Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield President and CEO Gail K. Boudreaux (no image)
Gail K. Boudreaux
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home after orientation, can work your way up(in 66 reviews)

  • "Company offers good benefits package(in 54 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Unable to maintain a work life balance(in 20 reviews)

  • "No Inter department Communication between Upper Management and team(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great environment

      Mar 26, 2021 - Accounts Payable Specialist in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome work place. Good pay

      Cons

      Work was little slow sometimes. But to ther than that it was great

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      DBG is Disorganized

      Mar 31, 2021 - Consumer Service Associate in Roanoke, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay, benefits, and PTO are good

      Cons

      I worked for DBG (Diversified Business Group), which is a subsidiary of Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield who handles some of their more complicated, "elevated", clients through customer service. I'm sure Anthem is a great place to work with, but DBG itself is severely disorganized. We were never sure we were giving our members correct information because it always changed day to day. We were advised of changes that would improve our services, which always only worsened. We were given the chance to discuss our woes with management, but when bringing up valid concerns, their only job was to tell us how well the program was organized instead of actually listening to our suggestions on how to improve. I don't care how good the pay is, I would never work there again. There's a reason they pay you more than most other customer service positions and it's because they can barely get anyone to stay there long enough due to the disorganization and lack of care for their employees. Not only do they fire people at least once a week in a small department (sometimes several times a week), but they have plenty of people quitting very often as well because of the poor treatment. They continuously try to convince employees that they will hire more people (this happened over many many months), and they do, but it's never enough to make up for the people who have been fired and who have quit.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work

      Apr 22, 2021 - Consumer Services Associate in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tuition reimbursement, temporary work from home, reimbursements on gym and weight watchers memberships

      Cons

      Heavy emphasis on adherence and surveys. Just meet certain goals or face termination

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Liked It

      Apr 22, 2021 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management was good. Felt like a community

      Cons

      Pay didn’t reflect experience for me.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice

      Apr 19, 2021 - IT Tier I Support 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits Nice lunch area

      Cons

      Lot of phone calls all day

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place for a first job

      Mar 28, 2021 - Human Resources in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fair benefits. Met great new people. You learn a lot in a short period if time

      Cons

      Inadequate pay and high stress environment. Opportunities to move up or out of your department are slim in my area

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Typical call center

      Apr 7, 2021 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) in Midland, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      quarterly incentives, decent insurance, 401k match, pay raise after 6 months, ability to advance internally

      Cons

      not enough PTO or time off

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Overworked and underpaid

      Apr 21, 2021 - Customer Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Able to work from home

      Cons

      Management is strict and bias there is a lot of favoritism

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Hope for a good caring manager

      Mar 22, 2021 - Customer Care Representative in Mason, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large recognized company in the industry.

      Cons

      Poor management, poor review = behind the eight ball, no salary increase no opportunity for advancement, chew you up and spit you out.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good, Solid Company

      Mar 4, 2021 - Utilization Review Nurse in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Low turnover, supportive management, work from home. The company has support services I didn't even know existed until my husband got sick. Suddenly we were being called by care managers and an outside company contracted by Anthem to answer our questions and offer us support to seek treatment.

      Cons

      Lots of work = long hours for those working from home.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 601 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield Job Seekers

    RN Case Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Care Representative I
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Care Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield? Share Your Experiences

    or