American Woodmark Reviews | Glassdoor

American Woodmark Reviews

Updated September 13, 2017
140 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
American Woodmark President and CEO Cary Dunston
Cary Dunston
33 Ratings

140 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • They understand that you need work/life balance and provide great benefits, including vacation and holiday time (in 6 reviews)

  • The company has competitive pay rates with good benefits (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • The factory gets extremely hot during the summer time along with long hours (in 5 reviews)

  • Room for growth is basically if someone dies, or leaves (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (2)

    "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winchester, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winchester, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Woodmark full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    American Woodmark attracts employees that truly care, not only about the company, but more importantly about each other. The company stands by its core values, never turning a blind eye, caring just as much about how things get done as what gets done.

    Cons

    Not a lot to say in the cons. Sometimes our locations can be a challenge, but at the same time, our locations provide a great place to raise families and have a balanced lifestyle.

    Advice to Management

    It is the "how" that truly differentiates who we are!

    American Woodmark Response

    Sep 14, 2017 – Talent Team

    Congratulations on 10+ years with American Woodmark! What a milestone. We appreciate you taking the time to review us and for all your hard work and commitment through the years.


  2. "a great company that wants you to be successful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gas City, IN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gas City, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Woodmark full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I work with smart people, who are data-driven, aligned with great company principles and supporting values, and a mission I feel good about when I go to work.

    The culture is empowering. Learning, collaboration, hard work, and team success provide opportunity. My aspirations matter to the company.

    Best company ever

    Cons

    World class communication is an opportunity

    Advice to Management

    you succeed at clearly demonstrating your mission, culture, and value

    American Woodmark Response

    Sep 14, 2017 – Talent Team

    Thank you for your 5+ years at American Woodmark! We appreciate your feedback.

  3. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Woodmark full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Very good benefits and pay, well run organization, excellent management and training. Culture and values are one of the biggest pluses - management works hard to keep them in place. Each CEO has worked to establish good relationships with employees.

    Cons

    None - work hard, get rewarded for efforts.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    American Woodmark Response

    Aug 21, 2017 – Talent Team

    Congratulations on your work milestone of 10+ years at American Woodmark! Thank you for your review and your hard work and commitment through the years.


  4. "Tech 19 operrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Woodmark full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, easy to work with

    Cons

    Long hrs, pay could be better

    Advice to Management

    Shorter hiring process

    American Woodmark Response

    Jul 31, 2017 – Talent Team

    Thank you for the review. We appreciate your feedback.


  5. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Moorefield, WV
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Moorefield, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Woodmark full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    work life balance, culture, pay

    Cons

    little consistency between all plants

    American Woodmark Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – Talent Team

    Thank you for your 5+ years at American Woodmark! We appreciate your feedback.


  6. "Great Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Woodmark full-time

    Pros

    Great people and company values!

    Cons

    Management needs more interaction with manufacturing associates. Separation between office and floor is far too wide.

    Advice to Management

    Get to know your associates. Trust and respect are earned not entitled.

    American Woodmark Response

    Jul 19, 2017 – Talent Team

    Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We appreciate your feedback.


  7. "Not a Number!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Manager in Winchester, VA
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Manager in Winchester, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Woodmark full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    It was a breath of fresh air from day one. Working for large fortune 500 companies prior to coming to work for AWC I had come to expect a similar culture. I was surprised find a leadership team that cares about all employees and considers everyone to be critical to the companies success.

    Cons

    No company is perfect and Woodmark is no exception, but I don't have any real complaints.

    American Woodmark Response

    Jun 26, 2017 – Talent Team

    Thank you for your 5+ years at American Woodmark! We appreciate your feedback.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Humboldt, TN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Humboldt, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Woodmark full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Claim to have a caring atmosphere and claim to promote from within

    Cons

    Not military friendly. New Supervisor got fired after returning from training. Known troublemakers are allowed to do whatever they want. Investigations are not done completely. Supervisors and management not held to work standards. One supervisor sets her own hours. The way to succeed at the Humboldt plant is to play the victim and claim everyone has a problem with you. Works like a charm

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. You're doing great!

    American Woodmark Response

    Jul 5, 2017 – Talent Team

    Thank you for your candid feedback. Please contact and involve our corporate Human Resources department leadership at your earliest convenience.


  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Winchester, VA
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Winchester, VA

    I worked at American Woodmark full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great training opportunities and welcoming staff.

    Cons

    It may be hard to accept the culture. But fellow employees are friendly.

    American Woodmark Response

    Jun 14, 2017 – Talent Team

    Thank you for your review and time worked at American Woodmark.


  10. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winchester, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winchester, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Woodmark full-time

    Pros

    Several opportunities to engage in non-work activities during the week

    Cons

    Pay is very low for technology field

    American Woodmark Response

    Jun 26, 2017 – Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback.


Showing 140 of 141 reviews
Reset Filters