Cover image for Ancestry
Logo

Ancestry

Engaged Employer

Ancestry

Add a Review

Ancestry Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Apr 3, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 698 of over 700 reviews
3.7
66% Recommend to a Friend
Ancestry CEO Deborah Liu
69% Approve of CEO

Found 30 of over 700 reviews

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Ancestry CEO Deborah Liu
Deborah Liu
84 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

560

77 Comments

Tech

626.2K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Ancestry~243532
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Ancestry? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Ancestry employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Ancestry and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good company in theory

    Feb 7, 2016 - Document Imaging Specialist in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great coworkers and camaraderie. That was about the only thing good about working there was how diverse and friendly everyone was.

    Cons

    upper management, wages, working conditions. Upper management was clueless about the way things were run in our office. They were EXTREMELY strict on all fronts. On top of that, the pay (when specified on the job announcement) was $12-$14 but when you are hired EVERYONE starts at $12 no matter what. In the 2 years I worked there I only gained .50 cent raise. That was TWO RAISES. And everyone got the same. There is no room to express your assets to the company to say why you deserve more. There is also VERY little room for growth. Management definitely plays favorites and there are few opportunities to rise through the ranks.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Love the product but no the people with power

    Apr 22, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Decent benefit (unlimited pto) - Company paid 50% of food cost - You'll never get fired. manager will hint, you should look around other teams. - Nice new building - Decent holiday parties

    Cons

    - Too many people in the upper management who goes up the ladder for the wrong reason. It's all about the money and power. Not because they care for what they do. - There are guys at ancestry who will literally point fingers for no reason. And a lady who yells all the time over the phone and snaps at people but unfortunately as in the pros, they wont fire anyone! Can we be more professional at work? - Cafeteria food could be better and not so good variety - Too many different managers who give all the raises and bonuses to their favorites. - Never have lunch with CEO. All the does is look up at the clock every 5 mins while he is talking. - CTO loves to change up the org and re arrange your team. Apparently doesnt care too much for team dynamics.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Ancestry team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Old Ancestry is gone. New Ancestry is terrible

    Oct 19, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people on my team and other teams are great!

    Cons

    Two words 'Corporate Greed'. Upper management only looks out for #1. They take all the glory and none of the blame. The real people that deserve props are the Architects, Devs and Ops teams that are actually making these big projects happen. All Upper management talks about are how their Executive retreats went while they were being wined and dined. Meanwhile back at Corporate some of us are working 80 hour weeks with ZERO additional compensation. They work you to the bone and expect you to be grateful that they are paying our salaries. In the last few years the culture has done a 180.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    A Great Place to Work

    Jun 3, 2017 - Senior Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ancestry offers competitive salaries and generous bonuses, and they are very family-friendly and flexible. Ancestry is in a period of growth and improvement, so there are lots of opportunities to acquire new skills and exposure to new technologies. Upper management is very concerned with staying ahead of the curve in efficiency and technology. We're in the middle of an exciting 'tech transition,' moving from .NET and proprietary technologies to open-source ones like Node.js, Python, and others.

    Cons

    Because Ancestry is in something of a transitional period, things can get a bit bumpy. That is, while there are many new projects and initiatives, often times the infrastructure or other support for them is not yet there for you, or it's in the process of being developed while you are working on your end. This can get a little frustrating, though I suppose it's par for the course in a transitional period. Also because of of this transitional period, teams can get laden with what seems like a rapid or near-simultaneous succession of high-priority objectives, which can sometimes make it challenging for teams to be productive (or to feel like they're being productive). The IT department is rather under-developed and could use some help in their processes.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Content

    Jan 18, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits Love the people that work with

    Cons

    Upper Management doesn't understand day to day No Career Ladder or career exploration on the job

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Intern

    Great company to work at

    Sep 29, 2020 - IOS Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent managers, team members, and collaboration.

    Cons

    Didn't feel a lot of support for engineers from the upper management and executives.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Positive experience as a student working part time.

    Mar 18, 2014 - Data Quality Review in Provo, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoy the culture and the team I work with.

    Cons

    Limited contact with upper management. My particular position is a bit boring and tedious.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Unstable Upper Manangement

    Feb 14, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They use some good tech

    Cons

    Upper management has no idea what they are doing.Culture is messed up.There is minimum co-ordination between teams.

    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great to work

    Jan 7, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, great office building and gym at the campus.

    Cons

    Great to work for but hard to trust the upper management

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Such a sad decline

    Apr 23, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The product is so fun to work on. It is impactful and meaningful. People really care about what you work on.

    Cons

    The upper management shift has caused me to leave the company along with many others. They manage by fear, flaunting their resume, and ego rather than by any honorable characteristic. My first 2 years at Ancestry I would have recommended it to anyone. I cannot say the same now. I am much happier and feel much more valued at my new company.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Ancestry Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Ancestry? Share Your Experiences

Ancestry logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Ancestry Photos

+ Add Photo
Ancestry photo of: "Family rooms" offer different types of collaboration and co-work
Ancestry photo of: Lobby
Ancestry photo of: 2016 Tech Product Meetup
Ancestry photo of: Portraits throughout the building pair Ancestry employees with archival photographs of their relatives, found through the website.
Ancestry photo of: The many cultures represented by these patterns often transcend national boundaries to represent regional aesthetics and adds another layer to the discussion of diversity on display.
Ancestry photo of: Onsite gym and personal trainer
Ancestry photo of: Cardboard globes swirl up the well of the central stair connecting three floors, loosely suggesting the distributed linearity of a timeline, a family tree, or a double helix.
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

ProGenealogists, Inc.

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Ancestry Job Seekers Also Viewed

Domo Logo
Domo

4.4

554 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 700 Ancestry reviews submitted anonymously by Ancestry employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Ancestry is right for you.