Ameris Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Ameris Bank Reviews

Updated Jul 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
Dennis J. Zember, Jr.
0 Ratings
  1. "VP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameris Bank full-time

    Pros

    Very competitive within the market.

    Cons

    Micromanage, lack of production with some employees.

    Continue reading
    Ameris Bank2018-08-14
  2. "Mortgage Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ameris Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quick and efficient processing team

    Cons

    If you are a seasoned Mortgage Banker you will do great. If you are new, it is not the place to begin. There is no training or support for new employees. Can be a “clicky” unprofessional and unfair group, depending on your location.

    Continue reading
    Ameris Bank2018-08-31
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ameris Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. I met and worked with a lot of extremely smart people in the IT department in the time I was there.

    Cons

    You end up having to work too many hours, tons of travel, and the benefits aren't so great.

    Continue reading
    Ameris Bank2018-06-25
  4. "VP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Ameris Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and good management team

    Cons

    Bank is being purchased by another bank

    Continue reading
    Ameris Bank2018-06-18
  5. "Loan Admin Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ameris Bank part-time

    Pros

    Very nice people and interesting work!

    Cons

    I worked a PT assistant so there wasn't any holiday pay. But that was understandable! My manager was very flexible.

    Continue reading
    Ameris Bank2018-01-26
  6. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ameris Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good retirement and benefit packages.

    Cons

    They don't offer maternity leave.

    Continue reading
    Ameris Bank2017-11-20
  7. "Shows potential but under value their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator in Tifton, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ameris Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For the most part the IT teams are full of bright people. The benefits are fairly decent for a company this size also stock options are pretty good. Decent matching for 401k plans. Health insurance is free for the employee pretty pricey if you have a family though.

    Cons

    Major problems in upper management and managers incapable of understanding day to day challenges. Management fails to plan not much regard for personal or family time outside of work. Lots of work definitely more than 50+ hours a week I hope you like working after hours with no warning or planning. Are frequently assigned projects outside of your skill set and are then reprimanded when the task is completed not to their liking. False promotion of jobs duties often your being setup for failure. IT department is a bit dysfunctional for company that desire to be major bank in the future.

    Continue reading
    Ameris Bank2017-10-31
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Would never bank with this company if they paid me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ameris Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No weekends or holidays, and you get an hour lunch

    Cons

    They want you glued to the phone all day. The micromanage and expect for you to treat the customers like cramp. They charge ridiculous fees for everything and the way they manage the customers money is something unheard of. For example, lets say you have 100k in your account that you want to save, the interest is only about 13 cents and yet your monthly fee is $10 and statement fee is $3. Really............ Yes the call center is small but you never get a manager on line for anything and when someone calls in on your line, you tell them you will update their account or mail out things. But actually it takes days just to change an address. How crazy is that?????????? If you have any other bank in your area pleaseeeeeeeee run from Ameris Bank.

    Continue reading
    Ameris Bank2017-09-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It was okay . depends on what circle you fit into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Tifton, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ameris Bank part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good friends made and good pay. I feel like things would be better if they had better management and if people had more opportunities.

    Cons

    A lot of drama and it really depends on who you know. There are some pros but there are also a lot of cons

    Continue reading
    Ameris Bank2017-07-18
  10. "Ameris bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ameris Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great people and awesome team

    Cons

    Pay is to low for what we do

    Continue reading
    Ameris Bank2017-03-22
Found 30 reviews