AmericanWest Bancorporation Reviews | Glassdoor

AmericanWest Bancorporation Reviews

Updated Feb 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
AmericanWest Bancorporation CEO Pat Rusnak (no image)
Pat Rusnak
7 Ratings
  1. "Assistant Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Vice President in Wenatchee, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AmericanWest Bancorporation for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice work atmosphere, co-workers are all fun to work with. The hours are great, the pay is good,

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons for the company or management.

    Advice to Management

    Keep with the good work.

    AmericanWest Bancorporation2015-09-06
  2. "Great Bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Relationship Banker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AmericanWest Bancorporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance was great

    Cons

    Converted too soon to another bank

    AmericanWest Bancorporation2019-02-27
  3. "Personal Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AmericanWest Bancorporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Low work load, no pushy sales environment

    Cons

    Management is terribly bureaucratic, outdated. Trainers are inefficient. The bank keeps changing names. Regional management in Utah is old school, they suggested looking for potential clients on the yellow pages...

    Advice to Management

    Renovate your team.

    AmericanWest Bancorporation2017-08-22
  4. "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Operations Manager in Lakewood, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AmericanWest Bancorporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with at the Lakewood office

    Cons

    I really don't have any cons

    AmericanWest Bancorporation2017-02-21
  5. "Would not recommend."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Personal Banker in Riverside, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AmericanWest Bancorporation

    Pros

    Good place to get some knowledge.

    Cons

    We got bought out by them in 2013 and we lost half our customers within weeks because they were so bad at customer service. They focused purely on businesses which is nice, but failed to realize that there is still money to be made in the retail sector as well.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on normal customers as well as businesses.

    AmericanWest Bancorporation2016-05-06
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at AmericanWest Bancorporation

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and wonderful people.

    Cons

    Pay was only okay, but short commute & great work/life balance made up for it.

    AmericanWest Bancorporation2016-02-20
  7. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at AmericanWest Bancorporation

    Pros

    Privately held company, experienced management.

    Cons

    Growing pains. There have been several acquisitions.

    AmericanWest Bancorporation2015-12-27
  8. "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Executive Assistant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AmericanWest Bancorporation for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very progressive in developing a banking environment that serves the community.

    Cons

    Not always effective in production.

    AmericanWest Bancorporation2015-11-24
  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Branch Manager in Spokane, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AmericanWest Bancorporation

    Pros

    Good company with seasoned management. Good takeover prospect for a solid regional bank. Some experience employees are leaving.

    Cons

    The depth and experience level with American West team is eroding every day. At some point the shell of the management structure will collapse.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the long term and demonstrate the commitment of the bank to all the employees so they feel a sense of confidence.

    AmericanWest Bancorporation2015-10-22
  10. "Commercial Lending"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AmericanWest Bancorporation

    Pros

    Freedom from excessive bureaucracy. Excellent loan officer incentive program when started, but new senior management rescinded, causing lots of ill will.

    Cons

    Poor credit culture. Bank was formed through rapid acquisition of smaller banks. Little attempt to create a cohesive and proper loan underwriting system.

    AmericanWest Bancorporation2015-08-23
Found 19 reviews