Apex Capital Reviews

Updated Apr 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Apex Capital Founder David Baker
David Baker
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Profit sharing is paid on a quarterly basis after a year of service to all Apexers(in 12 reviews)

  • "Profit sharing, wellness program, good benefits(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The "work hard, play hard" mentality has always worked, but it has become a breeding ground for high school drama and favoritism(in 5 reviews)

  • "Although willing to hear you out, upper management is hesitant to implement good ideas(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      great place to work

      Jun 6, 2020 - Auditor in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      company culture is amazing! i loved coming to work. great place for millenials! they encouraged community engagement. i was even on a book committee.

      Cons

      none because there was no cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company , unrealistic expectations, prejudice

      Apr 8, 2021 - Office Clerk in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent company to work for with average compensation.

      Cons

      Management chooses who to accommodate to and who to discipline on an unequal scale. Diversity is applied to the majority not the minority. Expectations can be bended to suit favorable employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Tech/Financial/Transportation Company

      Apr 6, 2020 - Director of Software Engineering in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone on the team is smart! Great benefits and culture.

      Cons

      Growing company, tough to know everyone personally.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Favoritism

      Jan 23, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you're good at building relationships, "playing the game", you could make some decent money here. Benefits are good etc.

      Cons

      When I started with this company there were around 130 employees. Currently sitting at 270ish, Apex has not been able to set clear boundaries on the culture that they promote. The "work hard, play hard" mentality has always worked, but it has become a breeding ground for high school drama and favoritism. Employees get away with either a lot, or a little, depending on who your manager is and if they like you or not. The HR department has zero say in issues that employees might have pertaining to their environment and manager, regardless of how many people might feel this way. Apex wants to make people feel like they have a voice, but it's a joke. There is a high chance that your manager is only a puppet being controlled by someone else in Senior Management. If you are looking for a company that really provides supervisors/managers that are proficient in career development and growth, I would not look here. You must be a self starter to move up and have enough drive to gain ample knowledge about the industry/company processes. Some managers are not able to give constructive feedback or communicate potential issues they might have with you, so you might not know where you stand. Some departments are much worse then others(client accounting), stay woke.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good

      Oct 21, 2019 - Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and awesome feeling of family. Profit sharing is a plus as well.

      Cons

      The only con is that there aren't more companies like Apex.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome place to work!

      Oct 23, 2019 - Auditing Specialist II in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love the culture! Pay is fair, and I truly enjoy coming into work each day.

      Cons

      There are absolutely no cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Corporate Culture

      Nov 1, 2018 - Client Account Specialist in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      An abundance of personal development opportunities, great culture and a lot of community service involvement.

      Cons

      There can sometimes be favoritism.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The best & last place I will ever work!

      Dec 15, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The efforts that Apex goes to in order to maintain a positive culture is astounding. I have never worked anywhere that cares so much about its employees (& it's customers for that matter). The positive attitude & approach starts at the top with the owners (David & Dean) and carries through the entire company. There are numerous programs in place that focus on creating & maintaining a healthy & happy environment for all of us here at Apex. Everything from wellness programs, continuing education, professional growth programs, education reimbursement programs, not to mention a generous profit sharing program that makes all of us feel like owners in this company. I have worked at a lot of companies in my career, some good & some bad. I will work here for as long as they'll let me keep doing my job. I feel like part of a family unlike any company ever. In fact, Apex does such a good job of creating a high morale & strong sense of ownership amongst it's employees that someone should do a case study on how it's done for other companies to mimic.

      Cons

      Truthfully there aren't any that come to mind. In order to be completely fair & balanced I will provide information on the only negative aspects I can think of about our current situation. We are based on 2 (soon to be 3 floors), which has created a little bit of a divide within the staff.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      The sky truly is the limit at Apex

      Sep 18, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Apex is a great place to work, and does an excellent job offering continued education in the workplace through cross-training and other opportunities, while also offering a chance at self-improvement through the university systems if you would like to to earn a degree (did I mention excellent tuition reimbursement?). The phrase “the sky’s the limit” could not be more true for the many driven individuals than at Apex. If you find a job that you like, and want to stick with it forever, that’s awesome! If you decide you want to learn various job functions and responsibilities, there are plenty of opportunities to write your own future here.

      Cons

      The "high energy/lots of fun" work environment is not for everyone, which is why it is so hard to get in – they want to make sure you are happy here. There are still some people don’t let down their “wall of trust” to believe that Apex truly cares about them as a person and an employee, so that situation can be difficult to be around. There are reviews here referring to “favoritism and nepotism”, but I haven’t witnessed that myself – other than people who work with a passion and care for others tend to rise to the occasion. This place is the REAL DEAL!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Apex Capital Response

      Talent Acquisition Specialist

      Thanks! We will keep adding new career opportunities for people as our employees and clients continue to build bigger and better relationships. Apexers are provided with a multitude of fun and safe opportunities to build ties with co-workers, but we also respect that participation in extra-curricular activities is a personal decision. If you are noticing that you aren’t receiving the best communication or support from one of your colleagues, we have resources to help you find the most appropriate way to address the situation. Keep on trucking – pun intended!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Best company I have ever worked for

      Aug 15, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      From small companies to multiple large companies (even a Forbes Global Fortune 500 company thrown in there), Apex is the best company I have ever worked for. They have a different way of conducting business. They truly care about employees. Sure, there are a few small issues here and there, but much less than any company I have ever been a part of. If you have a good attitude and work ethic, the sky is the limit. Apex is continuing to grow by leaps and bounds and new positions, departments and opportunities and coming up all the time.

      Cons

      Selectivity. They are very selective about who they hire and who they promote. If you do not want to buy into the culture, you will not fit. If you have attitude issues or if you lack work ethic, you will not fit. Apex is not a place to come, do your job, collect a check and go home. They want you to be part of something bigger. They want you to have a vision. They want you to aspire to want more and to be a leader that pioneers a way to achieve your goal. If you just like to show up and get paid, it's not for you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Apex Capital Response

      Talent Acquisition Specialist

      Thanks for the feedback! We do take the time to hire and promote talented people who will thrive in our collaborative environment and excel in their roles.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 54 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Apex Capital Job Seekers

    Back Office Support
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Apex Capital? Share Your Experiences

    Apex Capital logo
    or