KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Anglo American

Engaged Employer

Anglo American

Add a Review

Anglo American Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 402 of over 1,178 reviews

4.5
93%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Anglo American CEO Duncan Wanblad
Duncan Wanblad
55 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company

    Mar 30, 2021 - Business Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits Benefits benefits benefits benefits

    Cons

    Some inexperienced managers managers managers

    3 people found this review helpful

    Anglo American Response

    Talent Acquisition Operations

    Thank you for your honest review. We value your feedback and continually strive for excellence. We pride ourselves with offering our employees very competitive benefits and support and will continue to improve our benefits and offerings going forward.

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good company trying to do tech without proper leadership

    Jul 1, 2022 - Chief Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is a well established company that cares about its employees and community. They have lots of money and pay well.

    Cons

    The are historically a mine operator, not a product developer. They have a long way to go to refine their product development approach.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Anglo American Response

    Employer Branding Specialist

    Thank you for your positive feedback. We are proud to say that we always strive to uplift our communities in all possible ways and have some amazing initiatives we undertake together to ensure long term sustainable relationships.

  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Game of Thrones Meets Hunger Games

    Jun 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great compensation and truly wonderful people at the operational levels.

    Cons

    Executive leadership at the Group level ruthlessly compete with one another, rather than working as a team. This, sadly, drags all of the wonderful people in the company down with them in their individual quests for utter and complete domination over one another. Diversity and inclusion, while important for the sake of inflating numbers for investor relations purposes, is not truly valued. There are clearly cultures and classes of people that are “haves” and others who are “have nots” and the top of the organization is still incredibly paternalistic and has an old, stodgy “Commonwealth” feel to it. Any sincere attempt to actually disturb this equilibrium will face dire consequences.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Anglo American Response

    Thank you for your honest feedback, which helps us in our ongoing work to evolve our business. We are constantly working on improving our processes as well as our leadership styles to ensure our employees have the best guidance to perform at the best of their abilities.

  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Best mining industry

    Jun 25, 2021 - Electrician in Little Africa, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Worker first and zero tolerance to work environmental protection.

    Cons

    Take your co worker as your family

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Anglo American Response

    Thank you for your honest feedback. We value your feedback and continually strive for excellence. We are constantly improving our processes as well as our leadership styles

  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Difficult Environment

    Feb 11, 2021 - General Management 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall compensation and benefits package and options

    Cons

    A bit like Game of Thrones

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Anglo American Response

    Talent Acquisition Operations

    Thank you for your honest review. We value your feedback and continually strive for excellence. We pride ourselves with offering our employees very competitive benefits and support and will continue to improve our benefits and offerings going forward.

  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Solid company

    Oct 9, 2020 - Systems Administrator in Denmark, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good emplyee environment, neice colleagues

    Cons

    Busy job! But with good colleagues it works

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Anglo American Response

    Sourcing Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. We always strive for excellence and will continuously work on improving our culture and living our company values.

  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Chief Surveyor

    Sep 26, 2017 - Chief Surveyor in Little Africa, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company to work for, experience in many countries, dedicated to improve employee satisfaction, promotions made on merit, management training

    Cons

    Limited to countries with mineral resources, mostly technical experience required, large corporate with few promotion opportunities, restricted to mining and resources industry

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Admin

    Oct 23, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company really focuses on business integrity and safety.

    Cons

    The upper level management has a very elitist attitude and barely acknowledges staff beneath them. It does nothing to boost morale.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Anglo American Response

    Sourcing Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your honest feedback, which helps us in our ongoing work to evolve our business. We are constantly working on improving our processes as well as our leadership styles to ensure our employees have the best guidance to perform at the best of their abilities. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Very good experience

    Sep 21, 2022 - Mining Engineer in Santiago
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good academy in order to learn about mining

    Cons

    Just one big operation in Chile (LB)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0