Andiamo Partners Reviews | Glassdoor

Andiamo Partners Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Andiamo Partners CEO Patrick McAdams (no image)
Patrick McAdams
37 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "Excellent Experience and Life-long Friendships"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Austin Gardens Colonia, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Andiamo Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked for Andiamo in Austin for 2 years. I joined right after college and was immediately given responsibility, autonomy, and the latitude to make my day my own. The ramp up to learning how to converse with software engineers can be tough, but Andiamo's Management is with you every step of the way. I was able to ask questions when I had them, but also was encouraged to figure out my own way to solve problems. I... worked hard and was rewarded with the opportunity to manage my own accounts, lead a team, and earn large bonuses. If you like proving yourself and have a team mentality, then you will fit right in.

    Show More

    Cons

    Be ready to work hard and keep yourself accountable. Andiamo truly lets you forge your own path. For those that need more external accountability or don't thrive in a commission-based environment, then this is not for you. But if you want to work hard and get rewarded for it both in career growth and in compensation, then Andiamo will be a great fit.

    Advice to Management

    I am so grateful for the experience and friendships I made while at Andiamo. I appreciate Management being approachable and caring. Keep rewarding the ones who hard work and have positive attitudes. Those two qualities are what make Andiamo an amazing place to work.

    Andiamo Partners2019-03-02

    Andiamo Partners Response

    July 24, 2019President

    Thank you for the feedback. We're so happy to hear you're having a great time at Andiamo!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Andiamo Champions for Employees Success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Andiamo Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I came to Andiamo straight out of college. I was intimidated having never actively experienced recruiting. With my having little to no experience, Andiamo took me right under their wing to help me to learn the path to success. The support that I was given was incredible. I’ll admit, recruiting is an area that I now know I struggle with, but through my one + year with Andiamo, they continuously encouraged, and... helped me, along the way. It was obvious to me that Andiamo genuinely cares about their employees. Not only did they support me in every way, but the office is a blast to work at. They work really hard trying to make the environment appealing, and one that is a place we all feel at home. Unfortunately, we did have to part ways because try as I might, and support as they did, recruiting is not for me. The accountability of my not being as successful a recruiter as I wanted to be lies entirely on me, because as I’ve stated, Andiamo went absolutely above and beyond trying to help me in every way they could. In an established position, such as mine, I never would have expected such patience and encouragement from an employer. Even when I did an internship at another company my last year in college (not in recruiting) the support was minimal at best.

    Show More

    Cons

    I wish there had been another position I could have qualified for so I could have continued with the company.

    Andiamo Partners2019-08-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Pretty Good Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Andiamo Partners full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great training & leadership, amazing company culture, great work life balance, & opportunity to move up in your career both financially and proffessionaly.

    Cons

    None. Andiamo is one of the best places I've worked

    Andiamo Partners2019-06-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Supportive, Positive Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Andiamo Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is a lot of opportunity for growth here. Leadership enthusiastically supports those who work hard and want to do new things.

    Cons

    No formal feedback system in place

    Advice to Management

    Culture is everything. Keep doing great things.

    Andiamo Partners2019-05-31
  5. Helpful (3)

    "2 years in and I'm still loving it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Recruiter (Diversity & Inclusion) in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Andiamo Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best part of this job is that I love the work that I do. They give you all of the tools you need to be successful and, more importantly, the autonomy to be creative and get it done. The company culture is great. Very inclusive and supportive. I have seen colleagues go through difficult personal challenges and the management has always been there to help them. Overall, this is a fun and challenging place to work.

    Cons

    Truly a great place to come to work every day. I can't complain.

    Advice to Management

    I give advice to management regularly and they are always open to new ideas. Keep it up.

    Andiamo Partners2019-05-17
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Andiamo Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoy all of the people I work with and the job I do every day. It's challenging but the expectations are clear and I get a lot of support.

    Cons

    Not a single one. I love it here!

    Andiamo Partners2019-05-04
  7. Helpful (4)

    "More ups than downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Recruiter/Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Andiamo Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best reason to work for Andiamo is the people you get to work with and the support you get. There is a positive vibe in the office. We make jokes and have fun while working hard. They aren't micromanagers and we get to do our job the way we want but there is always someone to help you out if you need it. You have to work hard but the days go by fast. If you're competitive but are a nice person you'll like it... here a lot.

