Cover image for Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield
Logo

Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield

Is this your company?

Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield

Add a Review

Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 797 of over 890 reviews
3.6
58% Recommend to a Friend
73% Approve of CEO

Found 797 of over 890 reviews

3.6
58%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield President and CEO Gail K. Boudreaux (no image)
Gail K. Boudreaux
138 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Awesome place to work

    Dec 21, 2022 - Remote Medical Coder 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working from home is so awesome

    Cons

    I have no complaints at this time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good

    Jan 13, 2023 - Marketing 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of training and communicative boss

    Cons

    Working across customer service departments was difficult. It was not conducive to teamwork or helping clients.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Okay

    Jan 10, 2023 - Utilization Management in Newbury Park, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Okay if you like being on the phone

    Cons

    Management could use some work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Work at Home

    Dec 18, 2022 - Registered Nurse Case Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started 13 months ago & feel this has been the best transition of my career! Anthem (now Elevance Health) is very dedicated to continued growth and innovation with openness to change for the best service to the members and healthcare industry. Great management and teamwork with a heart for the local community, encouraging volunteering and service. I work on a great team with about 30 other nurses & also health professionals from home. We have constant communication and are supportive with each other and I enjoy going to work every day (in my home office). If I need help it's always there and I'm able to help out my teammates when needed too. Hope to retire here!

    Cons

    IT hands down is my main negative. System has glitches and down sometimes that is challenging to have 100% productivity & effective time management! Another negative is the onboarding training process using a “flipped classroom” learning style which was not best suited for myself, first time using that format before. But I feel 13 months later that the learning has been ongoing and supported my management team for growth feeling more comfortable with processes.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Job experience

    Dec 19, 2022 - Member Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    I have no down sides with this company

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Demanding job

    Dec 15, 2022 - Implementation Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good team to work with

    Cons

    Lots of work to do, almost too much

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Nice job

    Dec 14, 2022 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Works with you on schedule

    Cons

    No second chances at all

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Love

    Dec 12, 2022 - Customer Service Associate in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved the people I met

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Sometimes large organizations fail at the basics.

    Dec 17, 2022 - Operations/Member Service Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are awesome and the benefits are grea

    Cons

    Improvement is needed on client transparency, ,eliminating favoritism by Directors and VP"s. as far as manager promotions, distributing the workload evenly amongst managers, as well as implementing standardized processes, equate training for associates throughout each region to include a true performance-based incentive plan. Work and home life balance is lacking with management Big Time!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Pay could be better.

    Nov 29, 2022 - Business Change Advisor, Senior in Roanoke, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work environment, good work life balance

    Cons

    Annual raises could be better.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 797 Reviews
</>Embed

Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield Reviews FAQs

Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 890 reviews left anonymously by employees. 58% of employees would recommend working at Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield to a friend and 55% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

58% of Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.4 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield to be coworkers, career development, benefits and the cons to be workplace, culture, management.

Popular Careers with Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield? Share Your Experiences

Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield logo

Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield

or

Reviews by Job Title

Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield Photos

+ Add Photo
Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield photo of: Exterior of bldg
Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield photo of: NA
Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield photo of: Anthem Parking Lot - Colorado Springs

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Anthem, Inc.

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield Job Seekers Also Viewed

Elevance Health Logo
Elevance Health

3.7

4,580 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 890 Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield reviews submitted anonymously by Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield is right for you.