Apollo International Reviews | Glassdoor

Apollo International Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Richard T. Ryer
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "I personally think this is a great job(in 3 reviews)

  • "Great Pay and co-workers were easy to get along with(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "No sick days (non union sites) No bonus ( Unless you recruit)(in 6 reviews)

  • "3- the account managers i interviewed were ridiculosly incompetent, unprofessional and lacking communication(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, very organized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Apollo International part-time

    Pros

    very organized, great management. company allows you to grow

    Cons

    more employees needed at times

    Apollo International2018-11-20
  2. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Pawtucket, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Apollo International full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Met some cool folks that I'm still freinds with till this day.

    Cons

    Middle management passes the blame on Officers.

    Advice to Management

    Man up.

    Apollo International2018-03-19
  3. "Good company to start with if you are interested in the security field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Eagan, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Apollo International full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -Good company to move up in -A lot of hours for OT if you are interested in that -Fairly friendly people to work with -Client was great to work with

    Cons

    -Each of the three shifts were run completely different no sense of control from Account Manager. -There was so much OT that my home life was difficult for a stretch of time -Only way to get a review/ bonus, days off, was to complain -Management showed a lot of favoritism to certain people -Left on post alone for hours at a time because guards wanted to hang out for the entire shift. -Was treated unfairly -No punishments...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Why would you keep terrible employees? -Favoritism is poison in the workplace -Follow through on promises of reviews/bonuses -If there is drama in the workplace, put a stop to it -Overtime can only be covered by few people for so long, should have made it mandatory for everyone to make sure people were not becoming burnt out.

    Apollo International2018-01-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Apollo International

    Pros

    This is a company that motivates employees simply by expressing genuine care, trust and appreciation for the team at all levels in the company. The turnover is non-existent at the office and management level. This culture has spread throughout the company and earned us the status as a great place to work by the organization that ranks fortune magazines best workplaces.

    Cons

    We are growing so fast that many times we struggle to get all the operational pieces in place in a timely manner - this can create some stress amongst the troops. However, since the whole team is aligned with the mission, people come together to get it done.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose your way as you continue to grow.

    Apollo International2016-10-16
  5. "Security Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Apollo International

      Pros

      Lots of opportunity for overtime.

      Cons

      High turnover rate. Limited opportunities for growth.

      Apollo International2016-11-11
    • "Officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Apollo International

      Pros

      Great Pay and co-workers were easy to get along with

      Cons

      There really are not a lot.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your subordinates suggestions.

      Apollo International2016-09-26
    • "Security Guard"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Security Guard 

        I have been working at Apollo International

        Pros

        Flexible with scheduling guarantee work

        Cons

        Difficult to change sites/location some employees are extremely unprofessional

        Apollo International2016-09-12
      • "Best Large Security Company I've Worked For"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Shift Lead 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Apollo International

        Pros

        Professional, reasonable and responsive upper management. Better than average pay and benefits with opportunities to increase wages through longevity (if Union) and promotions to positions with greater responsibility. However, predominant pros and cons are determined by client/site assignments.

        Cons

        Understaffed, underfunded and undeveloped HR/Recruiting Departments exacerbate turnover issues. Exceptional officers underperform and quit when overworked to meet client demands and make up for unreliable officer's performance. Few to no Mid-West and West clients/sites make staying with the company impossible should you move.

        Advice to Management

        Upper Management Invest in HR. -Something inherently bad cannot be improved. Reassess your priorities and make them consistently clear to clients and your security staff.

        Apollo International2016-09-09
      • "Ughh"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend

          I have been working at Apollo International

          Pros

          Good-ish pay Good hours Not much good came out of working here

          Cons

          Long hours Boss screamed at me when i asked for a day off Apparently you're not allowed to request days off (nobody told me that) Unorganized No communication Early early shifts with no negotiation

          Advice to Management

          I applied for this job in July and received the job a week later but didn't actually start working until September first. I kept asking questions and nobody answered them so I was left in the dark. I asked for one day off and was literally screamed at. "You're lucky I'm already nice enough to work around your school schedule, you're not allowed to take days off here" all around just made me less enthusiastic to work here

          Apollo International2016-09-09
        • "Apollo"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Security Officer in Minneapolis, MN

          I worked at Apollo International for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Decent pay and available hours for security gig.

          Cons

          Not much room for advancement and no appreciation from management

          Apollo International2016-09-06
        Found 62 reviews