Apex Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Apex Group Reviews

Updated Sep 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Apex Group CEO Peter Hughes (no image)
Peter Hughes
15 Ratings
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Senior Fund Accountant in Malta, MT

    I worked at Apex Group

    Pros

    Great working environment and good management

    Cons

    Longer hours during the the peak of deadlines

    Apex Group2016-02-21
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Accountant Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accountant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Apex Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good learning experience as you will get exposure to the full process. Globally, employees are pleasant to work with.

    Cons

    Long hours, low team morale, average pay. Cost cutting galore - there is little to no consideration of the repercussions.

    Advice to Management

    Care a bit more about your employees and less about the bottom line.

    Apex Group2019-07-15
  3. "Small to midsize clinets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fund Accountant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Apex Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paxus is a pretty solid system that handles IR and partner allocations in 1 platform. Gained exposure to different fund structures and financial products

    Cons

    There isnt any formal training program. The position will really test your problem solving and critical thinking skills due to there being very little hands on guidence. The salary stinks, but if you continue to learn new things and speak on your experiences, then it isnt a lost cause.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees a little more

    Apex Group2019-01-29

    Apex Group Response

    February 12, 2019Senior Internal Communications Associate

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we're pleased you were exposed to different financial products and fund structures and hope that this has stood you in good stead for your future career. We're sorry to hear however, that your overall experience wasn't positive. Apex has grown significantly over the past year and ensuring our colleagues are appropriately compensated for the work they do at Apex is one of our top priorities. Apex supports employee training, both within our digital learning platform and through the sponsorship of professional qualifications. Furthermore, employees are given on the job training as and when appropriate. If you would like to reach out further, you can email ApexMarketing@apex.bm

    Show Less
  4. "Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Apex Group full-time

    Pros

    small tiered admin allows you to see many aspects of services rendered.

    Cons

    understaffed and lack of specialized skill sets when offering clients ad-hoc services

    Advice to Management

    focus on building a company not a short term "fix"

    Apex Group2017-04-25
  5. "I worked summer Intern in Apex Fund Services in Shanghai"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Apex Group

    Pros

    good management system. great communication with manager. nice people to work with. Flexible

    Cons

    none that I think of

    Apex Group2015-10-13
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Hostile environment, especially for women"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Red Bank, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Apex Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unfortunately there aren't many to mention; if you work in the Red Bank, NJ office - you get free parking. Other than that, they discourage personal and professional growth, your opinion doesn't matter, there are no company values, there is no integrity.

    Cons

    Because they are headquartered in Bermuda and the US offices are under an LLC designation, they can avoid almost all FINRA regulations as far as AML is concerned and/or they alter their records. This is despite the fact that providing the administrative side of AML for the managers is a part of a managers' service agreement. While employees are entitled to vacations, the support staff are sabotaged so that all the... work they've been waiting to be approved to be done is ready for them the day before their vacation starts and telling them they will have to do everything it takes to get it done on time, or they will have to amend their vacation. Not to mention, all of the Director-level men are arrogant, rude and abusive.

    Show More
    Apex Group2014-11-21
  7. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Apex Group full-time

    Pros

    HR & Regional MD are friendly, spacious working areas, competitive salary and bonus package

    Cons

    Many cultural difference, one of the local MD with arrogant attitude

    Apex Group2019-08-26
  8. "Fund Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Accounting Analyst in Singapore

    I have been working at Apex Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Full exposure to fund administration. A good learning ground for the industry.

    Cons

    Long working hours, in appropriate and unfair job allocation between staffs.

    Apex Group2019-09-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fund accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Apex Group full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, good work culture

    Cons

    High turnover of staff over recent years

    Apex Group2019-07-28
  10. "Origination, Hedge Funds, Negotiation, Segmentaion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Apex Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, fast growth, ambitious

    Cons

    lack of training or management, Low team morale

    Apex Group2019-06-25
Found 36 reviews