Amerigroup Reviews

Updated Apr 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Amerigroup CEO Jim Carlson
Jim Carlson
144 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home, great benefits, Great company to work for(in 55 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, mutual respect and timely work mannerism with excellent results and services(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management needs to fair with promotions and hiring diversity for management jobs(in 12 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance can be non-existent at times(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LTSS Service Coordinator in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amerigroup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Telecommuting, still feeling like part of work environment as they included telecommuters in all office parties and fun. Insurance was great and the BEST WAS THEIR TECHNOLOGY, using tools that made sense.

    Cons

    nothing, everything was awesome working for this company

    Continue reading
    Amerigroup2020-02-04
  2. "working at Amerigroup"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Amerigroup full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, mutual respect and timely work mannerism with excellent results and services

    Cons

    it is a great place to work in only cons will be lack of collaboration and team work

    Amerigroup2020-04-21
  3. "Working Together"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Provider Relations in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amerigroup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company and great people.

    Cons

    Some department are not always on the same page in providing quality work

    Continue reading
    Amerigroup2020-02-18
  4. "My experience has been challenging and educational"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outreach Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amerigroup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Assist medicaid members obtain care

    Cons

    Unable to reach members effectively

    Continue reading
    Amerigroup2020-02-14
  5. "High Risk OB RN Case Manager position"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Amerigroup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    excellent pay and benefits; work from home flexibility

    Cons

    leadership/management issues; micro-management, inability to motivate or improve employee morale.

    Amerigroup2020-01-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "AGP should do a better job at addressing obvious issues."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amerigroup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked with some great people and the salary was decent.

    Cons

    The problem at Amerigroup Tennessee is that they let long-time employees drive-out good talent. When I was hired, I was sold a "Marketing Coordinator" position, but ended up serving as a administrative assistant in essence. I was relegated to making copies, ordering lunches, typing documents, reserving conference rooms, managing fleet car, etc. and had very little actual marketing-related tasks. For the first few months I continually asked for more responsibilities and tasks, which ultimately was met with a threat of termination. My department had a very high turnover rate because the leader had such a consistently negative attitude toward the staff and no one was doing the job that they were sold. The leader also had a hard time executing on plans and would frequently change their mind without communicating to the staff. We would constantly talk about things but they would never actually happen. Further, the leader would heavily scrutinize our schedules and calendars--would even call to ask where I was even though I had the appointments or meetings listed on my public calendar. All of this created an extremely disorganized and hostile environment. The insurance plans were less than stellar.

    Continue reading
    Amerigroup2020-01-24
  7. "Amerigroup"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Network Relations 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Amerigroup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    New challenges weekly Good upper management support Lots of growth and development opportunities

    Cons

    Heavy focus on cost of care vs provider service Constant competing priorities Inconsistent management across markets

    Amerigroup2019-12-10
  8. "They hire people only to lay them off within a year"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Eagan, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amerigroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice building, good pay, excellent benefits. When they lay you off you do get some degree of a severance.

    Cons

    They hire people with no intention of keeping them. These are people who leave their current jobs with an offer of exceptional pay and benefits, but they don't tell them that the position is temporary until the company gets their implementation completed successfully. Once off the ground, you are no longer needed and out the door you go. There is no offer of a two week notice, in fact you aren't even allowed to return to your desk to collect your personal items. They ship them to you! Also, they expect you to work things out with others in a professional manner, but when you do you get targeted by human resources. They also only give offices to directors, and managers who have people reporting to them. Otherwise you get a cubicle in a less than professional atmosphere where people talk loudly, laugh out loud often, and when they have time, think it is time to party. If you are someone who goes to work to get a job done and cannot concentrate when people are joking laughing and carrying on, don't apply with Amerigroup. Finally, if you need help answering a question, good luck. You will be seen as the weakest link and your days will be numbered.

    Continue reading
    Amerigroup2019-12-18
  9. "Awesome job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Coordinator in Uvalde, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amerigroup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A company that encourages personal growth

    Cons

    The contract with the state of Texas ends in one year for star plus for the region that I am in.

    Amerigroup2019-11-01
  10. "Team culture a plus!!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse Case Manager in Iowa City, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amerigroup full-time

    Pros

    Great leadership team, not micro managing. Helpful colleagues while learning. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Pay is a bit low for professional licensed employees.

    Continue reading
    Amerigroup2019-10-28
Found 309 reviews