Anthem "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Anthem Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Anthem President and CEO Gail K. Boudreaux
Gail K. Boudreaux
552 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Diverse place with lots of career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Program Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anthem full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work life balance career and education opportunities Support from leadership

    Cons

    departments and areas working in Silos

    Continue reading
    Anthem2020-01-10
  2. Helpful (25)

    "Not what it used to be... unfortunately."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Anthem full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Large company with lots of opportunity if you work in or around an office location.

    Cons

    Sadly what most people have said in recent reviews is true. In addition to the new policy which prohibits people managers from working from home even though that's what they were hired as, anyone currently working from home who is next in line for a people manager position (succession planned as such), is no longer eligible unless they're willing to work in an office (if they're close to one) or relocate entirely. Many top performers do not live near an Anthem office and are now being told they cannot grow within the company unless they uproot their families to a location with an office. It's an extremely antiquated policy that does nothing but kill morale for employees who have been loyal to this company for many years. There have been countless studies over the years proving that flexible work arrangements and the ability to work from home actually increases productivity and overall happiness and wellbeing of employees. It's unfortunate that Gail does not take any of that into account. For that reason, Anthem will lose wonderful and hardworking employees to their competitors. My advice to anyone seeking a job at Anthem - look elsewhere. Now is not the time. Morale is at an all time low, teams are sparse to save a dollar, and in addition our company CEO is further sacrificing the work/life balance and quality of life aspect of many employees in the company. This is not just specific to my department. I work with departments all around the company and the sentiment is the same. Look elsewhere... I know I am.

    Continue reading
    Anthem2020-01-09
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Not bad, but not great either."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Anthem full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance is great but used to be better. Good pay. Stock has soared. Overall, the people are good (personality, not skills).

    Cons

    It's a giant, siloed organization in an archaic slow-moving industry. You won't find real innovation. You won't find efficient execution. We're not the good guys. We don't hire the best and brightest. Career advancement is gone if you work from home. You'd expect better benefits from a health insurance company. Brace yourself for annual reorgs.

    Continue reading
    Anthem2020-01-15
  4. "Research Data Manager Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anthem

    Pros

    This is a great place to work. Excellent benefit and work life balance.

    Cons

    Can't think of any. Nothing for now.

    Anthem2020-01-08
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Atlanta, GA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Anthem full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Annual Incentive Plan Tuition Reimbursement/Health Club Reimbursement/Monthly Travel Stipend 2 days a week work from home 4 weeks of paid maternity/paternity leave

    Cons

    Work culture is toxic.No opportunities for team building.Management is aware of the issues but their only goal is cost cutting. Vendors are given prominence over Full time employees by management and when things go wrong Full timers are blamed for the failure. Knowledge is not shared across the team.Only handful of people know the business/functionality and they are expected to work 24/7. No career growth opportunities. No work life balance and people are in meetings all day long.

    Anthem2019-12-11
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Demoralizing Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Anthem full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The immediate frontline team is composed of highly intelligent and dependable high-performers. Unfortunately, this isn't appreciated nor valued.

    Cons

    My experience with this organization has simply been disappointing. The staff, inclusive of directors with direct reports, has been demoralized as a result of a machiavellian and narcissistic top-down management. It's a VP led, top-managment heavy organization who attempt to lead processes without understanding nor wanting to understand the granular details required to support the business. These VP's set unrealistic targets for performance metrics without the appropriate staff to meet the demand. Instead of taking a collaborative approach to build accurate data models with real operational performance logics, VP's assign other director-level team members to micromanage other directors and their teams to force production with limited resources and work towards meeting expectations - all in the name of the Enterprise. As instructed, these director-level team members, who don't own nor manage the team's operations, poke holes in processes and lead conversations via back-stabbing and unprofessional behavior composed of yelling and cursing at the Director - who manages the team - as well as operations managers, process experts, and the frontline coordinators, in hopes of "improvement". The in-crowd is composed of bullies with hidden agendas and when these behaviors aren't followed, VP's demote Directors and don't promote high-level performers into leadership roles. Anthem doesn't believe in work life balance. The day is composed of non-stop, back-to-back meetings. Being double and triple booked is normal. When asked how work is supposed to get done, the default answer is to multitask during meetings or to work at night. Many team members take PTO to catch up on work and emails. The teams pull all nighters including on the weekends. I witnessed a Director getting yelled at for not asking her team to work on Thanksgiving. This is the worst place I've ever worked at. Anthem doesn't care about healthcare. This organization is a profit-focused engine that only cares about pushing work through a number of manual systems and doesn't provide their staff with the necessary tools to do so. Avoid, at all costs, working here.

    Continue reading
    Anthem2020-01-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service Tier 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Team Member - Cashier in Bull Run, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Anthem full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a job that pays the bills at home (so does McDonalds)

    Cons

    HOSTILE WORK ENVIRONMENT Rules depend on your race. (Read this again) I was turned down for SEVERAL promotions that I was Overqualified for but because I made my opinion known, I was told otherwise: Performance reviews depends on the color of your skin. NO work/ life balance at all. Any good review is a new employee who has NO IDEA... I would have health issues but by penalized because of it. Dont work here. Have kids or ever think you could have an emergency? Dont work here. This company will hire felons but no room for advancement. Employees with PTSD, DO NOT apply here Antthem sends these employee surveys every week and pretend its anonymous but they DO track and retaliate.

    Continue reading
    Anthem2020-01-19
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Network Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Anthem full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was good while there

    Cons

    No regard for a work life balance

    Anthem2020-01-13
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Anthem is an "Okay" company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Owner 

    I have been working at Anthem full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits Great Scrum teams/peers Lots of career opportunities You will challenged.

    Cons

    -Managment likes to put the same amount of work or more with less resources. Employee are often feeling burnt out, stressed and overwhelmed -Some managers are trustworthy -Lack of work life balance - The culture of the company is shifting and not for the better

    Anthem2019-12-05
  10. Helpful (19)

    "Not Who They Used to Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Large Group Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Anthem full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You meet some great friends while working there.

    Cons

    Senior leadership is all new and they don’t seem to understand Anthem as a company or the market in which we do business. They are under the belief that we should be winning groups just based on our name even though our service has suffered immensely and gotten worse over the last 6-8 years. They are also believe that an already overloaded workforce can do more. The CEO did the same thing at United when she was there. There is zero work life balance and the cut pay and did massive layoffs. They laid off some top producing people which didn’t seem to make a lot of sense. I’ve never seen more of a mess internally and it is very sad to watch a once great company go down so quickly.

    Continue reading
    Anthem2019-11-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 164 reviews