Amica Mutual Reviews | Glassdoor

Amica Mutual Reviews

Updated June 15, 2018
268 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Amica Mutual President, CEO and Director Robert A. DiMuccio
Robert A. DiMuccio
152 Ratings

268 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great benefits, great pay (when meeting sales goals), and family atmosphere" (in 43 reviews)

  • "Excellent work life balance (required to work less than 40 hours/week)" (in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance has suffered for me and my coworkers recently with our recent growth in new sales" (in 16 reviews)

  • "We are truly just another call center know" (in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (3)

    "You'd be hard-pressed to find better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lake Oswego, OR
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lake Oswego, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amica Mutual full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    GREAT company that cultivates a sense of camaraderie among co-workers through a series of employee engagement activities. Customer-focused selling and no cold calling! Wonderful benefits for myself and my family. Caring management and promote from within program. Nice location in Lake Oswego business park.

    Cons

    As with all customer service jobs, working with customers can be trying at times. Today's society has an expectation that they will receive the "quickest, cheapest" service and product out there, which can be unreasonable. We do all of our underwriting upfront so that we get it right the first time!

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for all of the encouragement and training. I have learned so much about Integrity Selling and working with people :)


  2. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lincoln, RI
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lincoln, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amica Mutual full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work, Management is always helpful.

    Cons

    More career advancement would be nice.

    Amica Mutual Response

    May 16, 2018 – Amica Insurance

    Thank you for your review and rating! We appreciate your recommendation, and we’re glad you found Amica to be a great place to work.

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Working for Amica"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amica Mutual full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    - Healthcare benefits
    - 401K Matching
    - Profit Sharing Bonuses

    Cons

    - Too slim of staff in many areas, overworked promoting a burn out syndrome
    - Unqualified leaders in upper/executive management, our size no longer supports promote from within only type business.
    - Rotating executive positions
    - Yearly raises are barely offsetting rates of inflation

    Amica Mutual Response

    Jun 12, 2018 – Associate Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. If you’d like to discuss this further, please email us at employeefeedback@amica.com. Thank you.


  4. "A balanced review...from the claims department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims
    Current Employee - Claims
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amica Mutual full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    * Customers are in good hands when a claim is filed. We actually LOOK for ways to cover a loss.
    * My coworkers genuinely care about their work and customer.
    * Great team / family like environment at the branch level.
    * My branch manager/supervisors are the best.
    * Benefits are decent (profit sharing, 401K, vacation, medical, etc.)
    * Enjoyable, but challenging work (but it isn't for everyone).
    * Great work hours.

    Cons

    * Work/life balance has suffered for me and my coworkers recently with our recent growth in new sales. I have trouble unplugging and some are at the brink of a mental break down. Some just adopt a "do all I can and forget the rest" attitude in order to cope. I find myself waking up and thinking about what I just didn't have time to get done at work.
    * Amica seems to care more about their reputation than they employees.
    * Pay is less than competition.
    * Work load is excessive, even by industry standards with our explosive growth the past 1-2 year. However, they are not hiring any staff to accommodate the growth...not a single human being in my department. If my current workload is a reflection of what the industry has become, then maybe I need a new career.
    * I feel there is room for advancement, but only if you are willing to pack up and move.
    * The company seems out of touch with their first-line staff and really have no clue what the job is really like.
    * The company seems to be extremely slow at making any changes at any level.

    Advice to Management

    Actually listen to your employees who are crying out for help.


  5. "Wonderful Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amica Mutual full-time

    Pros

    Supportive management, competitive salary, and excellent venefirs

    Cons

    Not the greatest training process

    Amica Mutual Response

    May 15, 2018 – Amica Insurance

    Thank you for writing this kind review. We’re glad to read that you recommend Amica, but we also welcome any feedback you might have about our training process. If you’re interested in discussing... More


  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amica Mutual full-time

    Pros

    Great people, great product, great environment!

    Cons

    Not too many that i can think of.

    Amica Mutual Response

    May 11, 2018 – Associate Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for your review! We’re happy to hear that you’re having a positive experience working with Amica, and we appreciate your kind words and support.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Lincoln, RI
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Lincoln, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amica Mutual full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The benefits are good and the pay is only slightly under the median.

    Cons

    Some people get away with doing nothing all day while others pick up the slack. Some BSA's have no clue how to do their jobs and developers suffer as a result. Developers are often asked to code based on requirements that dont exist and have to fight to figure out what the business needs are.

    Advice to Management

    Business people in technical roles does not work... it is not sustainable for long. As a result, band aid approaches to problems are constantly made because management doesn't understand the long term technical ramifications of what they are doing. Also promotions are 99% time based so there is no motivation to try and do better than any of your peers.

    Amica Mutual Response

    May 25, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. It’s important for our Corporate Information Systems department to have a collaborative environment that includes both the business and technical sides in order... More

  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amica Mutual full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance

    Cons

    Managers don’t get upward mobility unless willing to relocate

    Amica Mutual Response

    May 23, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your positive review. We’re happy to hear that you’ve been pleased with your experience working here at Amica. In regards to your feedback on upward mobility, while some of our... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Account Representative in Concord, NH
    Former Employee - Associate Account Representative in Concord, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amica Mutual full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent work environment, lots of food
    Supportive, helpful coworkers
    Good benefits, both dental and health
    Good opportunity to learn/ educational opportunities

    Cons

    Management often only point out the negatives
    Company growing too quickly for representatives to keep up, heavy workload
    Growth opportunities lacking
    Pay is on the lower end for similar positions unless you can compensate with hefty bonuses

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to positives, be more understanding


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits unrealistic expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Account Representative in Glen Allen, VA
    Current Employee - Associate Account Representative in Glen Allen, VA

    I have been working at Amica Mutual (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great work environment, great benefits, stable company

    Cons

    Too much work for the pay - unrealistic expectations with work load .. you can never catch up

    Advice to Management

    Shorten training and assign more tasks to technical assistants

    Amica Mutual Response

    May 18, 2018 – Amica Insurance

    Thank you for your kind comments and review. As we grow our company and maintain our high level of service, we understand that the workload can be heavy. We are actively hiring additional... More


Showing 268 of 275 reviews
Reset Filters