Amway Grand Plaza Hotel Reviews | Glassdoor

Amway Grand Plaza Hotel Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Doug DeVos
8 Ratings
  1. "Its a good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel full-time

    Pros

    I love my job! The people that I get to work with on a daily basis make the job fun while management strives to care for its associates.

    Cons

    Senior management can sometimes be concerned about making the guest happy even if they are wrong.

    Amway Grand Plaza Hotel2017-11-20
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel part-time

      Pros

      Fun work environment, Plenty of opportunity to earn

      Cons

      Long, cold night shifts at times

      Amway Grand Plaza Hotel2018-12-19
    • "Mediocre Employment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel full-time

      Pros

      Amway Grand is connected with JW Marriott and Courtyard Marriott, it's interesting to work with other hotels within the AHC+ Hospitality brand.

      Cons

      Horrible employee cafeteria, low pay, not the most professional Sales/Events office.

      Amway Grand Plaza Hotel2018-02-06
    • "Good job, team dynamic can get a little toxic though"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Valet Parking in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The job is nice enough and the management for most departments seems like they care and are usually pretty cool.

      Cons

      Pay isn't great and the family is kinda crappy but they're not at the hotel that much so it isn't that big a deal.

      Amway Grand Plaza Hotel2017-12-01
    • "AGPH Bellman"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Bellman in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Workability with schedule Meet new people Good tips in Summer

      Cons

      Winter-time is tough Busy work Wage

      Amway Grand Plaza Hotel2017-11-01
    • "!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel full-time

        Pros

        It was a great place to work!

        Cons

        No cons here, loved it!

        Amway Grand Plaza Hotel2017-10-21
      • "At Your Service Agent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I have been working at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel part-time

        Pros

        Flexible Fun Environment Decent Food Good management at the Front Desk Understanding

        Cons

        Not too many opportunities for advancement

        Amway Grand Plaza Hotel2017-10-04
      • Helpful (1)

        "Middle Management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        Diverse clientele and groups that give a great opportunity to learn and be exposed to different things.

        Cons

        Long hours, passive to no support from management.

        Advice to Management

        Say thank you from time to time to staff. If you ask how they are doing, actually stay to listen to the response.

        Amway Grand Plaza Hotel2017-08-15
      • "Houskeeping"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel full-time

        Pros

        Overtime potential and if you enjoy hard work, this is a position for you.

        Cons

        7 to 9 days in a row work weeks and long days sometimes.

        Advice to Management

        Spend more time on the floors and inspecting rooms.

        Amway Grand Plaza Hotel2017-07-31
      • "Room attendant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Assistant Preschool Teacher in Lansing, MI
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Lots of room for growth. Lots of benefits.

        Cons

        Management should be more team oriented for ideas so it feels like everyone's involved. Give employees opportunities to share ideas more.

        Advice to Management

        Be more team oriented and make sure to give achievement

        Amway Grand Plaza Hotel2017-04-02
      Found 22 reviews