Amway Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Amway CEO Milind Pant
Milind Pant
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Too much leniency given to stakeholders, makes the executives look bad for following orders when the upper management approves so easily(in 13 reviews)

  • "Bureaucratic and lack of clarity with decision-making(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Systems Analyst in Ada, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amway takes really good care of their people. They pay well and offer a lot as an employee.

    Cons

    Some areas have better work/life balance than others. But it's fairly easy to move around within.

    Amway2020-04-22
  2. "Typical little company wanting to be huge"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prefer Not to Supply in Adair, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amway full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    My last real supervisor was wonderful; flexible, had realistic expectations, put his people first not his political agenda, very personable. a true leader not a dictator. Politics play a huge part of the company structure, depending on the department the experience is wonderful or miserable.

    Cons

    My department was very autocratic. Of course, the favorites got all the glory and good assignments, no matter what your client’s opinions are. Once you were on the radar for termination your yearly reviews suck for 2 years then you are gone.

    Amway2020-05-22
  3. "Good Company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay. Great profit sharing.

    Cons

    Not the transparent leadership.

    Amway2020-04-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Jobs Are Moving Offshore"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ada, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amway full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay is better than average, and the hours are flexible, plus many are allowed to work from home, when necessary

    Cons

    Because they fancy themselves a "health and beauty" company, Amway is very focused on hiring "young leaders," which generally means young and beautiful interns, and advancing them quickly. They are also outsourcing jobs as much as possible, demoting older, more knowledgeable workers, closing domestic plants and moving manufacturing offshore, and buying already-made products from other companies. There have been layoffs approximately every 18 months, and I suspect the round in Feb 2020 won't be the last. Morale is extremely low.

    Continue reading
    Amway2020-04-18
  5. "I love working here"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Personal Assistant 

    I have been working at Amway full-time

    Pros

    Amazing pay and my coworkers are awesome

    Cons

    None its an amazing place to work

    Continue reading
    Amway2020-03-12
  6. "GREAT company, strong values"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ada, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amway full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Awesome company, culture has slightly deteriorated over the past few years, but there is an intentional effort to bring it back

    Cons

    Leadership politics tends to get in the way of allocation resources to priorities, the owners reign supreme, clearly over employees, in particular as the company went through cuts to "invest" in certain areas, would have been nice to see more investment from the owners instead of cutting hundreds of jobs that would later likely be brought back...

    Amway2020-03-10
  7. "It´s an amazing place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Auditor in Ada, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Emotional salary is very high

    Cons

    Currently in reestructuration but accepted as it is

    Continue reading
    Amway2020-02-27
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Amway - *NOT* the American Way"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Ada, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A lot of good, hard-working colleagues.

    Cons

    Not a company for the long haul. Once you reach a certain salary or age, they will drop you in a heartbeat. And those that are left have to pick up the slack created from the loss.

    Continue reading
    Amway2020-03-19
  9. "Values Driven"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Talent Development Specialist 

    I worked at Amway full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Long established company values were stressed in decision making.

    Cons

    Bureaucratic and lack of clarity with decision-making.

    Amway2020-02-10
  10. "Good potential"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategist in Ada, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People are an asset to company.

    Cons

    Management Should be less hierarchical.

    Continue reading
    Amway2019-12-08
Found 472 reviews