Cover image for Anglo American
Logo

Anglo American

Engaged Employer

Anglo American

Add a Review

Anglo American Employee Reviews about "people"

Updated Nov 19, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 957 of over 1K reviews
4.5
92% Recommend to a Friend
Anglo American CEO Duncan Wanblad
98% Approve of CEO

Found 67 of over 1K reviews

4.5
92%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Anglo American CEO Duncan Wanblad
Duncan Wanblad
75 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good benefits and shares package(in 38 reviews)
  • "Good salaries and they really care about professional development.(in 32 reviews)
  • "Great people to work with(in 27 reviews)
  • "Good culture, with accompanying benefits(in 21 reviews)
  • "Good opportunities to direct your own Career(in 14 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company

    Mar 30, 2021 - Business Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits Benefits benefits benefits benefits

    Cons

    Some inexperienced managers managers managers

    3 people found this review helpful

    Anglo American Response

    Talent Acquisition Operations

    Thank you for your honest review. We value your feedback and continually strive for excellence. We pride ourselves with offering our employees very competitive benefits and support and will continue to improve our benefits and offerings going forward.

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good company trying to do tech without proper leadership

    Jul 1, 2022 - Chief Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is a well established company that cares about its employees and community. They have lots of money and pay well.

    Cons

    The are historically a mine operator, not a product developer. They have a long way to go to refine their product development approach.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Anglo American Response

    Employer Branding Specialist

    Thank you for your positive feedback. We are proud to say that we always strive to uplift our communities in all possible ways and have some amazing initiatives we undertake together to ensure long term sustainable relationships.

  3. Join the Anglo American team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Best mining industry

    Jun 25, 2021 - Electrician in Little Africa, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Worker first and zero tolerance to work environmental protection.

    Cons

    Take your co worker as your family

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Anglo American Response

    Thank you for your honest feedback. We value your feedback and continually strive for excellence. We are constantly improving our processes as well as our leadership styles

  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Game of Thrones Meets Hunger Games

    Jun 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great compensation and truly wonderful people at the operational levels.

    Cons

    Executive leadership at the Group level ruthlessly compete with one another, rather than working as a team. This, sadly, drags all of the wonderful people in the company down with them in their individual quests for utter and complete domination over one another. Diversity and inclusion, while important for the sake of inflating numbers for investor relations purposes, is not truly valued. There are clearly cultures and classes of people that are “haves” and others who are “have nots” and the top of the organization is still incredibly paternalistic and has an old, stodgy “Commonwealth” feel to it. Any sincere attempt to actually disturb this equilibrium will face dire consequences.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Anglo American Response

    Thank you for your honest feedback, which helps us in our ongoing work to evolve our business. We are constantly working on improving our processes as well as our leadership styles to ensure our employees have the best guidance to perform at the best of their abilities.

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Difficult Environment

    Feb 11, 2021 - General Management 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall compensation and benefits package and options

    Cons

    A bit like Game of Thrones

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Anglo American Response

    Talent Acquisition Operations

    Thank you for your honest review. We value your feedback and continually strive for excellence. We pride ourselves with offering our employees very competitive benefits and support and will continue to improve our benefits and offerings going forward.

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Solid company

    Oct 9, 2020 - Systems Administrator in Denmark, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good emplyee environment, neice colleagues

    Cons

    Busy job! But with good colleagues it works

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Anglo American Response

    Sourcing Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. We always strive for excellence and will continuously work on improving our culture and living our company values.

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Chief Surveyor

    Sep 26, 2017 - Chief Surveyor in Little Africa, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company to work for, experience in many countries, dedicated to improve employee satisfaction, promotions made on merit, management training

    Cons

    Limited to countries with mineral resources, mostly technical experience required, large corporate with few promotion opportunities, restricted to mining and resources industry

    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Admin

    Oct 23, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company really focuses on business integrity and safety.

    Cons

    The upper level management has a very elitist attitude and barely acknowledges staff beneath them. It does nothing to boost morale.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Anglo American Response

    Sourcing Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your honest feedback, which helps us in our ongoing work to evolve our business. We are constantly working on improving our processes as well as our leadership styles to ensure our employees have the best guidance to perform at the best of their abilities. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place To Work

    Nov 19, 2022 - Plant Operator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company provides medical insurance, housing & additional bonuses. The company also provides transport to arrive safetly at work.

    Cons

    To build your career is difficult. To get experience in your field of study is also difficult.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Anglo American Response

    Employer Branding Specialist

    Thank you for your honest review. We value your feedback and continually strive for excellence. We pride ourselves with offering our employees very competitive benefits and support and will continue to improve our benefits and offerings going forward.

  11. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Nov 18, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The expert's you'll get to work with. The office environment, the free food!!

    Cons

    I couldn't think of a negative

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Anglo American Response

    Employer Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. It’s rewarding to hear that you recognise the major actions we take as an organisation to be an Employer of Choice by many. We truly aspire to live by our company values. Thank you for choosing to work at Anglo American.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 67 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Anglo American Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Anglo American? Share Your Experiences

Anglo American logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Anglo American Photos

+ Add Photo
Anglo American photo of: Women in mining
Anglo American photo of: Corporate Office
Anglo American photo of: Workshop
Anglo American photo of: Collaboration
Anglo American photo of: Singapore Office
Anglo American photo of: Diversity Event
Anglo American photo of: Diversity Event
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Anglo American Platinum Ltd.De Beers GroupKumba Iron Ore Limited

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Anglo American Job Seekers Also Viewed

BHP Logo
BHP

4.1

2,079 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,221 Anglo American reviews submitted anonymously by Anglo American employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Anglo American is right for you.