Cover image for Ancestry
Logo

Ancestry

Engaged Employer

Ancestry

Add a Review

Ancestry Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Jun 22, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 698 of over 700 reviews
3.7
66% Recommend to a Friend
Ancestry CEO Deborah Liu
69% Approve of CEO

Found 70 of over 700 reviews

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Ancestry CEO Deborah Liu
Deborah Liu
84 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

560

77 Comments

Tech

630K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Ancestry~243532
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Ancestry? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Ancestry employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Ancestry and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great product. Leadership struggling.

    May 8, 2018 - Senior Product Manager in Lehi, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The product is amazing. It's fun, productive, and changes live. Great health benefits. Flexible time-off. Flexible schedules. Cafe and gym onsite.

    Cons

    Explosive growth has attracted a leadership team more focused on money than the customer. Top level leadership is out of touch with employees and customer needs. Too much focus on what's new leaving the existing product experience lacking. Constant organizational changes. No definitive culture.

    Continue reading
    29 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good work life balance but has some "cultural" quirks and a political environment

    Apr 21, 2011 - Product Team in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great life work balance. It's 9-5pm unless you really want to work longer. You can work from home when needed, take time off when needed, as long as you get your work done. The pay is good. The company is generous in giving you all the tools you need to do your job well. The San Francisco office just got free snacks and sodas and drinks. There are pockets of good people to work with.

    Cons

    The culture-not so good. It has more politics and hierarchy than Washington! And if you didn't already guess, Ancestry.com has a very conservative culture. The San Francisco office is changing a bit though, with more new people joining. The employees are on the older side, with most being married with kids. (So don't expect fun company events and parties.) The San Francisco office is considered a 'satellite' office to the headquarters in Provo, Utah. So most of your team mates are out in Provo. Which makes communication difficult. There's a lot of teleconferencing and traveling back and forth that goes on. The benefits are not so great either. For the San Francisco office the health insurance used is Select Health, which is super hard to find providers for in California. It's also a very rough onboarding experience if you join the San Francisco office. You will not get much help from HR, since they are in Provo, nor will anyone around try to help you out. Not because people are unfriendly, but because there are so many travelers in and out that its' hard to tell who is new and who is just visiting from another office. If you are one of the unlucky ones to be the only one on your team in the SF office while the rest is in Provo, you will have a really tough time integrating.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Ancestry team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Ancestry overall

    Nov 14, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Provo, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of great people are there. They have great benefits that help you feel well taken care of. They are also in a great location.

    Cons

    Very splintered development organization. A lack of standards really hurts the effectiveness of individuals, teams, and departments.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best Company to work for!

    Sep 25, 2018 - Software Developer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work-life balance More innovation in product Talented Team Great Employee Benefits

    Cons

    Hiring process should be little faster.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Treats employees very well...

    Oct 28, 2013 - Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    • Understand work-life balance Great benefits / bonus / 401-k match • Stablility • Allows time for exploring solutions, never rushed to make bad decisions

    Cons

    • Too many titles Assoc. Director / Director / Senior Directors, etc. • A little too many meetings, and project planning apps differ from team to team • Can get political • Career planning is not fully supported

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Been here over a decade and still loving it

    Feb 3, 2015 - Software Engineer in Provo, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ancestry.com develops products that actually mean something in peoples' lives. Benefits have always been great. Salaries have been at or above competitive rates as far as I have seen. Time off policy has always been generous. Most of my coworkers have been talented, smart, and nice to work with. The technologies we use are interesting and provide ample professional development experience. Great company mission. Great work/life balance is possible with flexible hours and occasional remote work possible. Building Ancestry's products is fun because they are challenging and interesting to build, and contribute something meaningful to the world--not just building widgets at yet another widget factory. It also helps that Ancestry has experienced healthy growth for as long as I've been here--through the recession and all. This is a thriving company with a solid business model. Current top management seems to make great decisions.

    Cons

    From an engineering perspective: Ancestry supports a large suite of products and changes are slow. We sometimes lag behind in implementing newer technologies because most development involves enhancing existing properties, not building brand new ones. This type of work involves overcoming some inertia, which makes change slower than at many smaller/startup companies.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Place

    Oct 12, 2017 - Android Developer in Lehi, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of knowledgable people and great benefits! I feel valuable. I feel like people respect me and use my knowledge to benefit them and likewise I can lean on other people to glean off of their knowledge. For the first time in a long while I actually feel like I get to learn more everyday and help others learn at the same time!

    Cons

    No complaints from me so far.

    Continue reading
    52 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Nepotism, Lies From Sr. Management, and Nothing Changes

    Jul 27, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits package and onsite perks. Most of the employees are delightful.

    Cons

    The company always says "Degree's aren't a requirement that we follow to closely. Sure they help, but we will always hire the person best for the job" FALSE! I'm walking proof this is not true. I've applied for several positions, some of the positions I've literally been helping do the job, and have been passed up. The reason? Only one I've ever been given is "because you dont have a degree" The company recently laid off employees in February. Told everyone their jobs were safe. Margo joins the company, helps reassure everyone that their jobs are safe. 2 months later, in late July, they announce they're outsourcing the Tech Support call center and lay off several people. People complained in the employee survey, and somehow management was shocked by this. They said "we're going to implement changes" and yet things continue to spiral down. As of writing this, the company is actively losing more people than they can hire. Not just any people either, people who have put 10-15+ years into this company. There is ZERO work/life balance. People here are unofficially expected to put in horrendous amount of hours, give up tons of personal time, and give priority in life to the company. I've literally watched people cancel anniversary dates because they couldn't get away from work.

    Continue reading
    19 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great value, great culture, great benefits

    Mar 17, 2021 - Data Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people at Ancestry strive to empower each other, which creates a fun and effective environment. You get help and don't need to feel ashamed to ask questions. The WLB is great too. As the company focuses on helping individuals and families, employees have the flexibility to care for their loved ones in time of need while being flexible with work. The benefits are great. Also, the company is very diverse, which allows for different perspectives and a lot of creativity.

    Cons

    Not many downsides at all.

    2 people found this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good Benefits and Company Culture

    Jan 7, 2015 -  in Provo, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really enjoy the managers I report to. They are kind, flexible, and make you feel valuable. Ancestry also has great benefits- cash incentives to encourage healthy habits, free food, and good health and dental benefits.

    Cons

    Some departments encourage interaction with coworkers while other departments discourage it. A bit more consistency across the board would be helpful.

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 70 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Ancestry Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Ancestry? Share Your Experiences

Ancestry logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Ancestry Photos

+ Add Photo
Ancestry photo of: "Family rooms" offer different types of collaboration and co-work
Ancestry photo of: Lobby
Ancestry photo of: 2016 Tech Product Meetup
Ancestry photo of: Portraits throughout the building pair Ancestry employees with archival photographs of their relatives, found through the website.
Ancestry photo of: The many cultures represented by these patterns often transcend national boundaries to represent regional aesthetics and adds another layer to the discussion of diversity on display.
Ancestry photo of: Onsite gym and personal trainer
Ancestry photo of: Cardboard globes swirl up the well of the central stair connecting three floors, loosely suggesting the distributed linearity of a timeline, a family tree, or a double helix.
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

ProGenealogists, Inc.

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Ancestry Job Seekers Also Viewed

Domo Logo
Domo

4.4

554 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 700 Ancestry reviews submitted anonymously by Ancestry employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Ancestry is right for you.