Ameris Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Ameris Bank Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
Dennis J. Zember, Jr.
0 Ratings
  1. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Personal Universal Banker 

      I have been working at Ameris Bank full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great company to work for

      Cons

      Customers that are angry and smell

      Ameris Bank2019-06-28
    • "Loved the environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bank Teller 
      Recommends

      I worked at Ameris Bank full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I loved be able to work with people in my community. It was great to get out with community events as well! I really enjoyed the team I worked with. I loved the hours worked and not having to work weekends.

      Cons

      I had high goals with primarily working the commerical drive through lane. Not much opportunity to meet sales goals.

      Ameris Bank2019-06-01
    • "Decent position"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Post Closer in Marietta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Ameris Bank full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Flexible Easy work Alot of volume Nice environment

      Cons

      Slow to move up in the company Favoritism (knowing certain people to get the position)

      Ameris Bank2019-05-28
    • "Lacking reliable communication and salary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teller III in Atlanta, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Ameris Bank full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Your immediate team often acts as a second family

      Cons

      Too many mergers and acquisitions moving at too rapidly often leaves newly acquired employees to the way side and lacking pertinent information to successfully do their jobs. As a result errors are pointed out by back office as if we ought to know better and in a condescending tone. No longer feels like community banking. Similarly, after having reviewed the salaries of those in comparable job roles, every single person...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Slow down. Employees want to work but not when guidelines are inconsistent and communication is lacking. Trying too hard to line your own pockets while cutting jobs is an insult. Operations centers could help rather than condescendingly point fingers. And call center employees could mitigate customer concerns rather than just patching them through, angry, and their issues left unresolved. Basic business fundamentals...

      Show More
      Ameris Bank2019-06-06
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Ameris Bank full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Friendly work environment, great work/life balance

      Cons

      There are times when management positions are filled by people with no banking knowledge or experience simply because they are fresh college graduates. Generally, they have no long-term interest in banking, ergo no particular interest in the success of Ameris Bank.

      Advice to Management

      Consider more promotions from within your experienced career bankers.

      Ameris Bank2019-04-10
    • "Decent company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA

        I worked at Ameris Bank full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Large company and room to grow

        Cons

        should be more open and communicate clearly

        Advice to Management

        Review and retain your talent. It is easier and less costly to work with existing employees than new

        Ameris Bank2019-04-10
      • "Fun Work Place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Jacksonville, FL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Ameris Bank full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Friendly environment, Great leaders, Fun place to work

        Cons

        Pay scale was not competitive

        Ameris Bank2019-01-22
      • "Great company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Ameris Bank full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Very supportive group of people that use the Ameris Approach with both external and internal customer base.

        Cons

        No cons at the moment.

        Ameris Bank2018-10-05
      • "Leadership is inconsistent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Branch Manager 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Ameris Bank full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Liked most of the people/teammates

        Cons

        Leadership and needs technology updates

        Advice to Management

        Need more checks and balance

        Ameris Bank2018-09-13
      • "VP"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Ameris Bank full-time

        Pros

        Very competitive within the market.

        Cons

        Micromanage, lack of production with some employees.

        Advice to Management

        Ask employees what they aspire to do.

        Ameris Bank2018-08-14
      Found 29 reviews