Well "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

American Well Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 7 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
American Well CEO Ido Schoenberg, MD (no image)
Ido Schoenberg, MD
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "the telehealth space is interesting(in 9 reviews)

  • "This is a very fast paced environment(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company, People, and Product!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Well full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, great team-oriented atmosphere, and an incredibly innovative product. The company is transforming healthcare delivery and moving the industry into the next generation of virtual health. Very happy to be a part of such smart, talented, and driven individuals.

    Cons

    Career development and progression. This company risks losing great talent to other orgs because they can be very slow to move on this front. It is definitely getting better, with many managers and senior leadership making this a growing priority.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing, innovating, and leading!

    American Well2019-10-02
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Could be a good place to work- if they would just invest in resources."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Services 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Well full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Fast growing -Competitive pay -Great coworkers -Good location -Good mission

    Cons

    -Absolutely no work-life balance -Inability to take even one day off without work falling apart -Lack of resources across the company to do your job well -Lack of growth direction -Things break constantly with no follow up or planned improvement -Sales constantly sell unrealistic solutions and timelines which makes it impossible for those actually implementing -Generally I feel like we do not have the tools to... do our jobs well -Lack of communication between departments -Still feels like 3 separate companies instead of 1

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Many people are feeling overwhelmed and undervalued, and this will continue if you don't invest the time, money, and resources we need to do our jobs well. We are all overloaded and overworked and the expectation is that this job has a short shelf life. We are extremely hard working and talented, so I would recommend recognizing this and giving us the tools we need to grow and succeed. Invest in communication tools... to bring everyone together and increase collaboration. Work feels incredibly siloed and it can be impossible to get answers, which is very frustrating.

    Show More
    American Well2019-10-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "no feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Well full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, good location, good snacks

    Cons

    No feedback from management, no work life balance.

    American Well2019-09-20
  4. "Fantastic experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Well full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Incredibly interesting work - Talented, engaged, and friendly colleagues who are passionate about making a difference in healthcare - Leadership is very accessible and has great vision for the industry - Organization as a whole is open to feedback and always looking to learn and improve - Good work-life balance; colleagues clearly value that

    Cons

    - Compared to working at a very large company, certain processes/functions are being established rather than fully refined

    Advice to Management

    Continue listening to and valuing employees and customers, always with an eye towards improvement

    American Well2019-08-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Well full-time

    Pros

    Location is beautiful, free gym access, snacks and gorgeous cafeteria. Great work-life balance.

    Cons

    Fast pace and busy work week.

    American Well2019-05-21
  6. "Awesome company to work for with an amazing vision!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Account Management in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Well full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people Great products and services Awesome leadership American Well really allows their people to lead and own their work, such a great company!

    Cons

    With any "start-up" there is a lot to do. Folks working for American Well really need to know how to prioritize their work and time. Work/Life balance can be a little challenging but is definitely manageable.

    American Well2019-05-10
  7. "Growing the right way in an accelerating field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Well full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work itself is incredibly fun and rewarding, especially as telehealth is a rapidly growing market and there are lots of opportunities to be the first or the best. And of course there's the concrete positive effect of the work, as you can see how the health and quality of life for both patients and providers is improved by your efforts. The company really practices what it preaches: they explicitly welcome and... encourage new and challenging perspectives from any level of seniority, and then when you pipe up with your (hopefully carefully-considered and well-supported) ideas, they actually listen. Finally, as one of my coworkers stated rather bluntly, "they treat you like an adult." The work-life balance is good because it is assumed employees will manage their time and workload like professionals. You take the PTO or WFH time you need and as long as you get your work done, it's a non-issue. But also, why wouldn't you want to come to work?! Everyone is really friendly and the office has an amazing view!

    Show More

    Cons

    They got away with a lot of hacky solutions for years, which has created mountains of tech debt and design debt for the newer employees to chip away at. There are a few managers who will still push that whatever-is-fastest approach, but they're rapidly becoming a minority as the company moves toward a more serious commitment to quality. Still, the need to update or overhaul so many products can be daunting.... Similarly, the company is still figuring out how to work in a more cross-functional, agile manner, so there are some growing pains as the silos and waterfalls try desperately to hang on.

