KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Anvil Media

Is this your company?

Anvil Media

Add a Review

Anvil Media Reviews

Updated Feb 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 of over 29 reviews

3.8
63%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Anvil Media President Kent Lewis
Kent Lewis
23 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place to work and great people

    Jan 5, 2021 - SEO Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Anvil is a great place to work with an amazing team of dedicated and hardworking professionals. Every team member is extremely knowledgeable in their areas of expertise and are more than happy to help each other out with any question or task. The relatively small size of the team and accessibility of leadership has fostered a dedicated and passionate group who is not afraid to let loose and have fun once in a while. Anvil is dedicated to it's employees growth both professionally and personally. I returned to the digital marketing world after a few years in another industry, and the executive team as well as my fellow team members have helped me grow, learn, and adapt to the ever changing digital environment. I can confidently say I am a much better search engine marketer thanks to their guidance and support. The leadership at Anvil does expect the team to work hard, stay informed and push new ideas. This is not a job for some one expecting to hide or blend in. Team members are expected to present audits and reports on a regular basis, write blog articles around their area of specialty, and host occasional webinars, so strong communication skills are important. The Anvil team as a whole has been very accommodating and adaptable to the changes brought about by the pandemic. Leadership has done their best to keep us all healthy and happy in the new working environment we find ourselves in. All in all Anvil has been a great place to work, and I would recommend it to any Digital Marketing professional looking to start, continue, or grow their career.

    Cons

    See review above for details.

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A Great Small Agency to Work For Despite Some Issues

    Feb 1, 2021 - Paid Media Specialist in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Get to work with lots of interesting clients across an array of industries. Competitive compensation and benefits. Very much a learn-as-you-go mentality.

    Cons

    May be too fast paced for some people. Some team members may not have a ton of experience in your field of expertise which can create challenges when working on client accounts. Quite a bit of administrative work assigned to all employees (weekly self-evaluation, logging all work hours, multiple weekly team meetings, etc.)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. The latest conversations about Advertising

    Join the conversation on

    Advertising

    1y

    a 

    Consultant

    What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

    2,926

    249 Comments

    Join the conversation on
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Dynamic, Collaborative, Accomplished Group

    Oct 15, 2020 - SEO Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Anvil has been an incredible breath of fresh air in terms of agency work. Not only is the group highly dedicated and knowledgeable, but every person is fully committed to helping one another succeed. You own your role and the work that comes along with it, and if there is anything you are interested in pursuing you have the opportunity to do so. This group also knows how to have fun! We work hard throughout the week, and virtually come together on Friday afternoons for happy hour, and there are quarterly field trips where we all go do something fun, like Top Golf. From the management side, they are always looking out for their employees. From weekly check-ins to monthly 1on1s with Kent, they genuinely want to know how you are doing and if there is anything that can make your job better. It really helps to know that your boss has your back.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to share.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Sep 28, 2020 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The President & Founder is passionate about giving all us team members opportunities and responsibilities to further our careers, and consistently checks in with us to ensure we're reaching our goals that we set for ourselves. He has an open-door policy and lives it every day. And we're all about team bonding! If you want to be a part of a team that enjoys field trips, team brainstorms, and Friday Happy Hours, then you'll love it at Anvil.

    Cons

    You have to be willing to work hard and multi-task to be successful here. No coasting at this job.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Anvil Media Response

    President

    We're proud of the Anvil team, and regularly acknowledge and reward top performers, especially those that go above-and-beyond with clients and internal activities. It is true that highly organized people succeed at Anvil.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place to Learn and Grow

    Oct 30, 2019 - Senior Account Executive in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Anvil is a fantastic place to learn and become a well-rounded digital marketer. I came to Anvil with a traditional marketing background and less than two years later feel like I can speak to most digital disciplines (and verticals) with ease and understanding. Management provides a professional development stipend to attend classes or conferences on whatever you’re passionate about in the digital realm. While things get busy, I have always had a great work-life balance. It is more 9-5 than any other agencies I have worked at. You can actually make plans for after work and keep them! Another unique feature of Anvil is that you work with limited oversight. If you’re a self-starter who likes to own what they touch, it’s the place for you. We all wear a lot of hats and personally I enjoy having different types of things to work on. The culture is approachable and fun. There are quarterly field trips and happy hours. It’s a small team and everyone works collaboratively with one another.