    Show More

    Cons

    None yet that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up and I'll be a here a while!

    Andiamo Partners2019-03-28
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Not what it seems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Andiamo Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, generous vacation leave and work from home policy, and some fun events. Some genuine and smart people in management level positions.

    Cons

    College grads: run away. This is not a recruiting job, this is fundamentally a sales and commission job. Be suspicious of the low base salary. The nature of the job was entirely misrepresented to me and the hiring class I joined with (90% of whom left within two years) and I believe the interview and offer process was purposefully deceptive. They lie about the turnover rate--this place is churn and burn. They prey... on students from top universities and promise compensation on par with consulting/finance jobs in your first year, which sounds appealing until you understand how unattainable it is within the structure. Almost nobody I entered with reached those numbers and management withheld the “guaranteed pay” until they were outright asked why they were lying and refusing to pay employees as outlined in the offer letters. It only takes about six months to realize how mind numbing the work is and how unfairly the job and the entire company is presented. I literally felt like my brain cells were rotting because the job is so monotonous and devoid of any real substance. All management cares about is money—they play favorites with people who are top earners yet have downright abusive personalities—but they lie about compensation and refuse to pay guaranteed bonuses. They also fire people without any prior warning, citing no specifics other than “this isn’t working out.” Any constructive criticism is brushed off with a “there’s a lot going on that you don’t understand right now.” Smart people are not rewarded here. People who like sales and who are naturally inclined towards a sales job can do quite well, but for most people the job and the culture are simply not worth it. Promotions have nothing to do with hard work, professionalism, or integrity. All of this works in favor of the people at the top, some of whom are genuine, but there is nothing that would make me go back and choose this job again—my biggest regret since graduating college. While I learned a lot about the working world and my own professional interests and goals, this was unfortunately a waste of time and did nothing to build an impressive or reputable resume.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be upfront about the nature of the job. Many people are great recruiters and great salespeople, but it's a waste of your time to try to cover up the true nature of the job. Just come right out and say it; some people love sales and will thrive here. The others will be completely miserable. It's not in the company's best interest to hire anyone other than true sales recruiters. Forget about padding your website with... degrees from impressive colleges--those are the people who end up frustrated and bored.

    Show More
    Andiamo Partners2018-12-19

    Andiamo Partners Response

    June 18, 2019Senior Human Resources Associate

    Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write out such a detailed review of your experience. I’m sorry to hear that you feel the nature of the job was misrepresented to you. We never start entry-level employees in sales roles and are transparent about the fact that one upside about recruiting (though it’s certainly not for everyone) is that a large portion of your income can come from commissions. We do understand that this can feel risky to new employees, across experience levels – and do our best to convey that success in this job really is centered around what you put in to it. Recruiting is certainly not the position or industry that is a match made in heaven for every person out there. We always encourage employees to find ways to be creative, to help get themselves excited about the process, or to mix up their days to stay engaged. There has never once been a time where an employee has been fired without prior warning, except in cases of gross misconduct, which are clearly outlined and explained at the time. Luckily, we’re proud of the team we’ve built, and those instances are few and far between! Unfortunately, with as much transparency as we try to provide, we cannot loop every employee in on every step or decision along the way. We apologize if that has ever come off as brushing away your suggestions, or not being open to criticism. We know that there are always steps we can take to improve. One thing we are very transparent about, however, is how promotions are earned. The expectations for each person in a contingent recruiting position to be promoted are the same, which decreases any instance in which someone may “play favorites.” The members of our team work very hard to be promoted, and earn these promotions based on the objective quality of their work. We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t have a better experience while you were employed with Andiamo. Regardless, we thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you can understand that your experience isn’t one that resonates with the majority of our employees.

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (7)

    "A great experience and a great foundation for a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Andiamo Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at Andiamo for almost 3 years. In that time, I experienced tremendous growth, both personally and professionally. I was given all the tools that any good recruiter could want and the only limitations that was placed on me were self-imposed. I made great friends and embarked upon an extremely rewarding career. I feel extremely grateful for the opportunity and would counsel any recent grad to jump at the... opportunity to work at Andiamo, if they are fortunate enough to receive an offer. I am extremely familiar with the industry as a whole and I can confidently say that Andiamo is a shining example of what the industry should aspire to be. The world of contingent recruiting is full of unprofessionalism, mediocrity, abrasiveness, and exploitation - you will find none of that at Andiamo. You will find a company of smart recruiters, all of which care deeply about being successful, who themselves are led by a team of ethically-driven and extremely competent subject matter experts. I can’t say enough good things about this organization. I had offers from a number of search firms, and have not regretted my decision to work at Andiamo for a second. I only left because I was offered a very generous opportunity with a company that I knew very well - I could easily have stayed for 6-10 years and been happy.

