Apex Capital Reviews

Updated Apr 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Apex Capital Founder David Baker
David Baker
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Profit sharing is paid on a quarterly basis after a year of service to all Apexers(in 12 reviews)

  • "Profit sharing, wellness program, good benefits(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "The "work hard, play hard" mentality has always worked, but it has become a breeding ground for high school drama and favoritism(in 5 reviews)

  • "Cliques OMG in Client Accounting and Account Services there are the worst cliques(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Tech/Financial/Transportation Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Software Engineering in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Apex Capital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Everyone on the team is smart! Great benefits and culture.

    Cons

    Growing company, tough to know everyone personally.

    Continue reading
    Apex Capital2020-04-06
  2. "Awesome place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auditing Specialist II in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Apex Capital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love the culture! Pay is fair, and I truly enjoy coming into work each day.

    Cons

    There are absolutely no cons.

    Apex Capital2019-10-23
  3. "Good"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 

    I worked at Apex Capital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and awesome feeling of family. Profit sharing is a plus as well.

    Cons

    The only con is that there aren't more companies like Apex.

    Apex Capital2019-10-22
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Favoritism"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Apex Capital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you're good at building relationships, "playing the game", you could make some decent money here. Benefits are good etc.

    Cons

    When I started with this company there were around 130 employees. Currently sitting at 270ish, Apex has not been able to set clear boundaries on the culture that they promote. The "work hard, play hard" mentality has always worked, but it has become a breeding ground for high school drama and favoritism. Employees get away with either a lot, or a little, depending on who your manager is and if they like you or not. The HR department has zero say in issues that employees might have pertaining to their environment and manager, regardless of how many people might feel this way. Apex wants to make people feel like they have a voice, but it's a joke. There is a high chance that your manager is only a puppet being controlled by someone else in Senior Management. If you are looking for a company that really provides supervisors/managers that are proficient in career development and growth, I would not look here. You must be a self starter to move up and have enough drive to gain ample knowledge about the industry/company processes. Some managers are not able to give constructive feedback or communicate potential issues they might have with you, so you might not know where you stand. Some departments are much worse then others(client accounting), stay woke.

    Continue reading
    Apex Capital2019-01-23
  5. "Great Corporate Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Account Specialist in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Apex Capital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    An abundance of personal development opportunities, great culture and a lot of community service involvement.

    Cons

    There can sometimes be favoritism.

    Continue reading
    Apex Capital2018-11-01
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Auditing Specialist"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Specialist in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Apex Capital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and a lot of helpful programs for employees Profit sharing PTO Kind and friendly people who will help if you ask

    Cons

    There was not much organization to the training structure but they addressed that and were welcoming to feedback. The first few months on the job are stressful and can cause anxiety due to there not being any real formal training. If you have a chronic illness I would advise working here.

    Continue reading
    Apex Capital2018-07-12
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Fun atmosphere but has its faults"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Apex Capital full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed working at Apex because I made ‘work friends’ and we weren’t micro-managed much. They have coffee, water, ice machine and sometimes food free for their employees and they do community work.

    Cons

    The managers and supervisors play favorites a lot. My supervisor wasn’t very friendly to me but was to her friends. People would get promoted if they kissed up to their boss or were their friend. Also very frequently supervisors and managers would trash former employees. Very unprofessional.

    Continue reading
    Apex Capital2018-07-07
  8. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Apex Capital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team effort, profit sharing, environment.

    Cons

    None that I can tell.

    Apex Capital2018-06-20
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Dont work here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Accounting Auditor in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Apex Capital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Profit sharing, free food, great corporate citizenship program.

    Cons

    Fake people. High school environment. Hard to get promoted unless you are popular or a kiss butt. They dont care about how skilled you are and dont recognize hard work. No room for advancement.

    Continue reading
    Apex Capital2018-06-25
  10. "Great place to work :)"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Apex Capital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and great people.

    Cons

    More vacation time or paid holidays would be great.

    Apex Capital2018-04-24
Found 52 reviews