    Cons

    Employees are expected to do a point of view article every two months, which can be a challenge if you’re not writing inclined.

    3 people found this review helpful

    Anvil Media Response

    President

    At Anvil, we always try to be accomodating to employees that do not want to participate in writing, speaking or other marketing activities. We do appreciate those that do support our small agency's efforts, which is currently 100% of the team.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place for self-directed high performers

    Sep 10, 2019 - Operations Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management frequently asks and acts on feedback. Employees have the opportunity to voice their concerns with the owner during monthly 1on1 meetings. There is plenty of opportunity and encouragement for professional development and this is a great benefit. As a company, there are regularly scheduled team building activities in/outside of the office. Discretionary raises and spot bonuses are common, along with good compensation, perks and benefits. Anvil promotes a fun yet challenging culture. Long hours are not expected, and are often addressed quickly with training and load balancing. But the focus is always on doing good work.

    Cons

    When bad hires are made it hurts everyone in the company. Still need more big clients. Management has high expectations and can get frustrated by short-sighted behavior or poor performance.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    good while it lasts

    Jun 28, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    While working here you'll get lots of opportunities to work on really cool accounts. I enjoy coming to the office most days.

    Cons

    In all of the time I've been here, no employee has ever left on good terms. Even the ones that seemed to have left that way, were later bashed internally and externally. There are still running jokes in the office about former employees from years ago. Same holds true for former clients.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Poor brand culture leading to high turnover

    Jun 22, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Learned some great SEM basics Worked with cool clients Mgmt willing to try out ideas I presented

    Cons

    Colleagues were competitive rather than collaborative Short tempered and inappropriate outspoken management

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A Different Anvil

    Sep 12, 2017 - Vice President of Strategy 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Full Disclosure: I currently serve as the VP of Strategy and am also on the Executive Team. I have decided to write the review in the same manner I conduct interviews - with honesty and transparency. I have now been at Anvil for 2 years. I was originally hired to develop strategy for clients but after my first 30 days it was evident that there were numerous issues that needed to be addressed - from quality of work to staff to the unhealthy relationship between management and employees. It has taken some time but the agency is now on a trajectory that is 180 degrees different from when I started. The major issue was trust between the staff and management, Years of mistrust needed to be undone and although I was not there for any of it there were many employees who were. Blame could be placed on both sides but regardless of what has happened in the past it is now a completely different environment where issues are addressed and transparency is the norm. The staff is made up of people who are not only good at their jobs but care about the work, their clients and the people they work with. They are willing to help each other out in times of heavy workload and do so without complaint. The agency, like every agency out there, is not without issues. There are times of heavy workload, people can get irritated with each other, clients can be difficult and things don't always run as smoothly as they should. But at the end of the day it is a great place to work because of the concerted effort put forth by both management and employees. You are appreciated as an employee, you are not micro-managed and there is a company wide desire to be successful. I'm proud of the agency that has been built and I am proud of the employees that are there and make Anvil what it is today - a great agency that produces excellent work.

    Cons

    See above review for pros and cons

    4 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    The best company I’ve ever worked for

    Oct 31, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Anvil is hands down the best company and agency I’ve ever worked for. The reason is simple, Anvil takes care of its employees across benefits, culture, training, support and opportunities to learn and grow. You will be hard pressed to find anything better in counterparts across the country. Anvil’s President is one of the most committed, engaged, smart and visionary leaders that you’ll find in Portland, which is why Anvil has continued to grow, evolve and stay relevant to better serve their clients.

    Cons

    Occasionally you'll end up parking a block away from the office, due to the growing urban neighborhood and amenities. Plan your commute accordingly.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 27 Reviews

Popular Careers with Anvil Media Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Anvil Media? Share Your Experiences

or