KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Amica Insurance

Engaged Employer

Amica Insurance

Add a Review

Amica Insurance Reviews

Updated Jun 29, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 650 of over 678 reviews

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Amica Insurance President, CEO and Director Robert A. DiMuccio
Robert A. DiMuccio
342 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Poor management; No upward movement available; behind the industry in products.(in 32 reviews)
  • "In addition pay low IT salaries in comparison to a 45min drive up to Boston area.(in 24 reviews)
  • "Managers have watched reps get competitive salary boost year after year (randomly throughout the years too!!).(in 21 reviews)
  • "The company tends to do business 'old school' and there are a lot of pretentious meetings and dinners with upper management in which they take your feedback, but not much is done to solve the problems voiced by the staff.(in 14 reviews)
  • "Salaries are low and difficult to survive on.(in 13 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Amica Insurance and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee
    Featured Review

    Great place to work with lots of opportunities to grow.

    May 31, 2022 - Anonymous Current Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exceptional 401k papackage. Strong devotion to developing employees. Fantastic bonus structure. Fair annual merit increases. Generous vacation package. I have worked for Amica a number of years and in a number of different roles. There were roles that I liked, roles that I hated, and roles that I thoroughly enjoyed. each role I have been in has helped me hone and develop my skills. The opportunity to grow is there, you just have to be aware of potential career paths. Your best path may not always be in your current department. Be conscious of choke points, tenured employees typically hold onto their positions, making it difficult to achieve your personal growth goals if you plan to stay in one office/department. Amica is a large company with openings all over the country. Take advantage of lateral moves if they will challenge and grow you. There are extremely talented managers working at Amica, find them and learn from them. If you show devotion and williness to learn most will happily take you under their wing. External classes are offered through industry leaders like AMA and IMS.

    Cons

    Workload can be high at times. Pay could be increased across the board.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Amica Insurance Response

    Amica Insurance

    Thanks so much for the five-star review! We appreciate you taking the time to share this great feedback about your time at Amica, and we’re happy that you enjoy the company’s benefits, 401k package, and opportunities for growth. Please know that we’re always listening and we truly value the feedback our employees share with us. If you have any comments you’d like to send us directly, please don’t hesitate to email us at employeefeedback@amica.com.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing Culture and Career Growth Opportunities

    Jun 29, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance Great support system Amazing people

    Cons

    Slow to change Different departments have different rules for promotions

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Burn Out and Misery

    Jun 14, 2022 - Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Health benifits Success sharing Air conditioner

    Cons

    ****they are struggling to hire and keep employees for a reason**** Under pay Long hours Subjective promotions Little ability for advancement

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    Amica Insurance Response

    Amica Insurance

    We’re sorry to hear you feel this way about your time at Amica, and we’re concerned about some of the comments you shared. Feedback from our current and former employees helps us make decisions about the future of Amica, and we welcome you to get in touch with us at employeefeedback@amica.com so we can learn more. Thank you.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Outstanding employer - hope to retire here

    Jun 29, 2022 - Human Resources in Lincoln, RI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Incredible growth opportunities -Caring / empathetic leadership -Pay and benefits package -Amazing retirement benefits -Too many pros to list. Company really cares about its employees. As long as you work hard and put in the effort, you will do very well here.

    Cons

    I say this somewhat jokingly, but something has to be done about the break room coffee. For us Rhode Islanders, it's practically undrinkable.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    What was once a great place to work, isn’t.

    Jun 25, 2022 - Senior Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Success Sharing and some benefits

    Cons

    Micromanaging, micromanaging, and more micromanaging with a sprinkle of never ending changes.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Amica Insurance Response

    Amica Insurance

    Thank you for your review. Please know that we truly do care about our employees and the feedback that they share with us. Although you are no longer with the company, we’d welcome the opportunity to speak with you and learn more about your experience so that we can continue making Amica a great place to work. If you’re interested, please email us at employeefeedback@amica.com. Thank you.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Celebrating 35 years at Amica

    Jun 23, 2022 - Human Resources Officer in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You don't stay at Amica 35 years by accident. Great place to work for many, many reasons including these: - Caring/family atmosphere - Feel respected and valued which starts at the top with Senior Management - You matter - Your voice is heard - Great benefits and pay - Amica celebrates a lot of paid holidays - Work/Life balance - Allowed some work from home days

    Cons

    I'm not saying Amica is perfect, as no place is perfect, but I can't think of a negative of working here.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Amica Insurance Response

    Amica Insurance

    Thanks so much taking the time to share this five-star review and recommendation! We’re happy to hear that, after 35 years at Amica, you continue to find it to be a great place to work with great benefits. Thank you again for your honest feedback!

  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Downhill fast

    Jun 23, 2022 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits , long time customers and coworkers

    Cons

    Amica has lost its warm customer service feel. Long time insureds with many books of business no longer feel appreciated. Amica is now more interested in micro managing employees than retaining them or customers. Amica implements to many new things at once which is extremely overwhelming and no longer worth the pay. The expectations now give employees anxiety which is why probably at least 35% of the staff has left the company. It's sad and a shame as I used to be so proud to say amica was my employer.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Amica Insurance Response

    Amica Insurance

    Thank you for you review and honest feedback. We’re always listening, and feedback from our employees continues to help us make Amica a great place to work. Because of this, we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments with you directly. Could you please email us at employeefeedback@amica.com so we can learn more? Thank you.

