KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Anthem

Engaged Employer

Anthem

Add a Review

Anthem Reviews

Updated Jul 31, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,848 of over 3,121 reviews

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Anthem President and CEO Gail K. Boudreaux
Gail K. Boudreaux
980 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home job , pto always available(in 339 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and helpful training(in 157 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work- life balance is tough to balance(in 89 reviews)

  • "No cons just curious on other work from home position that I can travel(in 71 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Anthem and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Best Company

      Jul 28, 2021 - Proposal Coordinator in Virginia Beach, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team is amazing. Benefits are great. Leadership is wonderful and talks to everyone like real people.

      Cons

      I cannot think of any

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anthem Response

      TA Programs Coordinator Sr.

      We’re happy to hear you enjoy working at Anthem. Thank you for your review!

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      I am retiring from Anthem /no complaints here.

      Jul 21, 2021 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) in Eagan, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Anthem offers excellent benefits. I worked with DeCare with Anthem products for over 20 years.

      Cons

      A lot of turn over of employees

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Anthem Response

      TA Programs Coordinator Sr.

      Thank you for your feedback. We’re listening.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Big Blue Bureaucracy

      Jul 29, 2021 - Software Engineer in Norfolk, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Large organization, opportunity to move between teams - Wide array of benefits - Training/Learning opportunities - Anthem gives back to the communities they serve - Opportunities for direct customer engagement (if desired)

      Cons

      - Incredibly bureaucratic, difficult to complete even the simplest of tasks - Service teams are not committed to the end product/results, a lot of finger pointing - Significant lack of accountability amongst service teams - Constant change, nobody is safe. Even top performers are laid off - Organization is so large that promotions/etc are driven by who you know and not necessarily the value you bring to the organization - Organization is very top heavy

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anthem Response

      TA Programs Coordinator Sr.

      Thank you for your feedback. We’re listening.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company but stressful job

      Jul 31, 2021 - Customer Care Representative II in Roanoke, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, PTO, holidays off, holiday pay, work from home, flexible schedule

      Cons

      Low pay, high stress, micromanagement, ever-changing processes and rules, high workload

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Any dept but not LTSS

      Jul 30, 2021 - LTSS Coordinator in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Benefits, flexibility and ability to WFH. Job security.This is a great company to work for as long as you are not on the LTSS side.

      Cons

      The LTSS side of the company is not balanced. The behind the scenes staff that do a lot of the work get the least pay, and no opportunity for growth. On the LTSS side people are promoted no by merit but by politics and friendships. Its hard to network and establish rapport when you WFH. So when an opportunity of promotion comes along it goes to those "clicks".

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to work for

      Jul 15, 2021 - Nurse Medical Management Senior in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities for career growth, great health benefits, matching 401K, PTO is good- you get more after 5 years. Flexible working hours.

      Cons

      Current upper management I work with right now is not so great. They made a lot of unnecessary changes that does not make sense to supposedly streamline our process and does not listen to what we nurses have to say anyway. However, this is just my team and does not reflect the entire Anthem company as a whole. The good thing is, we can look for jobs internally and hopefully transfer out.

      4 people found this review helpful

      Anthem Response

      TA Programs Coordinator Sr.

      Thank you for your review. We’re listening and appreciate your feedback.

    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      The mighty Anthem has fallen

      Jun 25, 2021 - Director, Marketing in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pros are that it's a job. A year ago, I'd also include the people as a big plus. Two and three years ago I'd say the work was rewarding. Now, it's just a job.

      Cons

      Marketing leadership has stripped the company of good, dedicated, solid people who knew the business, knew the markets, and built relationships inside and out. Now they are top heavy with more staff vp's who have their own vision, without knowing the business. I, among many, many, many others were let go from the marketing organization to make room for newly created high level positions. And for what reason? The stock has not improved. The "culture" is tainted. There is no trust. Anthem used to value its employees. That is no longer the case.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful

      Anthem Response

      TA Programs Coordinator Sr.

      We’re sorry to hear about your experience. We strive to create a healthy work environment for all our associates. Your review helps us understand where we need to improve.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Anthem is great but

      Jul 20, 2021 - Operations Expert in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Anthem has great benefits and room for growth, especially in customer service. A great monday to friday job

      Cons

      It can be very stressful. We are always busy and its always fast paced. In customer service, people can talk to you any way they'd like and you just have to take it. The goals are becoming unrealistic.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anthem Response

      TA Programs Coordinator Sr.

      Thank you for your review. We’re listening and appreciate your feedback.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company

      Jul 27, 2021 - RN Case Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility Good Pay Great Manager Glassdoor should not have a 15 word minimum if this is my review.

      Cons

      No cons from my perspective . NA na Na Na Na Na NA NA NA NA

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anthem Response

      TA Programs Coordinator Sr.

      We’re happy to hear you enjoy working at Anthem. Thank you for your review!

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Pays

      Jul 27, 2021 - Consumer Service Associate in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      benefits pay amenities (in office) culture (if on a good team )

      Cons

      lots of calls lots of information to understand and be able to educate back to someone

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anthem Response

      TA Programs Coordinator Sr.

      We’re happy to hear you enjoy working at Anthem. Thank you for your review!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,848 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Anthem Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Anthem? Share Your Experiences

    or