Ameriprise Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Ameriprise Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Ameriprise CEO Jim Cracchiolo
Jim Cracchiolo
61 Ratings
  1. "Excellent People, Collaborative Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Ameriprise for less than a year

      Pros

      People Processes well defined Good technology Focused Organization Cafeteria onsite

      Cons

      Small desks that are too crowded for contractors (regardless of level).

      Advice to Management

      Provide larger spaces to work for contract staff. Not enough desk space can be frustrating, chairs easily back into other contractor chairs who share cubes. Not enough space to review paperwork.

      Ameriprise2016-01-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Client Relationship Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Client Services Manager in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Ameriprise

      Pros

      Pros are dependent of the type of office you work in. I worked for two Franchisee Advisors in a small office. Great working environment, decent year end bonus compensation, unlimited/flexible vacation and free lunch on your birthday.

      Cons

      Small business does not provide very good benefits, health care subsidy doesn't even cover the cheapest plan in the Healthcare Exchange; no retirement plan and not a lot of room for advancement or promotion.

      Advice to Management

      Work on a better benefits plan for employees.

      Ameriprise2016-01-26
    • "Client Service Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Client Services Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Ameriprise full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great company overall. Very conservative and I was pleased with how my portfolio grew. I also, was impressed with how the franchise owner ran his business.

      Cons

      When working for a franchise owner, there are no benefits. The salary was not enough to cover my basic expenses and insurance.

      Advice to Management

      Have all non-licensed employees working for franchise owners be a part of corporate benefits.

      Ameriprise2016-01-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "No way"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Ameriprise full-time

      Pros

      Training is unbelievably great. They have a nice cafeteria.

      Cons

      The service center is a boiler room. Pressure Pressure Pressure. Management is hostile, employees have their jobs threatened daily. Plan on working 12 hour days and bonus and commissions messed with. The VP of department is trying to run the place like boot camp. They have turned over an enormous number of great employees only to be left with the one's that are willing to tolerate the treatment. Once your in the service...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Fire the VP hasn't he lost you enough millions? Stop misleading recruits, employees and clients it only leads to disappointment. Reevaluate the managers. Most of them are kids on their first or second job.

      Ameriprise2016-01-15
    • "Corporate office employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Tax Manager in Minnetonka, MN
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Ameriprise for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Good benefits and retirement funding. Communication between departments has improved. I found the work challenging, with adequate funding for projects. Software support was adequate but not excellent. I liked the work atmosphere and culture, and the amount of time spent in meetings was about right.

      Cons

      It is a complex business with many layers of management. Not too many other things to list here.

      Advice to Management

      My advice to management would be to improve the level of use for technology, as Ameriprise is a lagging adapter of technology.

      Ameriprise2015-10-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Business Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Business Manager in Bristol, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Ameriprise for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Solid company with a strong brand. Ethical Advisors committed to helping their clients reach their financial goals. Professional environment in which to work.

      Cons

      There is a lot of regulatory angles to manage through which is expected given the financial climate we are in. Lots of paperwork to process even for what seems like a simple transaction.

      Ameriprise2015-10-15
    • Helpful (3)

      "Worst organization ever"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Program Manager in Minneapolis, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Ameriprise full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great mission statement, people in the trenches work very hard and want to be apart of something great

      Cons

      Complete disconnect between CEO vision and sr management method of execution. The flogging will continue until moral improves.

      Advice to Management

      Review HOW senior managers are getting results

      Ameriprise2015-10-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Project Manager, service delivery"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Ameriprise for less than a year

      Pros

      The buildings are nice with modern break rooms

      Cons

      The managers lack knowledge and experience. .

      Advice to Management

      Need to train people to do their job!

      Ameriprise2015-10-05
    • "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Ameriprise full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Opportunity for advancement, good benefits

      Cons

      Red tape, sometimes too many politics

      Ameriprise2015-07-31
    • "Client Service Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Client Services Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Ameriprise full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great work environment. Small group of people that work together. Depending on your employer a lot of flexibility, which I have with mine (hours, taking time off etc)

      Cons

      Since it is a Franchise I work for benefits are not as good as on a corporate level.

      Ameriprise2015-06-05
    Found 95 reviews