Ancestry Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Ancestry Chief Executive Officer Margo Georgiadis
Margo Georgiadis
82 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work-life balance has been great - every company should emulate Ancestry's approach to this(in 58 reviews)

  • "Ancestry has always been notable in that it tends to retain fantastic people at a much higher rate than other companies often do(in 46 reviews)

Cons
  • "Terrible work-life balance in particular my department at Ancestry(in 36 reviews)

  • "Upper management has no idea what they are doing(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Intern Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Ancestry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice working environment and great relocation policy.

    Cons

    Overall its a great opportunity.

    Ancestry2019-10-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "They putting an effort but it's an uphill battle"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ancestry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great work/life balance, unlimited time-off and wfh policies. - Very good benefits, salary ok. - Open communication and transparency.

    Cons

    - Culture was destroyed in the last few years. - Infrastructure had changed so many times, disrupts focus on quality products and innovation, and is cumbersome. - Productivity tools replaced for no real reason, and sadly for bad and impractical ones. - Add poor management and you have a combo and poor performance and productivity.

    Continue reading
    Ancestry2020-05-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome team but management sucks"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ancestry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team to work with and I really enjoy working enviroment

    Cons

    Bad management. Upper-level executives fail to recognize company situation and resulting mass layoff. They could have stopped it when they realized the number is not as good and stop hiring new people. Moreover, lay off was not based on performance and that was suck for some people who perform well and still got laid off

    Continue reading
    Ancestry2020-05-27
  4. "Like being with family"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editorial Researcher in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ancestry full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, camaraderie, pay, workplace, mission

    Cons

    communication, C-suite, company priorities, C-suite

    Continue reading
    Ancestry2020-04-16
  5. Helpful (5)

    "An okay company to work for, if you're okay with getting laid off without warning"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ancestry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good work-life balance in some departments - Great benefits - Many healthy snack options - Great view of the city from the windows - Discounted catered food, free on Mondays - You can "work from home" for weeks at a time if your manager is okay with it. - Each department is treated like a startup with all of the code internal. This is good exposure from a coder's perspective, though honestly I feel that it makes progress slow from the company's perspective. - Good compensation package when being laid off.

    Cons

    Terrible work-life balance in particular my department at Ancestry. There is a chance that you will be laid off at any moment without notice, even in departments that are "growing". A lot of my department was seriously overworked right before the layoffs. They were tempting us to stay until 10pm some days, by paying for our dinner. I know that myself and others who were laid off, were working 60+ hours per week (our UX that was laid off had been working 80hrs/week). I was even being teased about getting promoted to senior engineer, my manager literally told me that he tried to submit me for promotion 6 months before I was laid off (he was laid off too). Also, a lot of people in the Utah office have a "do it yourself" mentality, and there's generally much lack of support from other teams for that reason. So you end up spending a lot of time just building infrastructure when you're a developer (which, on the bright side, is good exposure). Also, the catered food there is usually pretty bad.

    Continue reading
    Ancestry2020-03-27
  6. "Great company/people, sometimes a bit slow to realize things"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ancestry full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is super invested and excited about the products and their impact. They are passionate about the work and it shows.

    Cons

    Management seems more bearish on things than bullish at times during my time there, and there are many opportunities to grow given we invest in the right people and ideas. At the moment, there is a growing market segment that needs to be addressed but has not been successfully targeted.

    Continue reading
    Ancestry2020-03-21
  7. "ghf"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT

    I have been working at Ancestry full-time

    Pros

    excellent work culture, friendly people

    Cons

    layoffs, no job security makes it bad

    Ancestry2020-03-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Run Away! Seriously!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ancestry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is really good if you have a family. If you play the politics game right, expect to move up the ladder very fast even if your skill is Junior level at best.

    Cons

    A lot of backstabbing going on in the engineering department. Some take credit for work they’ve never done and get promoted. A lot of incompetent engineering managers who are blind and political

    Continue reading
    Ancestry2020-04-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Lacks Accountability"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ancestry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you want a 9-5 where you can skate by with doing the bare minimum, this is a good place IF the company can keep the business growing.

    Cons

    Zero accountability, terrible collaboration, lots of turn-over, business is declining YoY consistently, constantly reorganizing to figure things out but fails every time.

    Continue reading
    Ancestry2020-03-27
  10. "Easy work, dull, fair pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Archival Digitization Specialist in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends

    I worked at Ancestry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job to do, scanning records and performing quality control

    Cons

    Repetitive, boring work, can be solitary depending on your assignment

    Ancestry2020-03-09
Found 408 reviews