Ameriprise Client Service Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Ameriprise Client Service Associate Reviews

Updated Apr 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Ameriprise CEO Jim Cracchiolo
Jim Cracchiolo
9 Ratings
  1. "Good Software"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ameriprise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There's a process for all parts of the practice or a reference online or by calling. There's always a way to find how to do something. Learning is exponential.

    Cons

    There can be alot of red tape when it comes to event planning. Various products can be pushed but a good manager will focus on what benefits the client instead of selling them various products for their own benefit.

    Advice to Management

    Contextual when working for a franchise, it really depends on the management skills of the Owner.

    Ameriprise2019-04-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ameriprise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Life work balance is good, not stressful, working with same clients face to face, culture varies, ok place for someone who wants to work for same pay and title for next few years.

    Cons

    Low compensation, referrals vs talent and capability, small investment firm no room to grow anywhere outside of home office location.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more than below all national averages, invest in talent and recognize people that work hard.

    Ameriprise2017-09-29
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Client Service Associate in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameriprise full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As a corporate employee the company provides great pay & a phenomenal benefits package - Medical, dental, vision, short and long term disability, life insurance, pre-paid legal, 401k with a match, and a very generous amount of PTO and sick time. Employer sponsored pension after two years of service. Cut-in program for registered staff allows you to earn commission in addition to salary. It should be noted that the benefits...

    Show More

    Cons

    As a registered staff member the hours are inflexible. Tied to the desk 8:30-5, Mon-Fri with no option of working from home at all. We are forced claim a half hour lunch break each day on our time card, however the expectation is that you eat at your desk and work through lunch. As an advisor you can come and go as you please and work from home and often or as little as you'd like - but not as staff. Job responsibilities,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow registered staff to become Associate Financial Advisors - on the corporate side. Create a training program for incoming staff. The Registered Operations Leader role, should be more focused on leading staff, rather than supporting advisors.

    Ameriprise2017-07-13
  4. "Registered client service associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Client Service Associate in Westlake Village, Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameriprise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with and an abundance of great and helpful company tools. Fantastic benefits

    Cons

    Back office has some issues but what company doesn't.

    Ameriprise2017-02-12
  5. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Client Service Associate in Indianapolis, IN
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Ameriprise full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Very reputable company that emphasizes client service and a positive family environment. Doing a good job adjusting to the upcoming DOL Fiduciary rule next year.

      Cons

      Some of the Ameriprise software could be updated to be more efficient. There is a lag time between Thomson Reuters and Compass.

      Advice to Management

      Change some company rules to allow more options in client portfolios.

      Ameriprise2016-11-24
    • "Registered Client Service Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Registered Client Service Associate in High Point, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Ameriprise for more than a year

      Pros

      Appreciated being able to upload my client documents directly from my desk. Management did not micro-manage and were extremely pleasant. Weekly calls with operations manager allowed you to discuss anything and share where you would like your career to take you.

      Cons

      Computer system was not as current as it could have been for the financial industry.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to assistants before always siding with the FA.

      Ameriprise2016-08-22
    • Helpful (3)

      "Lacks organizational direction in AAC"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Client Service Associate in Minneapolis, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Ameriprise full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Ameriprise knows how to throw an employee party! They were quick to award trophies and host formal events. Well kept office in downtown Minneapolis.

      Cons

      The call center I was in completely lacked organizational direction. Upon calling my team clients usually waited at least five minutes to reach a rep to then be transferred to a service group. As a financial advisor my role was essentially an operator. There essentially was no licensing program. While all other firms I've worked with provided classes or mentor programs to succeed, Ameriprise only payed for the exam and...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Invest in call flow planning, value the client experience and provide opportunities for employees to improve.

      Ameriprise2016-08-23
    • Helpful (2)

      "Good benefits, opportunity for growth, only lacking in technology."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Client Service Associate 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ameriprise full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Nearly limitless ability for growth for those wishing to be an advisor with capacity for heavy marketing & prospecting and tenacity to succeed.

      Cons

      Systems are antiquated, slow, out of date, etc. Technology upgrade is needed badly. Beyond that it's a great company to work for.

      Advice to Management

      Systems, systems, systems!

      Ameriprise2016-04-05
    • "General Working Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Client Service Associate in Suffern, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ameriprise full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Caring; Nurturing; Supportive to employees

      Cons

      Tool System can be challenging at times

      Advice to Management

      None

      Ameriprise2015-12-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Registered Client Service Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Registered Client Service Associate in Rosemont, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ameriprise full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Challenges me, top firm for financial planning, excellent home office support

      Cons

      lot to learn in the first 3 years in the Finance industry

      Advice to Management

      Think Big- we are a leader in financial planning and have a very bright future

      Ameriprise2015-07-20
    Found 14 reviews