    Show More
    American Well2019-04-24
  8. Helpful (21)

    "Fundamental Issues at the Core"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Well full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Making an impact in healthcare is gratifying. If you're lucky enough to be on the right team, you'll work alongside extremely smart and passionate team members. I loved my colleagues. Great office location.

    Cons

    Work/life balance is bad. Many people work beyond their standard workload and it puts pressure on others to do the same. This causes an inaccurate portrayal of the amount of work that can be done in a given timeframe, allowing executives to pile on more work for future releases. Executives call working late as "team bonding." Product roadmap consistently changes. You'll start working on something one day, then... have to shift and work on something else that's suddenly higher priority. There's a randomness on tasks you're asked to do on a daily and weekly basis. Executives don't say "No" enough to the CEO. This sometimes allows absurd requests to trickle down and cause constant fire drills, forcing team members to drop everything they're working on to complete tasks in a tight/impossible timeframe. Managers are unnecessarily mean and confrontational. This makes people hesitant to speak up and express their thoughts due to fear of loud and unreasonable backlash. Over half of the meetings are a waste of time. There's either too many people in a meeting, or the meeting is irrelevant because whatever the executive says goes. Whoever shouts the loudest usually wins. With the increase of employees, the work space is crowded and loud.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let people do their jobs. Trust them to do what they're great at. Slow down so you can focus on quality and process. Say "No" more often. American Well will continue losing great employees if you don't make changes.

    American Well2018-11-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Well full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growth Potential - I've seen people grow into new roles/have title changes that reflect the hard work and dedication they have been putting in. Work-life Balance - personally I have good balance in being able to disconnect after the day ends from work. I do check my emails after hours but unless it's an urgent matter, I will email back the following day or Monday. Fun People! - There are many people across... functions that I have gotten to know because of meetings and company events. We have such a diverse group of employees and it's great to find someone who shares some commonalities with me! It was hard to find that, but it took effort on my end and I am happy I put myself out there.

    Show More

    Cons

    Space - it seems to be an issue throughout the floors. Reorganizing teams that work together so that they can sit together would be a nice touch. Less space doesn't mean I don't work hard/put out the best result, but some rearranging/common areas are needed. Volunteer Opportunities - the employee events and parties are nice, but it would be good to get out into the public with Volunteer/Team Building... opportunities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More updates from higher up management would be appreciated!

    American Well2018-04-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Growing, fun company in amazing industry – Lots of recent positive changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Well full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working at American Well has been a very positive experience for me. 1) I love the people; not just in my department but we are a small enough company where you get to meet and work with all the departments on a daily/weekly basis. Everyone seems to have a real passion for what they do and are truly happy to be here, all working towards the same goal. 2) This is a very fast paced environment. So while I believe this... is a positive, some people may not. Things are moving quickly, always changing, and you have to be able to work accordingly. But because of this, you are given a ton of opportunity for growth and to develop your skill set. 3) Most departments are very flexible with working from home. Work/life balance is great. As with any company, there are times where you work longer hours and times where it is less busy. They do a great job at letting you manage your own schedule. 4) They promote from within. From experience, it is very important to grow current employee’s skills and reward them for hard work. I know HR is currently working on creating more rewards programs, continuous learning/engagements, etc. to really make this a priority in 2018. With that said, HR has a new leader who seems to be working very hard to improve on the already amazing culture here. I’ve been to a lot of fun events this year, as well as continuous learning programs/trainings and look forward to attending more throughout the year. While space is a bit tight, they have announced that we are going to expand into additional floors in the 75 State Street building soon and building out a café internally which should be a great addition! I am super excited for my future at American Well and look forward to the improvements that the leaders and HR continue to implement as we grow/scale.

    Show More

    Cons

    I think with all the new improvements in 2018, not just in building our culture but with benefits (3% 401K match, new bonus and stock programs for employees, etc.), management, internal communications, values, space, etc. I don’t have much cons to list. I see that our leaders have noted where we lacked in the past and as a whole are working very hard to address these concerns and make improvements. American Well... grew quickly and because of this, there may have been some growing pains but as I mentioned, I think they are currently addressing and improving every day to make American Well an even better place to work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to improve on our culture, communications, promoting from within and foster the growth and skills of your current employees.

    American Well2018-03-26
Found 16 reviews