Amica Mutual Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Amica Mutual Reviews

Updated February 21, 2018
254 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Amica Mutual President, CEO and Director Robert A. DiMuccio
Robert A. DiMuccio
145 Ratings

254 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Also work life balance is a joke (in 14 reviews)

  • They make this sound like a real insurance agent job, but you're really just working in a call center (in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (2)

    "You'd be hard-pressed to find better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lake Oswego, OR
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lake Oswego, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amica Mutual full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    GREAT company that cultivates a sense of camaraderie among co-workers through a series of employee engagement activities. Customer-focused selling and no cold calling! Wonderful benefits for myself and my family. Caring management and promote from within program. Nice location in Lake Oswego business park.

    Cons

    As with all customer service jobs, working with customers can be trying at times. Today's society has an expectation that they will receive the "quickest, cheapest" service and product out there, which can be unreasonable. We do all of our underwriting upfront so that we get it right the first time!

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for all of the encouragement and training. I have learned so much about Integrity Selling and working with people :)


  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Representative in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Account Representative in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amica Mutual full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, Bonuses, Pay, Pension, 401K

    Cons

    Nothing. Great company to work for

    Advice to Management

    Great at listening to employees concerns

    Amica Mutual Response

    Feb 13, 2018 – Amica Insurance

    Thank you for this great review and recommendation!

  3. "Great People, Claims Can Be Tough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Csr1 in Frisco, TX
    Former Employee - Csr1 in Frisco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Amica Mutual full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Amica has some of the best managers! I loved the Dallas office!

    Cons

    The workload due to high volumes of claims. This is something the company can't really control


  4. "Senior Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amica Mutual full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    1) Excellent work life balance (required to work less than 40 hours/week)
    2) Lots of opportunity for professional growth
    3) Competitive bonus structure and benefits
    4) Friendly management

    Cons

    1) Antiquated software (but getting better)
    2) Steep learning curve as you need to become familiar with 5 different systems to succeed

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing. Amica has an amazing corporate culture that begins at the top.

    Amica Mutual Response

    Feb 6, 2018 – Amica Insurance

    Thanks so much for the review and advice! We greatly appreciate your recommendation. If you’d like to offer us any additional feedback, please email employeefeedback@amica.com. Thank you.


  5. "Senior Claims Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Claims Supervisor in Lincoln, RI
    Former Employee - Senior Claims Supervisor in Lincoln, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amica Mutual full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excellent stable company to work for.

    Cons

    Must be mobile, but tries to accommodates a individual needs.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Amica Mutual Response

    Jan 26, 2018 – Amica Insurance

    Thank you for sharing this review! We appreciate your recommendation.

    Our mobility requirements extend only to certain positions at Amica and are communicated to potential employees during the... More


  6. "Associate National Life Insurance Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Amica Mutual full-time

    Pros

    shift flexibility and management assistance

    Cons

    no reliable bonus structure since it changes so it is hard to make financial decision for my future

    Amica Mutual Response

    Jan 23, 2018 – Amica Insurance

    Thank you for your review and feedback. If you’d like to discuss this further, please email us at employeefeedback@amica.com. Thanks.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "They encourage continuing education but no room to advance in your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Bloomington, MN
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Bloomington, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amica Mutual full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    They offer good health benefits at reasonable price, they pay for continuing education, nice physical office underground parking for some employees

    Cons

    Coworkers and managers, branch manager. It’s a call center. People are unhappy and management at the branch and at home office are not willing to make changes and be flexible with employees to ensure they keep talent.

    Amica Mutual Response

    Feb 1, 2018 – Amica Insurance

    Thank you for your review. We place great value on the concerns of our employees and we have worked to make changes in recent years that have increased flexibility in the workplace. If there is any... More

  8. "The reviews are correct and nothing changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Knoxville, TN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amica Mutual full-time

    Pros

    Like the prior review said, good benefits, but you had better not use them too often. They don't make up for the crappy below-industry standard pay.

    Cons

    The "toxic work environment" that will not change, no matter the phony CYA responses posted here by their marketing staff.

    Advice to Management

    Why bother? You protect your own and are unlikely to make any major changes unless you get sued, and even then you figure you have deeper pockets and better lawyers at your disposal than the fed-up employees. I left a while ago and it is obvious the branch management is still playing the same games. Burned through another rep, I see!


  9. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amica Mutual full-time

    Pros

    Benefits hours and pay are great

    Cons

    Training is not sufficient for a newbie.

    Advice to Management

    Do a regular training with more than one employee, hands on is a bit much for this kind of work...

    Amica Mutual Response

    Jan 10, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your review. We’re always listening and will be sure to pass along your feedback regarding training for review.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Treats employees well, but old school culture is pervasive & irritating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Lincoln, RI
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Lincoln, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amica Mutual full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Hours- family friendly. I worked on their digital program, and staying past 5 was unusual. This is the best feature of working there.
    Benefits- health insurance premiums were very reasonable, company gym membership was super cheap
    Compensation- slightly below marketing, but acceptable given the hours.

    Cons

    Culture is old school- their dress code is dated and there are electric shoe polishers in most men's bathrooms. Even though I had work from home access, I could only do it one day a week and it had to be the same day (even if there was a snow storm).
    Senior management- many have been at Amica their entire career, because Amica prefers to promote from within. They're generally averse to new ideas and have no expertise from other companies. It was difficult to envision a dynamic career in a stagnant environment.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage retirements of senior management, replace with outside talent. Promoting from within gives employees promises of long careers, but creates a stale pool of skills and talent.
    Also, let people work from home when it's snowing. That policy is unreasonable and dangerous.

    Amica Mutual Response

    Jan 22, 2018 – Amica Insurance

    Thank you for your review and feedback.

    The safety of our employees is of utmost importance to us. We have closed the office in the very recent past to prevent employees from traveling in... More


Showing 254 of 261 reviews
Reset Filters