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    micromanagement and sales pressure

    Jun 2, 2022 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    friendly coworkers, our customers are the cream of the crop

    Cons

    Micromanagment. Lots of pressure to sell, sell, sell even though we are service reps. Management expects us to grill customers who call to cancel in the hopes we can save their account by telling them about our great " longevity and excellent customer service" however, our customers are leaving us because our rates are high. In this economy all the customer service in the world won't save a customer who can get the same policy for less money. This company used to be a great place to work where reps could take good care of customers. Now we are just micromanaged and nagged to sell life insurance, umbrellas and other lines. If you don't like selling avoid taking a customer service position with this co.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful

    Amica Insurance Response

    Amica Insurance

    Thank you for your review. The feedback we receive from our employees helps us continue to make Amica a great place to work, so we’d like the opportunity to learn from you directly. Could you please email us at employeefeedback@amica.com so we can set up some time to discuss your experience? Thank you.

  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    This ship is sinking fast!

    Jun 12, 2022 -  in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are very good!

    Cons

    The work load is insane. You are burdened with sales goals no matter if you're on a specialized team or not. Also with the continued high attrition rate, everyone who is trying to remain a dedicated employee is now tasked with the work of those who left. Those who are left are hanging on by a thin string. This Rob Peter to pay Paul mentality is not substanable. Customers are complaining as they're noticing the drop in customer service due to loss of staff and employee burnout.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful

    Amica Insurance Response

    Amica Insurance

    We appreciate your honesty and taking the time to share. You may be aware that we are hiring across multiple locations to help ease the workload for our employees. We are also encouraging our employees to refer great candidates through our employee referral program. The feedback we receive from our employees helps us continue to make Amica a great place to work, so we’d like the opportunity to learn from you directly. Could you please email us at employeefeedback@amica.com so we can set up some time to discuss your experience? Thank you.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company, Rushed Training

    Mar 3, 2022 - Associate Account Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Great Management who provide transparent feedback. -Decent starting salary -paid training and licensing

    Cons

    -job recently became significantly more tedious due to recent changes post pandemic. -not competitive with other work at home insurance employers

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Amica Insurance Response

    Amica Insurance

    Thank you for the five-star review and recommendation. We appreciate all of the feedback you shared in your review as well. Please know that were always listening to our employees, and we’ll keep your comments in mind as we continue to make decisions about what is best for our customers and our employees. If you’d like to offer any additional feedback to us directly, please feel free to email us at employeefeedback@amica.com. Thank you.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 650 Reviews

Amica Insurance Reviews FAQs

Amica Insurance has an overall rating of 3.2 out of 5, based on over 678 reviews left anonymously by employees. 54% of employees would recommend working at Amica Insurance to a friend and 39% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -20% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Amica Insurance employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Amica Insurance. This rating has decreased by -11% over the last 12 months.

54% of Amica Insurance employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Amica Insurance 3.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.3 for culture and values and 2.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Amica Insurance to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be culture, compensation, management.

Popular Careers with Amica Insurance Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Amica Insurance? Share Your Experiences

or

Amica Insurance Careers

Cover image for Amica Insurance

Good Is What We Do Want to be part of a company with a genuine commitment to put customers and employees first, and where doing good is...More

  • Benefits
  • Future Leaders
  • Diversity
  • Our Programs
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

Amica Insurance

16 days ago

Community
June is LGBTQ+ Pride Month, and we’re spotlighting Nathan, an account manager at our National Sales Center – West, who volunteers for The LGBTQ Center of Southern Nevada. Nathan has logged over 700 volunteer hours for The Center. He staffs their 24-hour crisis hotline, and has become an advocate for the LGBTQ+ community, a group that’s often victimized by hate crimes. Recently, Nathan received a monetary grant for The Center through our Employee Community Involvement Program for his significant volunteer work. “As a victim advocate, I am blessed with the opportunity and responsibility to support my community in times of crisis,” Nathan says. To learn more about The Center, visit: https://thecenterlv.org/.
Shared image
Logo

Amica Insurance

18 days ago

Careers
We’re excited to announce we were again selected as one of the Best Places to Work in Rhode Island! This is the 13th year we’ve received this honor from Providence Business News. We want to give a big shout-out to every member of the #AmicaFamily, who make Amica a wonderful place to work!
Shared image
See all

Amica Insurance Photos

+ Add Photo
Amica Insurance photo of: Amica employee in Sales and Client Services
Amica Insurance photo of: Future Leaders Program
Amica Insurance photo of: Installing Amica's 2018 25-year anniversary bricks
Amica Insurance photo of: Amica Career Fair
Amica Insurance photo of: 100 Amica Way
Amica Insurance photo of: Employees walking at Corporate Headquarters
Amica Insurance photo of: Employees walking at Corporate Headquarters
See All Photos