KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Angi

Angi

Add a Review

Angi Employee Reviews about "service providers"

Updated Feb 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 3,280 reviews

3.1
45%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Angi CEO Oisin Hanrahan
Oisin Hanrahan
801 Ratings
Pros
  • "Younger work environment, challenging(in 49 reviews)

  • "Casual atmosphere and dress code(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management listens to rumors and has favorites(in 26 reviews)

  • "They con service providers out of their money(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    685

    227 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Angi and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "service providers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Get the Best Contractors with a click of a button!

      May 19, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      User friendly website and easy to find exactly what you are looking for (plumbers, carpenters, roofers, doctors, etc).

      Cons

      Fairly regular website issues on both for consumers (angieslist.com and for service providers business.angieslist.com).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Client Success Manager

      Feb 12, 2020 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule with amazing team members.

      Cons

      There are so many cons that I am certain I will miss a few. First, after witnessing a company continuously steal and lie to its customers we are finally feeling the that same pain as employees. We are given a two week heads up about having our pay cut by $15,000 and basically told that we have to deal with it. Our job duties have been lowered to collection reps and fighting off customer cancellations. We are not paid on our skills or hard work or ethic we are paid on talking people off of the ledge of cancelling. The product itself is so broken that we have nothing to give our service providers to help them achieve a goal or any type of ROI on the investment that they make with us. The company has NO care for its customers or its employees. If this seems like an attractive spot for you, then please apply. My advice would be run as far from this place as possible. There are actual good, reputable companies that are hiring now. Noone should have to lower themselves to this level.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great work environment with lots of room for growth (as long as you like change!)

      Jul 17, 2013 - Manager in Noblesville, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Recognizing strengths and promoting accordingly -Listening to everyone and making changes based on new ideas -Rewarding hard work--Stephan's Club, Stan's Club, Derby Day, 70 Degree Day, other things that other companies just don't offer -Relaxed and open environment

      Cons

      -Ad Sales/AMs very competitive, which leads to unhappy service providers -No one knows who is in charge of anything--it sometimes takes a full day or more just to find the correct person to ask a question/make a decision/gather information/etc -Constant change is good but some departments are often forgotten, changes aren't communicated well

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      It was a fun ride while it lasted...

      Dec 3, 2015 - Advertising Sales in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At the core, Angie's List has a huge heart. They give a lot more to the community than what is perceived in the media. Employees have opportunities to participate in philanthropy, professional networking, and healthy living. If you want to learn how to sell, the training is terrific.

      Cons

      What was once a creative, entrepreneurial working environment, the sales department slowly diminished into a toxic, cliquish office space. Promoting to management was the least bit appealing. I recall a sales director once answering a question with "I don't know, I failed in business school". This kind leadership is not one to look up to. After three pleasant years, a six-figure income, and many sales contracts later, the company restructured the much needed department. Unfortunately, the skills that Angie's List once taught me, did not justify a 40k salary to make 80 phone calls/day to service providers who notoriously dislike Angie's List.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Leadership

      Jun 1, 2017 - Leadership in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Look through the Pro's of the other review submissions and what do you primarily see? PTO? Dress code? That's about it.

      Cons

      Internally chaotic. Too many cooks in the kitchen, and endless kitchens. Changes, mostly obscure, happen on a day-to-day basis, and major mistakes are carelessly made, effecting hundreds of thousands of members and service providers. The internal processing doesn't work, hasn't worked, yet employees are expected to perform like robots. The product is junk. The majority of position progression, for those who are actually still there, occurred not because of experience or ability, but by who knew them. Training does not happen. Development does not happen.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Idea, Poor Execution

      Jan 10, 2014 - Sales in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can wear whatever you want There is an exercise facility with excellent trainer on site Quarterly and Annual Sales Clubs (if you qualify) are great They give back to the community - help local IPS school and other charities

      Cons

      Change - you switch your desk location every three months, your manager can change as frequently too. Territory changes monthly, commission structure and pay changes frequently. There is no rhyme or reason to the write up policy - some months they choose to not write anyone up who didn't meet goal but if you did meet goal they don't even say thank you. Other months they falsify numbers so that more people hit goal. They say service providers don't have to pay to be on the list - well now they have to pay $25/year for a background check. Management is horrible. Training is horrible.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Client Success

      Jul 8, 2017 - Client Success in Olympia, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, pay, relaxed atmosphere, coworkers, working with service providers, dress code, and the opportunity to help service providers grow their businesses

      Cons

      Constant change, and uncertainty, can be unsettling at times, but I believe their heart is in the right place. They are in survival mode. The benefits are average. High deductible and their "free clinics" are challenging to get in to. I agree with the comment that we are either "hitting the brakes" or "accelerating quickly". Good, strong leadership with a clear vision, and transparency, is needed. 50% of the managers should not be managers. We still have some work to do, or Home Advisor will be doing it for us. My service providers are somewhat optimistic about the merger with Home Advisor, but they believe that Angie's List has better customer service, and they like having an assigned Client Success Manager. (that has changed recently on certain levels) . They do not like the "wait times" constant badgering , or Home Advisor's customer service. They DO like the product and the leads they receive. It should be an interesting marriage, and executed properly, Angie Home Services will be a strong contender in the Home Services Industry.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      In one word: Unprofessional.

      May 17, 2013 - Sales Coordinator in Hillsboro, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Having a laid back atmosphere, a gym on site, being able to wear pajamas to work, and everything else that sounds like college would be a pro if anything about "working" for the company was great.

      Cons

      I had three positions within the company (mainly took another job to get away from my awful manager) and worked for an even worse manager. I didn't think that was possible. It is all politics and all a big party at Angie's List. The service providers are not valued, the members are not valued, and the employees are definitely not valued. My family and friends were absolutely horrified at the stories I would tell. I never saw anyone in upper management actually manage. Sales is lucrative but the stress is no way to live. The stress doesn't come from the actual sale..it comes from having no leadership and the leadership you do have, will turn on you when it suits them. Any other position outside of sales is low paying and very boring work.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fun Company. Failing Product

      Jan 6, 2016 - Advertising Account Manager in Renton, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Angie's List has a very laid back environment and offers many perks to the employees. They have a lot of events and parties for the staff.

      Cons

      The company is behind the curve compared to the competition. Your success is based on the market and companies that are put in your portfolio. They have minimal to no tracking for the Service Providers compared to competition so discussions about return on investment are usually based around telling Service Providers they need to track their leads better or asking them how they know they didn't get a return on their advertising. The are constantly changing the direction of the company.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Account Manager

      Jan 10, 2016 - Advertising Account Manager in Anchorage, AK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced atmosphere. Ability to learn and develop skills from experienced professionals. Salesforce was easy to use for their CRM program.

      Cons

      Pay structure changes consistently for sales. Managment is unprofessional and promote based on friendship, not quality of the employee. The sales department is a calling center for telemarketers. There is no sales skills involved due to overwhelming potential service providers with calls. I made $90k selling cars before I started working here and was the top salesmen at my dealership. I came to Angies List and have come to the conclusion it was the worst job I've ever had.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Angi Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Angi? Share Your Experiences

    or