Ameriprise Paraplanner Reviews | Glassdoor

Ameriprise Paraplanner Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Ameriprise CEO Jim Cracchiolo
Jim Cracchiolo
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Paraplanner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paraplanner in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameriprise full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company with strong leadership. Good opportunity for bonuses. Very strong culture of client service and ethical behavior. Would recommend.

    Cons

    Very limited career growth opportunities. Performance reviews are generic and annual salary reviews are basically predetermined regardless of actual performance.

    Advice to Management

    More recognition for performance

    Ameriprise2018-02-23
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paraplanner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ameriprise part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned a lot and great opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Salary little less than expected

    Ameriprise2019-02-19
  3. "Paraplanner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paraplanner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameriprise full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very great work environment. Potential for advancement.

    Cons

    Sometimes I don't have a lot of work load.

    Ameriprise2018-03-13
  4. "Paraplanner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Paraplanner in Palm Beach, FL
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Ameriprise part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Competitive for advisors, and less competitive for paraplanners. Lots of work assessing client account, making trades and meeting with clients.

      Cons

      No really many. Pay and benefits could be better with the responsibilities involved.

      Ameriprise2017-11-08
    • "paraplanner"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Paraplanner in Riverside, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Ameriprise for more than 3 years

      Pros

      This position is a behind the scenes role, your primary role is to assist the financial advisor. Its a good role to sharpen your financial planning skill set.

      Cons

      Promotion to financial advisor might not come as fast as you want, it really depends on your qualifications to be an advisor. Which entails you to be multi-skilled not only on a technical skill set but also a good understanding of client psychology.

      Advice to Management

      Nothing really.

      Ameriprise2017-02-06
    • "Excellent Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Paraplanner in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ameriprise full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great company, a lot of potential to move up, very accommodating, well known, etc.

      Cons

      Might just be due to the all of the DOL stuff going on, but there seems to be a lot of forms and communication constantly being mailed to our clients.

      Advice to Management

      When forms need to be sent, maybe put the pressure on the advisors to get them back rather than bombarding the client with numerous copies of the forms.

      Ameriprise2017-02-08
    • Helpful (2)

      "Paraplanner"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Paraplanner in New York, NY
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Ameriprise full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Freedom to work. No micro management.

      Cons

      All depends on what kind of adviser you get hired by. I was in a franchised office so you are at the will of the franchisee. Some are cheap and don't understand without the support staff their lives would be very hard. Glass ceiling with P2 support staff unless you want to be an adviser.

      Advice to Management

      Remember your SUPPORT staff. They SUPPORT and maintain your clients without them you are nothing but a sales man in a suit. They should receive all benefits in writing as well as the bonus and pay structure.

      Ameriprise2016-03-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good experience for getting into profession"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Paraplanner 

        I worked at Ameriprise full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Has been great for me for entry level and then learning and growing, my experience here has been positive with an involved boss - though every practice runs differently in the AFG (franchise) side of the business

        Cons

        AFG offices don't run as cohesively as the P1 side as every advisor has their own way of doing things, the company has been a bit slow to get into better use of technology (slow to accept scanned checks, slow to e-signature, etc.)

        Advice to Management

        It's very difficult to explain some of the fees that Ameriprise charges for certain things to the clients. Some of the things, like a wire fee, are standard bank fees - but this isn't a standard bank. The clients are already paying excess fees just to have their money in a brokerage account at Ameriprise or in a wrap account, and then you charge the same fee that a bank would for someone to send a wire from their basic...

        Show More
        Ameriprise2015-07-09
      • "Client Service Specialist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Paraplanner in Richardson, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Ameriprise full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great place to start your career in the financial services industry. Not a big barrier to entry if you can convince them you are the right fit or right person for the job.

        Cons

        None that I can think of.

        Advice to Management

        N/A

        Ameriprise2015-04-25
      • "Ahead of the curve"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Career Opportunities
        Current Employee - Paraplanner in Reno, NV
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Ameriprise full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Provide great technology support for advisors

        Cons

        Compliance can be a pain sometimes. Limit available investments.

        Ameriprise2015-02-06
      Found 26 reviews