KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Amgen

Engaged Employer

Amgen

Add a Review

Amgen Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 404 of over 3,255 reviews

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Amgen President & CEO Robert A. Bradway
Robert A. Bradway
1,317 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work Life Balance is fairly good(in 276 reviews)

  • "great benefits for the company's employees(in 257 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance not in priorities of the company depends on the area of work(in 129 reviews)

  • "Decision making often slower than it needs to be(in 80 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Amgen

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Amgen and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Oct 1, 2021 - Scientist in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, work/life balance, support of career development

      Cons

      No major cons, this must be 5 words

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Thank you for your feedback. If there's anything else you'd like to share with our team, please do not hesitate to reach out to amgen@careers.pure.cloud to share more. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best place I’ve worked at; recent concerns

      Aug 27, 2021 - Manufacturing Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked at companies that are 2, 3, and 4 star on Glassdoor and I can tell you those ratings are very accurate. Amgen has been the best place so far. Supportive, challenging, full of opportunities and knowledgeable and collaborative coworkers. Very great for work life balance if you set your limits well and make it clear. I feel supported and have clear development opportunities.

      Cons

      M y concern is that with a combination of attrition not being backfilled, opening of new plants , and the hot pharma industry, we are losing experience and talent and and staff are overloaded and stretched. Our project load hasn’t decreased and less experienced staff are supporting us and it takes time and additional work to develop their skills. My other concern is our practice of hiring contingent or contract workers, which doesn’t attract as diverse of a hiring pool. Thousand Oaks is not too diverse and who will move here for a contingent job?

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Thank you for sharing your experience. Your feedback is appreciated as we continue to foster an environment where our staff members around the world can thrive personally and professionally. Please know, you can always reach out to amgen@careers.pure.cloud to share more about your experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Review from employee at Amgen

      Nov 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amgen is a great place to safely hone your skills alongside supportive management that welcomes stretch projects. Work-life balance is better than most

      Cons

      Compensation is sub-par and they over rely on the narrative that their 'wholistic compensations package' is competitive, but the truth is this is not the place to make bucks, it's the place to get big corporate experience and grow your skills

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Thank you for your review. Feedback is instrumental to our ability to implement change and continue providing a culture that allows staff members to thrive personally and professionally. Please know, you can always reach out to amgen@careers.pure.cloud to share more about your experience. Again, thank you for your feedback.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Management promote and hire their family and friends

      Aug 12, 2021 - Supply Chain Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1) Amgen has few solid drug platforms and company has been cruising off of the revenue generated by those drugs. 2) work-life balance: Most teams work only 4 hours a week which is a pro for those of you looking for stable steady income and don't like to be challenged. Work usually starts at 10AM and most teams are gone by 3:30 PM.

      Cons

      1) Management promote and hire their family and friends. As you work in the company you hear people who were related to their leadership would get promoted and hired a lot. Management make Bias decisions during hiring and promotions. if you dont have any family members in the leadership you wont go far. 2) high ranked open roles are posted as a protection against potential lawsuits. Even though a manager has a friend or family in mind for a particular job they need to post the role and interview 2-3 individuals before offering that role to a friend.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Employer Branding

      Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your review, value your feedback, and we take these concerns very seriously. We would like to understand more about your concerns so that we can thoroughly investigate and address them. Please contact Amgen’s Business Conduct Hotline at 1-888-376-5574 or https://amgenbch.tnwreports.com to report your concerns. You may remain anonymous if you wish.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Friendly and supportive culture, bright future!

      Sep 6, 2021 - Senior Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Colleagues are very friendly and supportive, work/life balance is good, great benefits (401K 10% matching, 2 weeks of shutdown a year in addition to the usual annual leaves)

      Cons

      Salary is a bit on the low side for the industry, lots of meetings

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Thank you for sharing your experience. Your feedback is appreciated as we continue to foster an environment where our staff members around the world can thrive personally and professionally. Please know, you can always reach out to amgen@careers.pure.cloud to share more about your experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great company but also big pharma with lots of admin

      Nov 1, 2021 - Executive Specialty Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company with strong benefits. Allows for flexible work-from-home and good work-life balance. Lots of promotional opportunities and different jobs within the organization.

      Cons

      Lots of small tasks to do regularly that are outside of the sales role. Lots of documentation including self and peer evaluations which gets cumbersome and takes a lot of admin time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Thank you for sharing your experience. Your feedback is appreciated as we continue to foster an environment where our staff members around the world can thrive personally and professionally. Please know, you can always reach out to amgen@careers.pure.cloud to share more about your experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fantastic company

      Sep 7, 2021 - Finance Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture where everyone works toward a common goal of helping patients. My colleagues are bright and always willing to share advice and help out. The tone at the top is positive and inclusive. Work-life balance is great, on average.

      Cons

      Sometimes I hear more about DI&B (diversity, inclusion, and belonging) than I hear about the actual stuff we do as a company. DI&B is important, but sometimes over emphasized.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Thank you for sharing your experience. Your feedback is appreciated as we continue to foster an environment where our staff members around the world can thrive personally and professionally. Please know, you can always reach out to amgen@careers.pure.cloud to share more about your experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good place to work

      Nov 27, 2021 - Data Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance People Good work Open for new ideas

      Cons

      Gets repetitive Good work gets lost over org changes

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Thank you for your feedback. If there's anything else you'd like to share with our team, please do not hesitate to reach out to amgen@careers.pure.cloud to share more. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A great place to work

      Sep 27, 2021 - Senior Scientist in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of opportunities, fantastic coworkers

      Cons

      isolated from other biopharma, work-life balance can be a struggle at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Thank you for your review. Feedback is instrumental to our ability to implement change and continue providing a culture that allows staff members to thrive personally and professionally. Please know, you can always reach out to amgen@careers.pure.cloud to share more about your experience. Again, thank you for your feedback.

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Has so much potential to be a great place

      Jan 24, 2021 - Senior Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The colleagues are generally smart, highly motivated and mission-driven Good benefits Solid balance sheet Highly respected in the industry-lots to learn Used to have lots of family friendly activities, but not sure what will happen to them after COVID Management focused on the company stock price and market performance

      Cons

      -Work-life balance is non-existent. I am literally working all.the.time. Vacations are rarely taken. I have noticed that if my manager does not see me logged on and green on a weekend, the following week I get dumped a bunch of projects since apparently I have “capacity”. We have winter and summer shut downs but I have always worked through them so they are not that helpful -There is a LOT of micromanaging - this may also be manager/department specific though. But from my experience micromanaging was very commonplace -Decision-making is slow and inefficient. This goes back to the several layers of micromanagement. -Career progression is tricky. Hard to know how you can really advance to the next level -I have had some bad, mean managers. It is disappointing that they think they can treat others in a derogatory manner and the company is allowing such an environment to prevail

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. It is our sincere goal to provide continuous growth opportunities in an exciting, cutting-edge atmosphere, and reviews are instrumental in our ability to implement change. We encourage you to share additional details about your experience with us at amgen@careers.pure.cloud. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 404 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Amgen Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Amgen? Share Your Experiences

    or