KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Ancestry

Engaged Employer

Ancestry

Add a Review

Ancestry Reviews

Updated May 25, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 563 of over 641 reviews

3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Ancestry CEO Deborah Liu
Deborah Liu
54 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

385

57 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Ancestry and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company

    May 16, 2022 - Global Buyer in Lehi, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoyed my time working at Ancestry. Their company culture is awesome and everyone I worked with was happy to be there.

    Cons

    As soon as I was hired, my boss was terminated and it took several months to find new leadership. This made my onboarding a bit confusing and no one was sure what I should be working on.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    EO

    May 25, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Positive and kind people on my team

    Cons

    My leader was an extreme micromanager and I believe it was moreso that she was not set up for success either. Not a very industry leading Customer Experience department

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Limiting

    May 3, 2022 - Finance 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing content that can be accessed

    Cons

    The product is very limited if you are of non European descent.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    Apr 9, 2022 - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked on some very interesting problems with great people!

    Cons

    I don’t have a lot of cons, however the opportunity for career advancement is understandably limited or rather on a much slower pace than high growth companies

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to work

    Apr 11, 2022 - Training Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment, so much to do, good people.

    Cons

    Low pay, small teams and poor balance of assignments.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Overall good but many exceptions

    Apr 21, 2022 - Senior Product Manager in Lehi, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, real unlimited pto, company mission and customer appreciation

    Cons

    Very inconsistent manager skills. Some great, some not so much. Teams are “empowered” to the point where cooperation is hit or miss, hard to really get things done

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Company

    Apr 2, 2022 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Company to work for, good benefits.

    Cons

    Not really many cons to provide

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Look elsewhere

    Apr 11, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and interesting product

    Cons

    CEO, pay, benefits, soft business performance

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Fantastic company to work for

    Mar 26, 2022 - Certified Public Accountant (CPA) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment, love the product, great management and benefits

    Cons

    Collaboration between departments could be better

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Awesome Workplace

    Mar 22, 2022 - Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, flexibility, and work culture. Great team members that care and uplift each other

    Cons

    Can't think of any. I'll pass

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 563 Reviews

Ancestry Reviews FAQs

Ancestry has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 641 reviews left anonymously by employees. 63% of employees would recommend working at Ancestry to a friend and 66% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Ancestry employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Ancestry. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

63% of Ancestry employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Ancestry 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Ancestry to be compensation, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, career development, management.

Popular Careers with Ancestry Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Ancestry? Share Your Experiences

or

Ancestry Photos

+ Add Photo
Ancestry photo of: "Family rooms" offer different types of collaboration and co-work
Ancestry photo of: Lobby
Ancestry photo of: 2016 Tech Product Meetup
Ancestry photo of: Portraits throughout the building pair Ancestry employees with archival photographs of their relatives, found through the website.
Ancestry photo of: The many cultures represented by these patterns often transcend national boundaries to represent regional aesthetics and adds another layer to the discussion of diversity on display.
Ancestry photo of: Onsite gym and personal trainer
Ancestry photo of: Cardboard globes swirl up the well of the central stair connecting three floors, loosely suggesting the distributed linearity of a timeline, a family tree, or a double helix.
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

ProGenealogists, Inc.
See all affiliated companies