KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Anglo American

Is this your company?

Anglo American

Add a Review

Anglo American Reviews

Updated Jul 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 285 of over 794 reviews

4.4
91%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Anglo American Chief Executive Mark Cutifani
Mark Cutifani
128 Ratings
Pros
  • "work-life balance, good company brand, learning and development opportunities(in 11 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and incentives for the employees(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Hard work and long hours international projects in multiple time zones(in 10 reviews)

  • "Work life balance could be improved(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company

      Mar 30, 2021 - Business Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits Benefits benefits benefits benefits

      Cons

      Some inexperienced managers managers managers

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Talent Acquisition Operations

      Thank you for your honest review. We value your feedback and continually strive for excellence. We pride ourselves with offering our employees very competitive benefits and support and will continue to improve our benefits and offerings going forward.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Game of Thrones Meets Hunger Games

      Jun 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great compensation and truly wonderful people at the operational levels.

      Cons

      Executive leadership at the Group level ruthlessly compete with one another, rather than working as a team. This, sadly, drags all of the wonderful people in the company down with them in their individual quests for utter and complete domination over one another. Diversity and inclusion, while important for the sake of inflating numbers for investor relations purposes, is not truly valued. There are clearly cultures and classes of people that are “haves” and others who are “have nots” and the top of the organization is still incredibly paternalistic and has an old, stodgy “Commonwealth” feel to it. Any sincere attempt to actually disturb this equilibrium will face dire consequences.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Thank you for your honest feedback, which helps us in our ongoing work to evolve our business. We are constantly working on improving our processes as well as our leadership styles to ensure our employees have the best guidance to perform at the best of their abilities.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Best mining industry

      Jun 25, 2021 - Electrician in Little Africa, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Worker first and zero tolerance to work environmental protection.

      Cons

      Take your co worker as your family

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Thank you for your honest feedback. We value your feedback and continually strive for excellence. We are constantly improving our processes as well as our leadership styles

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Difficult Environment

      Feb 11, 2021 - General Management 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall compensation and benefits package and options

      Cons

      A bit like Game of Thrones

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Talent Acquisition Operations

      Thank you for your honest review. We value your feedback and continually strive for excellence. We pride ourselves with offering our employees very competitive benefits and support and will continue to improve our benefits and offerings going forward.

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Solid company

      Oct 9, 2020 - Systems Administrator in Denmark, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good emplyee environment, neice colleagues

      Cons

      Busy job! But with good colleagues it works

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Sourcing Analyst

      Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. We always strive for excellence and will continuously work on improving our culture and living our company values.

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Chief Surveyor

      Sep 26, 2017 - Chief Surveyor in Little Africa, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company to work for, experience in many countries, dedicated to improve employee satisfaction, promotions made on merit, management training

      Cons

      Limited to countries with mineral resources, mostly technical experience required, large corporate with few promotion opportunities, restricted to mining and resources industry

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Admin

      Oct 23, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company really focuses on business integrity and safety.

      Cons

      The upper level management has a very elitist attitude and barely acknowledges staff beneath them. It does nothing to boost morale.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Sourcing Analyst

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your honest feedback, which helps us in our ongoing work to evolve our business. We are constantly working on improving our processes as well as our leadership styles to ensure our employees have the best guidance to perform at the best of their abilities. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Jul 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is well run with the CEO and GMC having a clear strategy and direction

      Cons

      Whilst the overall group has a clear direction some of the functional leadership are more concerned with their own ambition rather than the company's

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Thank you for your honest feedback. We value your feedback and continually strive for excellence. We are constantly working on improving our processes as well as our leadership styles to ensure our employees have the best guidance to perform at the best of their abilities.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Excellent, purpose-driven company to work for with great benefits

      Jun 20, 2021 - Group Head in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leadership team strongly bought into the company’s purpose (Re-imagining mining to improve people’s lives), genuinely great bunch of very diverse professionals, good benefits and lots of leeway to look at things differently.

      Cons

      The company’s growth and global footprint mean working hours can be long (although they are pretty flexible about working arrangements, particularly for those with caring responsibilities).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Thank you for your honest feedback. We value your feedback and continually strive for excellence. We have incredibly innovative and inspiring leaders in our organisation whom we are very proud of.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Anglo Platinum

      Jul 11, 2021 - ElectroMechanical Engineer in Rustenburg, North-West, North-West
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee benefits Great salary Excellent experience

      Cons

      poor working area Remote locations remote Locations in the north west

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 285 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Anglo American Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Anglo American? Share Your Experiences

    Anglo American logo
    or