Apex Investigation Reviews | Glassdoor

Apex Investigation Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Apex Investigation CEO JR Robles (no image)
JR Robles
1 Ratings
  1. "Best investigation company I have worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Investigator in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Apex Investigation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is good here. Management treats you well and help you become proficient in what you do. Good benefits. Work is enjoyable and workload is fair. Great stepping stone to get to anywhere you want to get in life. Good work/life balance. Overtime available.

    Cons

    increase the pay for mileage a little, gas is pretty high now a days. long drives work alone

    Continue reading
    Apex Investigation2019-07-05
  2. "A Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HQ Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Apex Investigation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is progressive. The President cares for his staff and takes time in investing in them and their potential. He has high hopes, goals, and aspirations for APEX. As an employee, your ideas will be heard. There is an open door policy with management as well as the CEO. Upper management is flexible. The midtown location is fun and makes the office a great place to be daily. They make an effort to get together once a month for a BBQ outside at the office. Holiday gatherings are fun. Pay is fair and there is opportunity for growth, financially. I can see APEX taking off and growing to in many aspects and areas.

    Cons

    Management could use coaching when it comes to looking at employees as dollar signs instead of the value they provide to the organization overall. Employees sense it and their enjoyment and loyalty to the job deteriorates. High turnover from this makes it difficult to grow the company.

    Continue reading
    Apex Investigation2019-07-16
  3. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investigator in Sacramento, CA

    I worked at Apex Investigation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    40 hours schedule Ok pay

    Cons

    Everything, You’ll spend more time emailing staff than actually doing the job.

    Continue reading
    Apex Investigation2019-06-04

    Apex Investigation Response

    June 14, 2019President

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns. We are sorry that your experience at APEX did not match our intention of being the best place you have ever worked. We definitely don’t want you emailing all day and want you to feel like you are thriving in your career. We encourage our employees to speak up in order to address their concerns. In order to address staff concerns we: • Have an open-door policy • Provide staff with President and CEO’s e-mail address and phone number • Provide staff an anonymous online suggestion box

    Continue reading
  4. "Transcriptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transcriptionist in Sacramento, CA

    I worked at Apex Investigation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and life/work balance

    Cons

    Little to no room for advancement

    Apex Investigation2019-01-02
  5. "Field Investigator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Investigator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Apex Investigation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None, none at all. And, that’s sad and telling

    Cons

    The absolute worst company experience. Management is dishonest (they speak out of both sides of their mouth), they do not care about their employees whatsoever, they violate numerous state and labor laws, HR is there to protect the best interests of the management- not balanced with employee rights / laws. There is a great amount of “favoritism”, if you are drinking buddies with management you’re treated preferentially. The CEO is not engaged with the team, he obviously does not care about the ethical and morale treatment of his employees. They tend to say one thing and do the exact opposite. When issues are called out, it’s obvious management scrambles for answers because they are out of the loop and then point fingers. The sales team is a joke and blame any negative client consequences on the field Investigation team. This is a classic organization that leads by fear and not true leadership. Cronyism at it’s finest!

    Continue reading
    Apex Investigation2019-01-25

    Apex Investigation Response

    February 5, 2019President

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns. Our staff are the heart of our business and APEX is committed to making their experience with us among the best in the industry. We encourage our employees to speak up in order to address their concerns. In order to address staff concerns we • Have an open door policy • Provide staff with President and CEO’s e-mail address and phone number • Provide staff an anonymous online suggestion box APEX’s leadership team is committed to improve the culture and work experience for all of our staff.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Apex Investigation full-time

    Pros

    Apex is very organized and you will have the nicest co-workers. The president very clearly cares about the employees. You are unlikely to ever get injured on the job since they take the greatest precautions to prevent any long term injuries. Monthly bbqs are pretty fun.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, this is a one size fits all management style. If you don't like it you can leave. The management relies on passive aggressive emails, spying on each other, tattling, and gives little to no praise for a job well done. People will is regularly watch you to see if you are on your phone, getting enough work done, taking too long of breaks, talking to people, etc. Of course some oversight is needed, every company needs some, but the level that Apex goes to is extremely childish. The COO can be very rude and unwilling to work with you. Meetings are very uncomfortable. You are unlikely to get a raise, even if you are doing your job properly and there's hardly any room to advance your job or change. Additionally, the work can be extremely boring. I'm not really sure what the values of this company are, but certainly not the employees! The culture can be cold, mundane, and passive aggressive. I wouldn't recommend this for a long term place to work, but, there's a high turnover anyway.

    Continue reading
    Apex Investigation2018-08-09
  7. Helpful (8)

    "High Turn Over / Toxic Masculinity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Apex Investigation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pay, that's it, downtown location is nice

    Cons

    overworked, micromanagement, constant belittling, high turnover, toxic masculinity

    Continue reading
    Apex Investigation2018-07-18
  8. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Apex Investigation full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, bonuses, benefits, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Micro management, low morale, limited growth opportunities

    Continue reading
    Apex Investigation2018-03-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    ""The Best Company I have ever worked for""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Apex Investigation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have been with the company for almost ten years. Each year the company has grown not just financially but in regards to it's employees and benefits. As a whole, the company has dedicated it self to becoming one of the best, if not the best in the business. Also, it has focused on it's employee's well being and happiness. The company encourages it's employees to strive for new positions and move up in the company. APEX has grown substantially in the past five years and is focused on moving forward. If you are in the business, It has become a company synonymous greatness, professionalism and excellence. I hope to end my career with this company!

    Cons

    No cons, other than more space for more employees.

    Continue reading
    Apex Investigation2018-01-04
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Apex Investigation full-time

    Pros

    I am proud to say that I have worked at APEX Investigation for several years now. APEX offers training to their employees so it is a great company to work for if you are looking to expand your knowledge. Additionally, the company has been growing since I have started working with them and with plans to continue the growth there are plenty of opportunities to advance. They have a very generous employee rewards program and amazing company parties, which are sometimes more like a weekend retreat! They treat their employees like family and this is a family that I am happy to be part of.

    Cons

    There can be busy and slow times of the year, but this is more of a characteristic of the business rather than the company.

    Continue reading
    Apex Investigation2017-12-09
Found 30 reviews