KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Amgen

Engaged Employer

Amgen

Add a Review

Amgen Employee Reviews about "decision making"

Updated Sep 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 of over 3,255 reviews

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Amgen President & CEO Robert A. Bradway
Robert A. Bradway
1,317 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work Life Balance is fairly good(in 276 reviews)

  • "great benefits for the company's employees(in 257 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance not in priorities of the company depends on the area of work(in 129 reviews)

  • "Decision making often slower than it needs to be(in 80 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Amgen

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Amgen and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "decision making"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Stellar company

      Jun 1, 2021 - Director in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      focus on both business and employees

      Cons

      can be overly corporate in decision making

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      We value your feedback and note your feedback for our team. Please know, if there are any additional details you would like to share with us, you can always reach out to amgen@careers.pure.cloud. Thank you for your review.

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Has so much potential to be a great place

      Jan 24, 2021 - Senior Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The colleagues are generally smart, highly motivated and mission-driven Good benefits Solid balance sheet Highly respected in the industry-lots to learn Used to have lots of family friendly activities, but not sure what will happen to them after COVID Management focused on the company stock price and market performance

      Cons

      -Work-life balance is non-existent. I am literally working all.the.time. Vacations are rarely taken. I have noticed that if my manager does not see me logged on and green on a weekend, the following week I get dumped a bunch of projects since apparently I have “capacity”. We have winter and summer shut downs but I have always worked through them so they are not that helpful -There is a LOT of micromanaging - this may also be manager/department specific though. But from my experience micromanaging was very commonplace -Decision-making is slow and inefficient. This goes back to the several layers of micromanagement. -Career progression is tricky. Hard to know how you can really advance to the next level -I have had some bad, mean managers. It is disappointing that they think they can treat others in a derogatory manner and the company is allowing such an environment to prevail

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. It is our sincere goal to provide continuous growth opportunities in an exciting, cutting-edge atmosphere, and reviews are instrumental in our ability to implement change. We encourage you to share additional details about your experience with us at amgen@careers.pure.cloud. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      It's exhausting to work here

      Aug 9, 2021 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - coworkers the best - good benefits, average pay

      Cons

      - terrible process for promoting, be prepared to spend 5-7 years in your role or asked to take on expa ded role without additional pay - recently people who were promoted could not be farther from perpetuating Amgen values, makes a person wonder how important values and behaviors really are - slow and tedious process for decision making prevents company from making much needed improvements

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Employer Branding

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your review, value your feedback, and we take these concerns very seriously. We would like to understand more about your concerns so that we can thoroughly investigate and address them. Please contact Amgen’s Business Conduct Hotline at 1-888-376-5574 or https://amgenbch.tnwreports.com to report your concerns. You may remain anonymous if you wish.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Good company but culture needs reset

      Aug 24, 2021 - Senior IT Manager in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong employees, but slow to innovate

      Cons

      Slow decision making, too much analysis

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Thank you for your feedback. If there's anything else you'd like to share with our team, please do not hesitate to reach out to amgen@careers.pure.cloud to share more. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    5. 2.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Unsettling Work Environment & Ethics

      May 12, 2021 - Director in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some very smart people Becoming more scientifically innovative

      Cons

      Passive aggressive culture Don’t value new ideas in corporate affairs Mistrust and fear of losing ones job leads to rash decision making Lack of transparency Contract terminated early without warning or offer off even two weeks compensation after having been told I was “safe.”

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      We appreciate your review, value your feedback, and we take these concerns very seriously. While you have provided a great deal of detail, if there is anything additional that you would like to share about your experience, please contact amgen@careers.pure.cloud. It is our sincere goal to prevent similar feelings in the future, and reviews are instrumental in our ability to implement change. Thank you for taking the time to bring these concerns to our attention.

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Senior IS Business Analyst

      Jun 24, 2021 - Senior IS Business Analyst in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sign on and yearly bonus

      Cons

      If you're a minority, don't expect advancement into key decision-making positions and a C-level role

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      We appreciate your feedback and take your concerns very seriously. At Amgen, it is our ambition for all of our teams to embrace our values and our culture of diversity, inclusion, and belonging, and we believe in the power of having diverse teams across the organization, including within the IS organization. We are, however, deeply concerned to hear about your experience. We would like to understand more about your concerns so that we can thoroughly investigate and address them. Please contact Amgen’s Business Conduct Hotline at 1-888-376-5574 or https://amgenbch.tnwreports.com to report your concerns. You may remain anonymous if you wish.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Very good company

      Mar 29, 2021 - Executive Director in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work culture, innovative pipeline, great benefits.

      Cons

      Decision making often slower than it needs to be.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is our sincere goal to create an atmosphere that makes our employees feel supported and encouraged. You can always share more about your experience with our team at amgen@careers.pure.cloud.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      People-Focused / Certified Change Management

      Feb 11, 2021 - Senior Manager, Change Management in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, compensation, lots of opportunities

      Cons

      work/life balance, strategic decision making

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for your review. It is our sincere goal to create an environment where team members feel supported and heard. Reviews like yours are instrumental in our ability to plan for the future. Please know our team can be reached at amgen@careers.pure.cloud to share any additional details about your experience.

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Progresssive company

      Dec 7, 2020 - Senior Access Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Global company, established processes and good IT infrastructure, educated people

      Cons

      Poor work life balance, too many levels and approvals needed for decision making

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for your review. We are committed to creating a positive and supportive environment, and reviews are instrumental to our ability to implement change. If you'd be so kind as to share more about your experience with our team at amgen@careers.pure.cloud, this will help us develop strategies for future employees. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Culture Issues

      Jan 20, 2021 - Usability Engineer in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, bonuses, merit increases, stocks

      Cons

      Promoting poor performers. Decision making.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. It is our sincere goal to provide continuous growth opportunities in an exciting, cutting-edge atmosphere, and reviews are instrumental in our ability to implement change. We encourage you to share additional details about your experience with us at amgen@careers.pure.cloud. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 80 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Amgen Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Amgen? Share Your Experiences

    or