Animoto Reviews | Glassdoor

Animoto Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Animoto CEO Brad Jefferson
Brad Jefferson
27 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Keeping the lights on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Animoto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic office environment, fridges are always well stocked, standing desks, ping pong and couches. Co-workers are generally good people.

    Cons

    There seems to be lack of any clear direction. Management is inexperienced and uninspiring. I'm worried about attrition and the future of the company.

    Continue reading
    Animoto2013-11-05
  2. "Great Internship."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Animoto for less than a year

    Pros

    Animoto really likes their interns to get involved with the work that they do, so expect to work and learn a lot from them. They're great with interns and the company is really small, meaning you get to know the people you work with. Expect to learn and work with different departments since all departments overlap at some point or another. Also, this company really knows has a great work life balance.

    Cons

    Don't expect an offer after your internship

    Continue reading
    Animoto2013-10-13
  3. "Energetic and friendly place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee -  

    I worked at Animoto for less than a year

    Pros

    Energetic, intelligent, and creative people to interact with and learn from. Marketing manager is accessible and values your opinion. Fun company culture.

    Cons

    Wish we were given more responsibility at times and see projects whole way through.

    Continue reading
    Animoto2013-08-30
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Animoto is not a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Animoto

    Pros

    The product is actually pretty cool. I hope it helps people in their personal and work lives

    Cons

    The company refuses to treat their customers with respect. It hurts the customer service department, as no issues can be resolved over the phone - only email/ticketing system. Animoto commonly overcharges, but does nothing about it unless the customer brings it up. Not a good way to run a business. #EthicalConcerns

    Continue reading
    Animoto2013-08-21
  5. "Fair and relaxed environment, with good, experienced managers and a smart executive staff that's still figuring it out."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Animoto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive salary, with a work hard, play harder attitude. Smart management and overall good people to work with. The company culture is great.

    Cons

    Not as nimble as it should be for a start-up. Technology is a hindrance at times.

    Continue reading
    Animoto2013-07-24
  6. "Laid but creative and driven environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Animoto for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great leadership team - Awesome product - Awesome work benefits

    Cons

    - Company seems to be shifting its focus every couple months, unclear long-term plan

    Continue reading
    Animoto2013-03-03
  7. "Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Animoto

    Pros

    THE BEST! an incredible team, a wonderful environment, I learned so much

    Cons

    There were days I had nothing to do, but that happens with every internship.

    Continue reading
    Animoto2013-02-11
  8. "Lighthearted but driven environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Animoto

    Pros

    A very comfortable place to work. Food/drink for free onsite, not super strict hours just goals and proejcts that need to be completed and met

    Cons

    It is a small company. Management has a plan but yet to see if it will succeed

    Continue reading
    Animoto2013-02-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The most rewarding company I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Animoto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing. Smart, fun, dedicated, and ulta-creative. Management cares for the employees like nothing else I've seen. We get to work with a killer product every day of the week, have great benefits (401k, fsa, commuter benefits, paid subscription services), beer on tap, etc. The team is truly a team. Despite having employees across the country, we work together to achieve a common goal. Management brings us together twice a year to celebrate what we've accomplished, look to what we'll be doing in the future, and build an even stronger team.

    Cons

    The team has high expectations. Management places high importance on revenue. Not a terrible thing overall but it's not your typical startup that just wants to put out a cool product and get free-riders.

    Continue reading
    Animoto2013-01-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "I love every single person I work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Animoto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere, beer friday, ping pong, other employees are awesome, management that cares, good work, stocked kitchen, fully paid health insurance... Just so many things! This is a great place to come to work. My hours are generally what I want them to be and I take vacation when I want. Classy Friday is just about the only time we dress up.

    Cons

    Lots of changes lately, but generally changes for the better!

    Continue reading
    Animoto2012-10-18
Found 41 reviews