Cover image for Anadarko Petroleum
Logo

Anadarko Petroleum

Is this your company?

Anadarko Petroleum

Add a Review

Anadarko Petroleum Reviews

Updated Dec 26, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 368 of over 460 reviews
4.2
83% Recommend to a Friend
62% Approve of CEO

Found 361 of over 460 reviews

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Anadarko Petroleum President & CEO R. A. Walker (no image)
R. A. Walker
193 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Legendary

    Dec 26, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best place to work. Great benefits

    Cons

    No downsides to working at Anadarko.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    great place to work

    Oct 4, 2021 - Software Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nice people and great team spirit

    Cons

    poor management and lack of vision

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Anadarko Petroleum team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to work

    Jun 17, 2021 - Geologist in Midland, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Peoples there are amazing. It is a family type atmosphere Benefits Training Culture Compensation IT department Software

    Cons

    CEO Work life balance Upward mobility Career advancement Locations

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    It was a good ride

    Jun 30, 2021 - Senior Engineering Technician in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salary and benefits like 401k match

    Cons

    Stressful deadlines, not enough support

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Excellent Place to Work

    Jun 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company valued their employees. Great life balance and benefits.

    Cons

    Constant changes and bureaucracy typical corporate world.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to work and make lasting relationships!

    Dec 23, 2020 - Oil Rig Operator in Greeley, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Quiet, private/secluded workplace away from prying eyes. I loved my job at Anadarko! The relationships I made there (and one in particular) changed my life forever, and truly set me on a completely different course than I ever anticipated. I loved that most of what I did there was outside, and it gave me an excuse to get out and get some fresh air, even in the middle of the night. They gave me a company vehicle to drive, and it really came in handy when I needed to haul personal items with or for my family. I pretty much had free reign of the property, and there was enough room on site to store personal items, as well. Even though some things came up in my personal life that led to my separation there, I don’t have anything but good memories of my time at Anadarko. I kind of regret the way I behaved my last day on the job, and I left some things behind that other people ended up having to clean up in my absence (literally and figuratively). It was kind of embarrassing, but it’s like no real big deal, I’m sure. For now, I’m staying busy and still working with some petroleum products. One day, I’m sure that that last day there will just be an old memory, and I can probably go back to Anadarko (now Oxy), if I ever move back to Colorado from my current residence in Wisconsin. I will be sure to bring my updated resume and hope for the best. I can’t wait to be back there, even though I hear that they removed my favorite oil batteries.

    Cons

    None, really, except that the narrow hatches on the oil batteries can make it a bit difficult to maneuver for some purposes.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Excellent

    Jan 11, 2021 - Operations Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture and benefits. They rewards hard work and value their employees.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Loved the company

    Dec 13, 2020 - Master Electrician/E&I Tech in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Just a great place to work. Very enjoyable

    Cons

    The company was bought out by occidental petroleum.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Best Company overall

    Apr 22, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company was amazing to work for. It was large but felt like a family. Please genuinely cared about others and their work. They had some of the best over all benefits in the industry.

    Cons

    The company was just plagued with lawsuits and downturns. I think the biggest turning point was forcing the Midland office relocation.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Former Employee

    poor

    Dec 11, 2020 - Team Leader in Jasper, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    was a good company at one time

    Cons

    let illegal things go on too long

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 361 Reviews
</>Embed

Anadarko Petroleum Reviews FAQs

Anadarko Petroleum has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 460 reviews left anonymously by employees. 83% of employees would recommend working at Anadarko Petroleum to a friend and 49% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Anadarko Petroleum employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Anadarko Petroleum. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

83% of Anadarko Petroleum employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Anadarko Petroleum 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Anadarko Petroleum to be career development, culture, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, management.

Work at Anadarko Petroleum? Share Your Experiences

Anadarko Petroleum logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Anadarko Petroleum Photos

+ Add Photo
Anadarko Petroleum photo of: Anadarko Corporate Headquarters
Anadarko Petroleum photo of: Field Operations - Delaware Basin
Anadarko Petroleum photo of: Habitat for Humanity
Anadarko Petroleum photo of: Operation Military Embrace
Anadarko Petroleum photo of: Engineering
Anadarko Petroleum photo of: Field Operations - Delaware Basin
Anadarko Petroleum photo of: Denver's Girls N Science Event
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Occidental Petroleum Corporation

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Anadarko Petroleum Job Seekers Also Viewed

Chevron Logo
Chevron

4.1

5,386 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 460 Anadarko Petroleum reviews submitted anonymously by Anadarko Petroleum employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Anadarko Petroleum is right for you.