American Woodmark Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

American Woodmark Reviews

Updated January 22, 2018
160 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
American Woodmark President and CEO Cary Dunston
Cary Dunston
48 Ratings

160 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • The factory gets extremely hot during the summer time along with long hours (in 5 reviews)

  • Room for growth is basically if someone dies, or leaves (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "A Caring Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winchester, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winchester, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Woodmark full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I have worked at American Woodmark corporate offices for nearly six years and I can truly say that this is a company that cares about their employees. The CEO is energetic, honest, caring and very visible. Employees care about one another and coming to work every day is exciting and enjoyable. Employees are treated like human beings and not just a number. I love my job and the people I work with. The culture here is amazing. Absolutely the best company I have ever worked for!

    Cons

    I have no downsides to report! I have never had any issues with the company or the employees. I highly recommend American Woodmark as a place of employment.

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice to give to management, except to keep up the great work and thank you for all you do!

    American Woodmark Response

    Oct 18, 2017 – Talent Team

    We love to hear this! Thank you for your feedback and your 5+ years of commitment to American Woodmark.


  2. "Service tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Woodmark full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great work culture and overtime if wanted.

    Cons

    Pay could be better and can be stressful at times.

    American Woodmark Response

    Dec 14, 2017 – Talent Team

    Thank you for your review and your commitment to working at American Woodmark.

  3. "Stock various parts of a cabinet into designated areas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stocker in Kingman, AZ
    Current Employee - Stocker in Kingman, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Woodmark (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great team lead environment with ability to advance

    Cons

    Possible mandatory overtime and possible down days with no pay throughout year

    Advice to Management

    Be more open and accepting to negative and or positive reviews and suggestions

    American Woodmark Response

    Jan 19, 2018 – Talent Team

    We appreciate your review. Your feedback is what will help us improve and grow as a company.


  4. "Job position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Loader in Jackson, GA
    Current Employee - Warehouse Loader in Jackson, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Woodmark full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Loader scanner sequence maintenance sleeved

    Cons

    No help I. Certain positions in the warehouse

    Advice to Management

    Supervise the plant more often

    American Woodmark Response

    Jan 24, 2018 – Talent Team

    Thank you for providing your comments. We invite you to speak with your location Departmental Manager so we may learn and provide feedback and support.


  5. "Unsafe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Door Machining in Moorefield, WV
    Former Employee - Door Machining in Moorefield, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Woodmark full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Solid Company , they give a bonus. Their orientation is awesome, they suck you in then you are on your own

    Cons

    Lack of training, no communication nobody listens to you when trying to communicate the lack of safety on the off shifts

    Advice to Management

    Meet with new hires one on one not as a group, this is intimidating to some therefore they won’t speak up. They are afraid of retaliation.

    American Woodmark Response

    Jan 12, 2018 – Talent Team

    American Woodmark is OSHA compliant and follows safety laws and regulations. We would appreciate hearing your concerns. Please contact the corporate safety leader at 540-665-9100.


  6. "Advancement opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Woodmark full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fellow coworkers truly care about each other. Pay is great for the area. Very clean facility. The company actually spends money and time recognizing safety and goals being met.

    Cons

    Very hard to advance in your career. Management is so busy they cannot take the time necessary to develop leaders. Or recognize the folks that do make things happen, that do care about safety, that care about good product, and care about each other.

    Advice to Management

    Just because someone isn't in your face bragging about what they have done to improve the process, does not mean to ignore it completely. Take the time to be aware of what is actually going on instead of depending on someone else telling you. It is slowing becoming a place where everyone is out for themselves regardless of who they have to step on to get there. Remember it's the people that makes the right things happen, not you.

    American Woodmark Response

    Jan 22, 2018 – Talent Team

    Thank you for providing your perspective and your support to the team. We invite you to speak with your location departmental Supervisor and Human Resources Manager so we may learn and provide... More


  7. "An okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cycle Counter in Gas City, IN
    Current Employee - Cycle Counter in Gas City, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Woodmark full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere. Great trainers.

    Cons

    Pay isn't as high as it should be for the job I do. You get loaned out to other departments that are behind, mostly Repair. There needs to be a full time supervisor hired for 3rd shift. The team lead is disrespectful and plays favorites.

    Advice to Management

    Take a look at the complaints you receive about the team lead in cycle count. I'm a new employee and she is not setting a good example. I feel apprehensive and she tries to intimidate people.

    American Woodmark Response

    Dec 4, 2017 – Talent Team

    Thank you for your feedback. We invite you to speak with your plant departmental Supervisor and Human Resources Manager at your earliest convenience so we may learn and provide further direction. We... More

  8. "test tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Woodmark full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    great culture, friendly coworkers. Great place to work. Location is good for those trying to stay away from the city

    Cons

    Salary is a little below average, not any other cons I can think of. Really is a good company

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work. Great place to work. No advice to management needed. They know what they are doing

    American Woodmark Response

    Nov 9, 2017 – Talent Team

    Thank you for your encouraging review and your commitment to working at American Woodmark!


  9. "IT Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The company's culture is really fun and friendly. They help you with whatever you may need help with and guide you towards the right resources.

    Cons

    The recruitment process is a little long.

    American Woodmark Response

    Nov 8, 2017 – Talent Team

    Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate your review!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Department Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Trainer in Gas City, IN
    Current Employee - Department Trainer in Gas City, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Woodmark full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits and paid vacation early on. Birthday is a paid day off. Awesome team environment for the most part and great opportunities to advance if you put in the effort.

    Cons

    Can lack on communication. Production sometimes comes before quality which can lead to loss of contracts. Too long of a time frame before you earn three weeks vacation. Instead of 10 years it should be 5. Shouldn't be a final top out in pay increases as this can cause a lack of effort to improve performance.

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to hourly employees as they are often a wealth of knowledge. Offer more kaizen opportunities.

    American Woodmark Response

    Nov 2, 2017 – Talent Team

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback. Please take a moment and share your advice with your supervisor.


Showing 160 of 162 reviews
Reset Filters