    Show More

    Cons

    Once a person starts to manage accounts, it can be difficult for the accounts to get the attention they need in the presence of the larger, more established and profitable accounts in place. It is difficult to be the sole recruiter on an account for a long time.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on managing the expectations of your employees - often times the decision on how things will be handled in the future is intentionally kicked down the road. This inevitably leads to conflicting expectations between all parties involved. Try to emphasize that decisions are made based on merit - this will help you avoid the perception that management plays favorites, which is a terribly destructive... mentality that erodes motivation.

    Show More
    Andiamo Partners2018-07-25
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Exceeded my Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Executive Recruiter in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Andiamo Partners for more than a year

    Pros

    When I was searching for my first job out of college, I had a few hard criteria: I wanted to work with co-workers that pushed me intellectually, yet celebrated each other’s success. I wanted to work for management that cared about my professional development. I wanted a job where I could learn from my superiors, yet I didn’t want to just be a cog in a machine. I wanted to make an impact. I can whole-heartedly say... that Andiamo exceeded every single one of my expectations. Towards the end of my senior year of college, I accepted an opportunity to be one of the very first employees in the Austin-based Andiamo office. Being on the ground floor, I was fortunate enough to be a member of an office that fostered a fast-paced, collaborative, and competitive culture. I was surrounded by intelligent, supportive, and hardworking co-workers who challenged me and lifted me up in my day to day job. My boss, Daniel McAdams, the President of Andiamo, was a true mentor who worked with us weekly to develop our recruiting strategy and to sharpen our skills as new recruiters. Though I entered this industry with little to no knowledge of technology or recruiting, I never once felt lost or behind. I credit this to Daniel and the management team for their top-notch training and constant support. Additionally, even as a first-year employee, I always felt like my voice was heard and that I could provide ideas without criticism from my superiors. I think it’s rare in any industry that a first-year employee feels comfortable enough to call up both a CEO and the President of a company. My two years at Andiamo has taught me some valuable life lessons that will forever shape me professionally. The most important being how to fail gracefully. The recruiting industry can be tough. People can be unpredictable and all your hard work can be undone with a candidate’s decision. There were moments in my job that that tested both my grit and patience. In these moments, I truly understood the beauty of failure and that success required it. I learned that either you can let failure cripple you, or you can let it fuel you. Additionally, I learned essential communication skills, whether it be on the phone, writing an e-mail, or in-person with a client. Looking back, I can thank Andiamo for helping me become the confident and resilient young professional that I am today. The decision to leave Andiamo was one of the most difficult decisions I’ve ever had to make. My co-workers had become some of my closest friends, Daniel had become one of my most influential mentors, Austin had become one of my favorite cities, and Andiamo had become a company that I truly felt connected to. Due to life events, I ultimately knew that moving back to my home-city of San Antonio was the best decision for me. I was treated with nothing but respect during my last few days in the company. Again, I can whole-heartedly say that on my last days, Andiamo still managed to exceed my expectations.

    Show More

    Cons

    As mentioned, the recruiting industry is not easy. It can wear you down if you do not remain positive. This being said, Andiamo did an excellent job of creating a supportive environment for these moments that test your mettle.

    Advice to Management

    The culture and work environment at Andiamo sets it apart from competitors within the industry. There was never a day that I woke up and truly dreaded going to work. As Andiamo continues to grow, try to maintain the positive, tight-knit, and supportive culture that you have fostered. Also, Andiamo does an excellent job of hiring smart and ambitious employees. Keep thinking of fun and innovative ways to motivate... employees and keep them engaged. As a side note, thank you to everyone at Andiamo for a wonderful two years. I will continue to recommend Andiamo to anyone interested in the recruiting industry!!

    Show More
    Andiamo Partners2018-06-09
Found 47 reviews