Ameriprise Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Ameriprise Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Ameriprise CEO Jim Cracchiolo
Jim Cracchiolo
61 Ratings
  1. "Think twice before accepting a PM role in Wealth Mgmt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ameriprise for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation is reasonable for contractors. Some people are great to work with. Products and Services are competitive and the company makes a lot of money.

    Cons

    You will face an ocean of mediocrity when working with Technology partners. Inaccurate estimates, high complacency, little to none risk avoidance, failure after failure, delay after delay, incredible increase in investment which reflect in your PM reputation. A true PM revolving door. You will regret accepting the offer. Environment is not welcoming. There is no culture, there are no values other than maximize profits.

    Advice to Management

    Hold the Technology teams accountable for estimates and deadlines.

    Ameriprise2016-10-14
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Bad Leader, Not Bad Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director Product Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ameriprise

    Pros

    Large company pros - good benefits, lots of areas for future career moves, training, learning from and with smart colleagues, some interesting projects

    Cons

    Large company cons - bureaucratic, lip service cultural programs (mandatory participation on an employee engagement committee - ugh), silo'd departments and territory turf wars among senior leaders

    Advice to Management

    I quit my manager, not the company. He was a narcissistic empire builder focused only on his relative positioning with his peers - had very little people/team development interest or ability. The company as a whole isn't any better or worse than other large companies.

    Ameriprise2016-09-25
  3. "Most definitely a benefit to my college experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager in Valhalla, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ameriprise part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people were so great. Every one that I came in contact with were personable and wanted to genuinely show me what it was like to work in Private Investment management. I was given actual tasks to do (not just run for coffee) and was busy almost all of the time.

    Cons

    I had to commute about an hour each way but saying that, there are different offices that you are able to intern in.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Ameriprise2016-09-08
  4. "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ameriprise full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Colleagues I interacted with on a daily/weekly basis were across the board professional, courteous and competent. -Director-level and VP-level leaders did not meddle in work and empowered their employees to do the work for which they were hired.

    Cons

    -Marketing is not a focus for the firm and budgets continue to be slashed resulting in overworked employees

    Advice to Management

    Be stronger advocates to C-Level executives about the value and importance of marketing.

    Ameriprise2016-09-06
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameriprise full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most of the benefits are very good, like on site healthcare, generous planned time off, matching 401k, and recent emphasis on philanthropic volunteering and community giving. Emphasis on diversity at many levels. Many employee networks to become connected and grow in leadership skills. Emphasis on employee development, and many things can be tuition reimbursed. Working from home is possible but depends on the leader,...

    Show More

    Cons

    Employee development is highly regarded but can feel slow to translate into job transitions. Posted jobs can read extremely specific and targeted to either outside candidates or specific persons with unique combinations of skill set. As a result, many of them stay on the posting boards for a long time or get re-posted and like a home on the market, there is caution before one thinks about applying. Training department...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees more and spend time understanding what can make their jobs more interesting and rewarding, particularly in phone and operations areas. Many leaders are not struggle to do the basics well (regular 1:1 meetings, confirm staff are following processes) because of extra heavy meeting loads. Delegate and grow staff more.

    Ameriprise2016-08-10
  6. "Legal Affairs Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager - Legal Affairs in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ameriprise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are equivalent to industry wide local companies

    Cons

    As with all new jobs, each firm has its own culture, which can be trying at times.

    Ameriprise2016-08-23
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ameriprise full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Challenge, growth, solid company, strong leadership

    Cons

    demanding, heavy workloads at times

    Ameriprise2016-07-09
  8. "Client Service Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ameriprise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with a great adviser. Everthing needs to go through the home office in MN so alot of time is wasted on internal issues. They were very helpful and ameriprise is all around good company.

    Cons

    Not enough growth and limited to becoming an advisor. Home office can be very difficult to deal with at times.

    Advice to Management

    Provide advisors with their own practices a little more space and room to handle their own business.

    Ameriprise2016-04-24
  9. "Manager HR Business Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager Human Resources Business Partner in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameriprise

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Like any good company you are expected to work hard. A company wouldn't survive 120 years if it didn't hire hard working people.

    Ameriprise2016-04-22
  10. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameriprise

    Pros

    Good life/work balance. Employees have great on site benefits.

    Cons

    Micro management. Contractors do not feel as valued, management treats them harshly.

    Ameriprise2016-03-12
Found 95 reviews