Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance President Kenneth J Ciak (no image)
Kenneth J Ciak
60 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Casualty Claims Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance full-time

    Pros

    The pros for this company is the work life balance and matching 401K.

    Cons

    The Cons are the bonuses and pay scale.

    Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance2016-01-15
  2. "Micromanaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Green Bay, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefit plan with nice 401k match contribution.

    Cons

    Micromanaged. Unreasonably, inflexible schedules with no work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging. Give employees more room to breath and build their own opportunities

    Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance2019-05-16
  3. "Very happy with my time at AAH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits package with generous PTO and flexibility. Competitive pay and bonus. Work Life Balance is very good.

    Cons

    Decisions are often slow to be made and can impact your ability to deliver projects as planned.

    Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance2019-04-02
  4. "Overall A Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Pay is competitive when just starting the position, they pay for and handle your insurance licenses in multiple states, PTO is plentiful and overall benefits are great

    Cons

    Overtime is a constant year round, management doesn't seem to fully appreciate agents who have put in time and paid their dues. Work/Life balance can be hard depending on schedule availability and season. Not much room for advancement

    Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance2018-08-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Very little work life balance. Leadership is sometimes crippling."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in De Pere, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, environment, and resources are the reasons that I stay. It’s hard most days, but I push on. What else can you do.

    Cons

    Work life balance is really the big piece. It is hard to be someone outside of work when you are always there.

    Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance2018-02-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Auto Client Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Professional in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good PTO package Decent cafe Ability to work from home

    Cons

    Constant micromanaging Used to be a plethora of outside discounts that were cut Less than stellar leaders/management Claim to have excellent work-life balance, but don't, took me 8 weeks to find out if I could attend my own college graduation. Favoritism Stressful and angry clients Office politics

    Advice to Management

    Create an environment where employees aren't wanting to hang themselves after a shift.

    Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance2017-11-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great people but dog eat dog"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Analyst in Ashwaubenon, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are awesome. The people are nice for the most part. New CEO is trying to turn the company around. Really good guy

    Cons

    Leadership lacks across the board. Could use more development type activities rather than everyone fending for themselves. Salary employees don't get any benefits of being salary. No flexibility with schedules and poor work life balance

    Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance2017-09-15
  8. "Can't catch up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, amenities, salary and vacation benefits are slightly above average, other benefits are average

    Cons

    Old outdated technology, conflicts between Auto and Home and Corporate Ameriprise Financial, recognizing problems without agreeing to fix the problems, organizational changes without a defined plan

    Advice to Management

    There are times where we would substantially improve as a company if we could just get out of our own way. Consistent feedback and buy in would be wonderful as well. Allow for technology updates to get out of the 80s to 90s style approaches to problems and you won't spend as much time/money/resources on problems of design.

    Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance2017-01-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Auto Claims Representative 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auto Claim Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The health insurance options are decent.

    Cons

    No work life balance at all- -at least in the Phoenix, AZ office. All employees have to work the same schedule. Although it is legally a salaried and non-exempt position, management treats you hourly. Be prepared to jump through hoops if you need to leave early for a doctor's appointment.. Even though the position is salried and non-exempt be ready to "make up time" and account for your hours each day. No career... advancement possible. Most managers are seasoned claims reps with no college degrees or leadership experience. Worst company that I have ever worked for in 15 years of experience.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire leaders with college degrees and proven leaderahip experience. Stop treating salaried/ non-exempt employees like hourly employees.

    Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance2017-01-03
  10. "Auto Claims Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Auto Claims Adjuster in Green Bay, WI

    I have been working at Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance for less than a year

    Pros

    Atmosphere, corporate culture, flexibility, and benefits

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities, poor pay, poor work life balance

    Ameriprise Auto & Home Insurance2016-08-08
Found 16 reviews