Americold Logistics Reviews | Glassdoor

Americold Logistics Reviews

Updated February 23, 2017
240 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

2.5
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Americold Logistics President and CEO Fred Boehler
Fred Boehler
56 Ratings

240 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Good pay with 4 raises the first year (in 15 reviews)

  • Work a bunch of overtime decent pay for a single guy (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • There is not work life balance when an employee cant use at least one full week of vacation (deducting sick time, dr (in 10 reviews)

  • Hard to move up in the company unless you are in with the Supervisors or Upper Management (in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Americold"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Selector in Gouldsboro, PA
    Current Employee - Order Selector in Gouldsboro, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Americold Logistics full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    They start you off at $13.40/hr, and the have an incentive program. You can make an extra $4/hr based on how fast you work.

    Cons

    It's cold (-20 degrees)
    Equipment can be better

    Americold Logistics Response

    Feb 18, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts!. We are so glad that you have had a positive experience with Americold . We plan to continue the growth we have made as a company and to ensure the welfare and ... More


  2. "Not bad, but not great either"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LTO in DeKalb, IL
    Current Employee - LTO in DeKalb, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Americold Logistics full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Top out quick
    Plenty of overtime (for those that want it)
    Decent incentive and benefits

    Cons

    Too much overtime (mandates)
    Management is inept
    Your value is never fully appreciated by superiors

    Americold Logistics Response

    Jan 31, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to make necessary improvements as we grow and create an engaging workspace for our associates.


  3. "just my opinion"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Americold Logistics full-time

    Pros

    Pay and chance of being in a union

    Cons

    Device freezes up too much, unorganized

    Advice to Management

    Better directional path on picking orders that'll save time influenced by the wireless system for the rf scanners that don't freeze up and has to reboot all the time.

    Americold Logistics Response

    Feb 23, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to reach out and we will definitely keep your commentary in mind as well move forward.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Terrible company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Americold Logistics full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    They hired me straight of the Army

    Cons

    Terrible company, dishonest, poor pay and they cap your pay.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to appreciate and take care of your employees.


  6. "Ignorant management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Americold Logistics full-time

    Pros

    There use to be plenty, now not so much. Pay....

    Cons

    Can't move up in the company. Consistently hiring outside and having to deal with new management making bad decisions and bringing their people in and putting them in higher positions than someone who has been there for over 20 yes, which makes it look like people are being pushed out. Losing company money and running off customers. Just check the longevity of management in PA and see for yourself. Your numbers are more important than safety, quality and production and profit. GM shouldn't drive around with beer in his truck. It's not a good look.

    Advice to Management

    Hire worthy employees. If it not broke then leave it alone.

    Americold Logistics Response

    Feb 23, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We encourage you to reach out to your HR team to address any further concerns you may have.


  7. "Above average"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LTO in Fogelsville, PA
    Current Employee - LTO in Fogelsville, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay any good environment

    Cons

    Long work hrs not many days off

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better

    Americold Logistics Response

    Jan 29, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback. We are working every day to create the safest and most successful work-environment possible for our associates. We strongly encourage you to reach out to our HR team with ... More


  8. "Great Pay, but very hard work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Forest Park, GA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Forest Park, GA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Americold Logistics full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great pay. Employees and management were very motivating. Lots of hours if you need them.

    Cons

    Rarely get days off. Work until finished, so you never know when your going to be home to plan anything.

    Advice to Management

    Employees need better rotation so they can get days off

    Americold Logistics Response

    Jan 31, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts, we appreciate your feedback. A work-life balance is very important to us at Americold and we will continue to make improvements to ensure that our associates ... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Americold Logistics full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay cool co workers but some snitches

    Cons

    Never see family crappy management

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring wannabe thugs to run your company

    Americold Logistics Response

    Feb 18, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention - and we want to hear more. Please consider sharing the specifics with your site HR team so we can partner towards a more balanced approach.


  10. "Human Resources"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Americold Logistics full-time

    Pros

    Starts off ok but not real

    Cons

    These people talk to you like you owe them something and talk to you like you don't know anything. What ever you do, do not come here. They will talk you into a job, work you like a slave, then 6 months later be looking to get rid of you. So much turnover in HR right now is ridiculous.


  11. "current employee"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Americold Logistics full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Leader in the Cold Food Warehousing and Logistic arena working hard to maintain its position as the best in the industry.

    Cons

    The company runs very lean, depending on where you work lack of resources and turnover is a big issue.

    Americold Logistics Response

    Jan 16, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your comments! We are so glad that you enjoy your position at Americold and we will continue to work to ensure that our associates are well taken care of and engaged.



Showing 240 of 244 reviews
Reset Filters